What Kat Ate #11 + Cardio Challenge!

Hey My Gorgeous Readers!

Thanks for all of your heart warming messages on my last post about my chocolate-covered pretzels. I just got back from my ophthalmology appointment, which went well. They diluted my eyes to check them and I came out without a mark. They said my eyes are in perfect health, which is something less common with those who have JRA, which I’m really excited for as it’s another indicator that I may not have it. But then of course, that means we don’t know what’s going on. :/But hopefully the lab work will come in with some answers. πŸ™‚

Time for another What Kat Ate! (#11)

BREAKFAST:


Protein oatmeal (with both soynuts and a couple egg whites) with cocoa powder, cinnamon, and a BIG dollop of mixed nut butter on top.

LUNCH:


A 10oz box of spinach topped with smart balance alongside an apple and a flatout wrap with myΒ homemade sunbutter and apricot preserves. πŸ™‚

SNACK:


“Ants” On A “Log!” Celery sticks spread with peanut buttah and topped with raisins. x2 (I’ve also done this with carrots – VERY good! I would highly recommend it.)

DINNER:


A big bowl of Vegetarian Chili. I was in a hurry today, so I just grabbed myself one of these. It’s quite delicious if I do say so myself. πŸ™‚

…………………………………………………………..

Here’s a Cardio Challenge Workout for you. I did it with some friends and we loved it!


I’ve been trying to mix up my workouts, but also make sure to listen to my body (and be careful with my knee). For instance, on days where my knee is stiff, I try to do more of the upper body and abdominals. But if my knee is feeling great, I’ll throw in the moves with lunges and squats.

Let me know if you try it (or have any questions). πŸ™‚

………………………………………………………….

Favorite food pictured? I love making ants on a log, so I’m going with that one. It is just such a cute treat!

Do you prefer weight lifting or cardio? I really like weight lifting as it makes my guns happy. πŸ˜‰ But I try to incorporate both into my life, alternating one day of weights with the next day with cardio, then back to weights, etc. I guess it’s just the same as having blood taken, but definitely not as emotionally stressful.

Have you ever had your eyes dilated? I did cry today, I must admit. But in the end I got a sticker for being such a good little girl. πŸ˜‰ It was definitely not as stressful as having needles stuck into me, but because my eyes tend to be sensitive I don’t like having eye drops that sting put into my eyes. (DilationΒ makes your pupils get really big, which can make you temporarily farsighted and sensitive to light).Thankfully my eyes are pretty much back to normal now: they’re still sensitive to the light, but I can see quite clearly again.

xoxox,


46 thoughts on “What Kat Ate #11 + Cardio Challenge!

    • Hey Alexandra! I’m with you on that one — ant on a log is ALWAYS good. I haven’t had them in a while, but I was in the mood and I’m so glad I took the time to frost a celery stick. πŸ˜‰

  1. Hahahahahahahahaha. The thing about the carrots made me think of when you were at my house and we were repairing the carrots with the sun butter, lol(:

  2. I just love ants on a log! That cardio challenge looks HARD! I am just starting to get back into working out regularly so I might have to wait a little bit until I try it πŸ™‚

    • Hey Paije! πŸ™‚ The Cardio Circuit Challenge workout is pretty tough. I’m not able to do all of the moves yet (before my knee started acting up I was able to), so I adjust them to my situation, pushing myself a little more each time until I reach that point when I can do all of it. πŸ™‚

  3. Ugh, eye dilation terrifies me! As does the glaucoma test when they put the yellow goop in your eye and then blow air into it. I’m bad at describing it but AHH it is not fun. Thankfully I only have to go once every 5 years πŸ™‚

  4. Your breakfast looks delicious! I’d love to have the recipe πŸ™‚ Hmmm which is my favorite..cardio or weights? That’s a tough one! I guess it depends on the day, sometimes it feels really good to run, but I love how soon you see results after lifting weights and I always feel more empowered and strong throughout the day!

    So glad to be back, it looks like you had a great time at prom! You looked absolutely stunning πŸ™‚ your date was a lucky guy!!

    • Awwwwwhhhhhh!!!!! Thanks, Kara!!! That really means a lot to me. πŸ™‚ I did have a lot of fun at Prom with my guy friend. πŸ˜‰

      The oatmeal was made with 1/3 cup oats, 2 egg whites, 1/4 cup soynuts, 1-2 tbsp cocoa powder, and a dash of cinnamon, whipped with a spatula over the stove until it was all cooked. I always top it with nut butter. It’s definitely not sweet, but I love the nutty flavor the soynuts and nut butter have put together. πŸ™‚

  5. I just discovered sun butter and have been using it on everything! I even made my own sunflower seed milk using it. I will have to try your recipe to make my own instead of store bought!

  6. Oh no! I hope your eyes go back to normal and that you never ever ever have any problems with them again! ❀
    All your eats look awesome! I've never added soynuts to oatmeal.. I'll have to give it a try sometime. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing the cardio workout! Maybe I can get my mom to do it with me sometime this week. πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Hey Shannon! πŸ™‚ The ophthalmologists dilated my eyes so they could check them and the dilation only lasts for 4 hours, so my eyes are back to normal now. I’m glad it only lasted 4 hours, as I don’t know if I could have handled it any longer. πŸ™‚

  7. I love eating huge amounts of spinach, yours looks so good! I also love celery with any kind of nut butter….although i usually leave off the raisins or I’ll swap them for dried cranberries. I definitely prefer cardio but thats just because I am a running fanatic πŸ˜›

    • Hey Natalie! πŸ™‚ I love cranberries!!!!! I don’t think I’ve ever had them in place of raisins on an Ants on a Log. I guess it would make the ants “fire ants” instead of just regular ones. πŸ˜‰

  8. Totally a weights kind of girl! I do love Cardio classes (i teach), but to do cardio on my own is like torture. Lifting on my own is fun and relaxing.

    Plus you get good results. πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Sketching My Life + Youth Conference. « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

