A Shootin’ Good ’n natural Day.

Hey my Sparkly Firecrackers! 🙂

Thanks for your comments on my chocolate protein cake. I think my family is getting tired of me having them though, as I pretty much went through an entire jar of peanut butter by myself in less than a week. (I guess I’m not only a strawberry monstah but a nut butter monstah too. ;)) I’ve also been staying off the treadmill (and working out in other ways), and I haven’t used a motrin in days now. So I hope that the exercises my doctor gave me to do and being careful will help my knee get better.

Here’s what’s been going on recently in my life:


I got a coupon in the mail with the coupon books to try these fruit, nut & seed bars. When I found them in the bulk/health section of my HEB (grocery store), I almost screamed in delight. (I did do a little happy dance though. ;)) I got 3 of the different flavors to try. I am so excited to get them, especially since it is so hard to find a good granola/protein bar that doesn’t have milk in it. (I had a fudge bar from dairy queen the other day, and my skin really paid for it so I’m really trying to avoid milk as it and I don’t get along at all.) But when I saw that these were dairy free, the smile on my face got even brighter. 🙂


I made my mom some more zucchini bread. I don’t have any tofu at the moment, or I would have made myself a batch too.


So instead I made myself some almond butter. I am such a sucker for nut butter. 😉


I also made some more bread with one of my friends. My family just can’t go back to the store-bought kind – they love the homemade kind too much.


And to go along with the bread (and other items for dippage), I made some of my Turkish Inspired Hummus. I didn’t have any chili powder, so I used seasoned salt instead. It’s not as good as with the chili powder, but I still like it. 🙂


We also had a couple cantaloupes sitting on the island waiting to ripen, and since tomorrow is the 4th of July, I cut them both up (and they were PERFECT!) and stuck them in the fridge. I always enjoy cantaloupe and watermelon and honeydew more when it’s cold.


In addition to making goodies, I’ve also been making shots. 😉 I went to a shooting range with one of my guy friends and his dad and sister, and he and his dad taught me how to shoot a hand gun. (And then he had to proceed and take a picture of me with his phone while I was doing it without my knowing of it – I found out later. ;)) I didn’t really get it at first (and yes, I squealed when I shot it the first time), but my second round I finally got it and had some fun.


I’ve also been trying to finish reading Around the World in Eighty Days and Inheritance. I started Around the World in Eighty Days YEARS ago, so I want to actually finish it this summer. I also want to finish reading Inheritance soon as my friends have been DYING to talk to me about it, but they can’t since I haven’t finished it yet. So I want to relieve them by finishing it sooner than later. 🙂

………………………………………………………………………………..

Do you ever find it hard to find a granola/protein bar that fits in your dietary needs? I always have to be on the look because so many products have a form of milk in it. (Milk is not bad whatsoever – my body just can’t handle it, so I have to avoid it.)

Do you have any books you’re trying to finish this summer? In addition to the two I mentioned, I also have the pile that’s at the top of the picture that I want to read.

Ever shot a gun before? The only other time I’ve ever shot a gun was when I was 12 at my first year of girl’s camp. They gave us rifles and put us on the ground and had us aim at the targets. I much preferred the 9mm hand gun. It was much easier to handle than the rifle had been.

What are your plans for July 4th? We have some friends coming over and we’re gonna have a barbeque and play lots of games and talk and watch the fireworks that evening. It should be a lot of fun. 🙂

xoxox,


16 thoughts on “A Shootin’ Good ’n natural Day.

  1. I’ve been trying to finish a book my boyfriend bought, read, and loved called “Last Man in Tower” — it’s about the residents of an impoverished apartment in Mumbai. A land tycoon has offered each resident more money than they’ll see in a lifetime if they agree move out (he wants to develop very chic and expensive condos), but one resident refuses to leave, and if he doesn’t then no one gets paid!

    Anyways, sounds like you’re having tons of fun on summer break. It’s always good to keep up with reading. 🙂

  2. Your food always looks so good! And reminds me that I need to make some almond butter! And definitely buy some cantaloupe!
    I am trying to read “Brining up Bebe” but it’s been a slooow start.
    Hope you happy a holiday tomorrow 🙂

    • Hey Paije! 🙂 I always love making my own almond butter. I just wish I had some coconut on hand and then I would make me some almond joy almond butter — it’s my absolute FAVORITE! 🙂  

  3. I actually am having trouble finding a bar to fit my dietary needs at present. I just found out I am extremely sensitive to almonds, and lots of bars contain almonds. So I’ve just been making my own bars!
    I have shot guns before. I kind of went through a gun crazy stage and I took Hunter’s Safety and stuff. I’m just not quite as interested anymore now, although I think gun handling is valuable skill.

    • Hey Karina! I’m so sorry you’re sensitive to almonds. I don’t know what I would do if I found that I was sensitive to them. Though, I’ve found that making my own bars is a whole lot more fun anyways. 😉

      P.S. I’m coming up with a single-lady protein bar recipe right now. I think you might like it. 🙂  

  4. It is so hard to find food “period” that fits my needs ever since I discovered y food allergies. Those bars sound really good though. Even though I can’t have peanuts, that pb one will be on my mind all day 🙂 Which is your favorite?

    I have one that I have to read- A Pearl in the Storm. There are a good 20 other books that need to be read on my bookcase… Whoops 😀

    I shot a fun before in 4-H once. Kind of scary… Kind of fun!

    Happy belated 4th of July!

    • Hey Alley! 🙂 I haven’t tried them yet, but I’m sure the peanut butter will be my favorite. 😉 Which foods can’t you have anymore?!?! I must have missed that post…… 😦

      Thanks! Happy belated 4th of July to you too! 🙂

  5. I’d love to try those bars – they look great! I like ThinkThin bars, but I don’t like the name 😛 also I really like how one of the tags in this post is “9 mm hand gun” 😛

      • I like crunchy peanut butter the best, with white chocolate chip a close second. Crunchy peanut butter doesn’t have as much of a protein-y aftertaste, and it’s easier to find in stores 🙂

  6. Cantaloupe sounds so good right now! I love how you make your own bread and nut butters. Those bars also look good-I’ll have to see if they have them at a local store of mine. I enjoy Luna bars and Larabars and I definitely only want bars that are dairy free.
    I shot guns once with an ex boyfriend of mine out in the wilderness somewhere. I wasn’t very good at it but luckily I didn’t shoot either of us (heheh).

  7. Pingback: Nourish Your Lungs. Don’t “Smoke” Them. « KatsHealthCorner

  8. Pingback: What Kat Ate #14! + My Life’s Rambles. « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

