Vegan Pumpkin Spice Milkshake!

Hey My Pretty Pearly Petunias! πŸ™‚

Thanks for all of your comments on my last WIAW. I always have fun participating in Jenn’s blogworld-wide party to celebrate something we all have in common ! I’ve also really been enjoying working with those little cuties everyday — they make me smile every time I see them. That’s how I am — kids make me happy. πŸ™‚

Have an open can of pumpkin you need to use up?

Have some speckled bananas turning brown and freckled?

Have a desire for a sweet treat?

Then this smoothie-like milkshake for just right for you! πŸ™‚


My Vegan Pumpkin Spice Milkshake!


Here is a picture of all my ingredients! πŸ™‚


Measure out 1 cup vanilla soymilk in the blender.


Add the pumpkin puree with a spoon until the measuring container reaches 2 cups. (You can also just use a measuring cup and add it to your blender, but I was being lazy and didn’t want to clean up a measuring cup afterwards. ;))


Cut your banana into chunks/slices.


Add the slices of banana to the blender.


Add the vanilla extract, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves.


Place the blender into its slot on the machine.


Put on the lid.


And blend ‘er up! πŸ™‚ (I did it on level one, so it shouldn’t take that much time or effort.)


Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.


Pour into a glass and serve ‘er up! πŸ™‚


Vegan Pumpkin Spice Milkshake!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 banana, frozen and cut into chunks
  • 1 cup (8 oz) vanilla soymilk (vanilla almond milk works too)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • ΒΌ tsp ginger
  • pinch of nutmeg and cloves
  • Optional: handful(s) of cacao nibs, chocolate chips, or chopped toasted pecans

Makes a little over 2 cups. (Serves 2 as a side; Serves 1 if eaten as a meal.)

Directions

Measure out 1 cup vanilla soymilk in the blender. Add the pumpkin puree with a spoon until the measuring container reaches 2 cups. (You can also just use a measuring cup and add it to your blender, but I was being lazy and didn’t want to clean up a measuring cup afterwards.) Cut your banana into slices and add the slices to the blender. Add the vanilla extract, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves.

Hook up the blender, pop on the lid, and blend ‘er up! (I did it on power level one, so it shouldn’t take that much time or effort.) Taste and adjust sweetness if needed. (I like the sweetness as it is, but I’ll sometimes add 1-2 packets of stevia or splenda – whatever I have on hand – if I want a sweet treat.)

Pour into a glass and serve ‘er up! Top with cacao nibs, chocolate chips, and/or chopped toasted pecans if desired.

Print This!

Note: To have a thinner in consistency, try streaming in more vanilla soymilk until you reach the desired thickness. You can also add ice cubes to it that will not only thin it to a more milkshake texture but also make this shake colder. I don’t list any sweetener in the ingredient list (as sometimes I don’t use any), but if you want a sweeter shake, try adding 1-2 packets of stevia (or splenda if desired) or drizzle in some honey or agave for a little natural sweetness.

I love topping this treat with handful(s) of cacao nibs (and pecans if I have them on hand). They add a crunch that I adore when paired with this. πŸ™‚


Plus, this is SUPER filling! With over 10 grams of fiber* and 13 grams of protein* (depending on your brands of ingredients), your stomach and digestive track will be one happy camper! πŸ˜‰

…………………………………………………………..

What do you like to do when you have an open can of pumpkin you want to use up? Freckled bananas ready to be used? I love to make smoothies, milkshakes, breads, and pancakes! I’ll also freeze the bananas (I have about 5 galloon-size bags of bananas in my freezer right now) to use topped with nut butter later as a treat or blended up into soft-serve “ice cream” for my family.

What are your favorite sources of fiber? I love vegetables, fruits, nuts and nut butters (especially almond and pecan butters), seeds, beans (especially chickpeas and black beans), oats, quinoa, coconut flour, cacao nibs, soynuts, and So Delicious’ coconut yogurt!

Do you consider pumpkin a vegetable? How about tomatoes and other squash? Cucumbers? I like to think of these as vegetables – I just can’t view eating them in any other way (if you get what I mean).

xoxox,


*The values of this smoothie-like milkshake were calculated without the addition of toppings. The pecans and cacao nibs would increase both fiber and protein counts and add some healthy fats, aiding in satiety.

 

19 thoughts on “Vegan Pumpkin Spice Milkshake!

  1. I like to mix up frozen bananas with some protein powder until crumbly… Kind of resembles cookie dough!

    My favorite source of fiber right now are sprouted lentils, cooked anx drizzled with a tsp of olive oil. YUM.

    While I consider pumpkin a vegetable, in the back of my head I think I categorize it as a fruit. I mean, muffins, milkshakes, pie? Sounds more sweet like fruit then veggies πŸ˜€

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Protein-Rich Breakfast Recipes! « KatsHealthCorner

  3. A wonderful & tasty creation which I love! I love every flavour in here! Yummm!
    I recently bought raw cacao nibs for the very 1st time & I didn’t know how to use them! Now, I do!

  4. Pingback: 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge! « Kat's Health Corner

  5. Pingback: Green Smoothie Challenge Update + BetterChip Review « Kat's Health Corner

  6. Pingback: What Kat Ate + ThisFitChick’s Workout Program « Kat's Health Corner

  7. Pingback: Workouts, Shopping, Game Night, Expos, Exams, Papers = Crazy Fun Life. « Kat's Health Corner

  8. Pingback: Favorite Recipes from 2012 « Kat's Health Corner

  9. Pingback: #EatYourFruitsAndsVeggies Day 1 | Kat's Health Corner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

