Balance With Self · How do things work in my body?

Nourish Your Lungs. Don’t “Smoke” Them.

Hey My Gorgeous Fruit Salads! 🙂

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. My Fourth of July was a lot of fun . We talked, colored, watched The Pirates of Penzance (they have the entire thing on YouTube  and streaming on Netflix if you’d like to watch it), and played lots of games. I also discovered that the game IMAGINIFF is a TON of fun! We were all laughing throughout the entire game (though, really — I seem to be smiling and laughing a lot recently ;)). I’ve still yet to try the Good ‘n natural bars, but I’m still waiting for a chance to do it! Since I don’t find many bars that I can have, when I do I like to wait for a time when I would need it  (like when I’m in a hurry and I have to grab something fast), but that has yet to happen. A time will come soon though — it’s the story of my life. 😉

Here’s an Infograph I thought you might find interesting.

Nursing Your Lungs
Created by: www.OnlineNursingPrograms.com

……………………………………………………………………

Have you ever played Imaginiff? It has now joined ranks with Bananagrams and Rummikub as some of my favorite games. 🙂

What is one way you like to nourish your lungs? My favorite thing to do is laugh. 😉 I also strive to strengthen them through exercise, nourish them through healthful foods, and cleanse them through breathing in fresh air.

What do you think when you hear the information presented above? I think it’s really sad. I’ve had family members who have chosen that type of lifestyle, and it’s really hard to watch them, especially since they know it hurts them. I wish they would take the necessary steps towards getting off of it so they can be free.

xoxox,

16 thoughts on “Nourish Your Lungs. Don’t “Smoke” Them.

  1. I’m not surprised by this infographic, unfortunately!

    I wonder what one would look like for Canada, though, since our government is very, very aggressive against smoking — Canada has an outright ban on cigarette advertising, grotesque health warning photos on the packs of cigarettes themselves, and in Vancouver it’s illegal to smoke in bars, restaurants, public parks or beaches, or within 20 feet of a window or doorway. I think the American cigarette companies have too much power still, but there are less and less smokers everyday. It’s just not really “cool” anymore!

    1. Hey Christine! Thank you so much for your comment. 🙂

      I agree — there are less and less smoking each and every day. People are starting to realize what smoking actually does to their bodies and they are determined to start taking better care for themselves. I guess that’s what this infograph is all about: spreading the word and letting people know what smoking really does.

  2. Thanks for this. I love infograms! I never planned on smoking, but this should literally halt any chance of me changing my mind. I knew that smoking did a lot of damage, but I guess I never really realized the extent of that damage. It cause so many deaths.

    1. Hey Alley! 🙂 It really is sad. I knew that it caused a lot of damage too, but I didn’t know this extent of it. It’s really sad. 😦 But we can determine not to do it and support others to do the same. We can make a difference. 🙂

      Btw, I love your new name for your blog! 😉

  3. Smoking is defintely NOT something I would ever consider. I grew up with a lot of family members who smoked, so Ive been around second hand smoke a ton, and I hated smelling like that all day!

    1. Hi Kat! I don’t like the smell of it either. I know some of my family members that I know used to smoke (I don’t know if they do it any more), and it is very apparent if someone does it by the smell. I hope they don’t do it anymore — I know they know better. It’s just so hard to watch them do that to themselves.

  4. I would have to say that one of my biggest personalty flaws is that I have zero tolerance for people who smoke. Seriously, I can’t stand people who do. After having 3 grandparents die from smoking related illnesses I just don’t want people in my life who are slowly killing themselves. Nothing healthy about those cigarettes….

    1. Hey Kailey! I’m so sorry about your grandparents. Some of my family members have had terrible consequences from it too. It’s been hard, but I know we can make a difference by setting an example. We can make a change. 🙂

  5. My friends and I love playing Imaginiff and have a blast with it. Another game we love is Apples to Apples. Both are funny interactive board games.

    Those smoking statistics are scary! I really hope that people will open their eyes to it and see that our lungs are not disposable objects. I have known a lot of people in my lifetime that smoke (and unfortunately many that have died/suffered from cancer because of it). I nourish my lungs by trying not to be around people while they smoke and also by taking time to breathe in fresh air (and nice yoga breaths).

    I’m really enjoying your blog and can’t wait to try some of your recipes! 😀

  6. i’m actually an ex-smoker. i quit when i started focusing more on my health. running actually helped me to get over it. everytime i felt the need to have a cigarette, i would go out for a run. definitely helped. 🙂

Comments

