Balance With Self · chocolate · Goodies · My Life · nut butter

Things That Make Me Smile.

Hey My AMAZING CUTIES!

Thanks for all of your love and support these past few weeks. I’ve complete my four weeks of nannying and I’ve had such a fun time. I always love spending time with kids – you can always learn so much from them! Their sweet spirits touch my heart and I can’t wait to have kids of my own someday. 🙂 My phone is fixed now! My mom took it to Sprint and it turns out that they had the piece it needed to fix it! So now my screen is back to normal and my stress about it has diminished. I’ll be more careful with it now though, as I don’t want that to happen again.


Right now I’m in the process of packing for the Family Camp my family will be attending this week with about 200 other people. At the camp we have relays, a family dance, a teen dance, canoeing, hiking, swimming, water activities, crafts, games, talent show, etc. I always have fun going and hanging out with my friends from other cities in our home-school group.


I’m also gathering up the foods I’ll be bringing for the week. Most of the menu are things I can have (they always have an amazing salad bar and fruit for snacks every afternoon, and they’re even having an oatmeal morning with lots of topping options!), so I don’t have to bring much — most is just in place of a couple things I can’t have on the menu before of my dairy intolerance/allergy. This year I’m bringing my own cooler, as the fridge at the camp has limited space and I want to let other people have a chance to use it. The things I’m bringing are: 3 cartons unsweetened almond milk, 1 can vegetarian chili, 1 jar homemade almond butter, 2 lb. bag baby carrots, gallon size baggie of celery sticks, 1 packet of Flat-out wraps, homemade bread (unpictured), 3 nectarines, 2 pears, 3 apples, 2 cans of chickpeas, 1 container of homemade hummus, 2 packets steamable brown rice, 1 box (of 5 packets) of Better Oats Pure and Simple Multigrain oatmeal packs, and small jar of cinnamon. I know this week will be delicious. 😉

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I’ve been smiling a lot lately, which as brought me into how grateful for all the blessings in my life. My family. My friends. Chip. The Scriptures. Light. Flowers. Etc.

Before I headed up to camp, I wanted to share with you some of the things that make me smile. 🙂


Dark Chocolate. Especially EXTRA dark.

I was so excited when I found these in our local grocery store and saw that they only had 4 ingredients: chocolate liquor, sugar, soy lethicin, and vanilla extract. I always have to check the labels of dark chocolate, as not all of them are free of milk. But this one is free of it! 😀 I used to only like milk chocolate (before I found out about my dairy intolerance/allergy), but then my dad introduced me to the “dark side” of chocolate. I’ve never gone back. 😉


Bath & Body Works.

These are the five scents I most commonly wear. (My current favorite is Dark Kiss.)


My Sunbeams (& all the fun we have in Sunday School).

We made this puppet a few weeks ago that says: “If I can say hippopotamus, I can say I’m sorry.” They kept saying hippopotamus throughout the craft and went home telling their parents and showing off their hippos. 😉


Beatrix Potter stories.

This reminds me of when we visited the Beatrix Potter House (her Hilltop Farm near the village of Ambleside). I remember how much fun I had walking around the farm and learning all the stories she wrote there. (I also have a little figurine of the Flopsy Bunnies that I got there too.)


Sketching.

I always love sitting down and sketching a picture.


Sidewalk Chalk!

This reminds me of the time I colored the outside strip along the sidewalk around my house with different colors. (I was 6 years old and we lived in England at the time in the Military housing. I colored it from the front of the adjoining house on our left around to the side of the sidewalk near our backyard. We lived on a corner of the street, and the neighbors who drove by shared with my parents how impressed they had been with the “colored” corner of the road.)

Sunshine. Butterflies. Rainbows.

Sterling Silver Earrings. 

My ears react to anything but pure gold or sterling silver, so recently I’ve had to go through my jewelry and only keep that which was gold or sterling silver (which wasn’t much). I was really excited when I found this pack on sale at Kohls though! It was on sale, and I needed some more sterling silver to wear (and have different choices in color).


BUBBLES!

They are just so much fun. I may get a little light-headed after blowing them for an hour for my Sunbeams, but the smiles on their faces are worth it. 😉


My Baby Doll.

I’ve had her since I was a baby (my grandma bought her for me) and I refuse to give her up. 🙂


Coloring Books.

I may be 17, but I never grew up. 😉


Happiness. Peace. Joy.


My cat’s “French manicure.”

It makes me squeal with joy every time I see it.


But above all, I am grateful for my sister. She ALWAYS makes me smile. 🙂

Happy 15th Birthday, Lizzie. ❤

I couldn’t ask for a better sister. Thanks for always being there for me, Beautiful.

………………………………………………………………………………..

What are some of the things that make you smile? I also love warm hugs, line dancing, loving friends, kittens, babysitting, and lighthouses.

What are some of the things you bring on a camping trip for snacks? I’m bringing hummus, almond butter, protein bars, baby carrots, apples, and nectarines.

Do you pack heavy or light when going places? I always try to pack light, but it always seems to end up heavy. ;)>

xoxox,


18 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Smile.

    1. Hey, Julianna! 🙂 I’ve heard a lot of people say they love Country Chic. I still can’t believe I haven’t tried it. I NEED to get over to B&BWs soon so I can give it a try. Who knows — it might become one of my favorites too. 😉

  1. This was such a sweet post:) I absolutely LOVE dark chocolate; that is awesome that the chocolate chips you found don’t contain any milk. It seems as though so many chocolate manufacturers put milk into almost all their products! Here are some things that make me smile: Our two dogs, funny TV shows/movies, babies (human or animal:D), my parents and siblings, being outside in nature (I know that sounds cheesy, but it’s true!), dancing, getting a new Vegnews magazine in the mail, figuring out a tough problem that I’ve been trying to solve, cooking (and eating) my favorite foods, and many, many other things! Oh, and I am definitely a light packer–if anything, I tend to underpack:) I hope you have a fantastic time at camp!!

    1. I did have a lot of fun. Thank you so much! 🙂

      I love that you love to be out in nature. I love the breath of fresh air and the colors of life and the vibrancy of Mother Earth. Another thing I loved about camp is being able to see the Milky Way in the evening — it is an absolutely mind blowing sight. 😉

  2. So glad you got your phone fixed! Most of the time when my phone craps out they make me get a new one. Sidewalk chalk is something that makes me smile too! I brought some for my cousin (And lets face it, me too) to play with on vacation but we didn’t get a chance because the house we were staying at was on a gravel road.

Comments

