Goodies · Health And Nutrition · My Life · vegetarian · wiaw

What Kat Ate #16: Family Camp Edition!

Hey my Gorgeous Petunias! 😀

Thanks for all of your comments on my apple piggy post. I had so much fun making that with my Sunbeams as our activity to go along with the lesson. Each week I find how much I haven’t grown up and that I’m still a little girl in some regards. Like how you can’t take the kitten out of the cat, you can’t take the little girl out of me. I just enjoy it too much. 😉

……………………………………………………………………….

I had a lot of fun this past week at the Family Camp. I got to hang out with a lot of my friends that I don’t get to see very often and we had a blast. 🙂 We had three dances (and yes, I danced with a lot of boys. They were all very sweet and very much like gentlemen, which really impressed me.), went canoeing (I went out twice: once with a friend and once with my dad, which was really cool since my dad and I both love canoeing, so it was a great chance to bond), went on a hike (it involved an arduous uphill climb at the beginning, but it was pretty smooth sailing after that), played Ultimate Frisbee (the other teens really made me feel special when playing it – they actually called me their secret weapon, as there was rarely anyone guarding me, and I happened to be a really great catcher; they were all very supportive and encouraging and it really made my day. :)) and Capture the Flag, wrote letters to my friends (I set aside the time to write personalized letters to each of my friends. I know it means a lot to me when I get one, so I wanted to do the same for them. And I wanted to thank them for everything they’ve done for me over the years. They’ve always been there for me and have supported me through the ups and downs of life. I am just so grateful for what they’ve done and wanted to share that with them.),wrote in my journal, read my scriptures, went to an early morning scripture study class, and just hung out with my friends talking and laughing and giggling and sharing good times. I have a little extra time this week before my classes start the 8th and 10th, so I will be writing about my experiences in there soon. 🙂

And not only were the activities fun, but the food was delicious too! I’m always impressed by all the delicious options they have there. And gosh, the “salad” bar was AMAZING! They also had an “oatmeal” bar (“a bar full of different toppings to top your oatmeal with” kind of bar) was a dream come true. So talking about the food, I thought I’d join Jenn’s party this week and show you what I had.

Here’s another What Kat Ate: Family Camp Edition!

(Note: I did not photograph everything I ate. This past week I focused more on enjoying the food than picturing it, but it was a delicious week nonetheless.)

BREAKFAST:


Bowl of BetterOats Pure and Simple MultiGrain Oatmeal (with barley, oats, wheat, quinoa, and rye) topped with dried blueberries, almonds, pecans, and dried blueberries, and dusted with cinnamon and covered with almond milk. I also had a few apple quarters with it.

LUNCH:


This meal we had Hawaiian Haystacks. I had myself a lovely green salad with a plate of mixed greens, cucumbers, sliced carrots, chopped bell pepper, chopped celery, sliced almonds, diced avocado, and pineapple tidbits alongside a bowl of brown rice with ground black pepper, shredded coconut, sliced almonds, sliced baby carrots, and celery pieces. Yum yum yum. 🙂

SNACK:


[Reused picture, as I never got a picture of it up at camp.] I brought a container of hummus with me to camp, and whenever snack time came around the hummus always sound good. So that’s what I enjoyed along with baby carrots every afternoon. It’s one of my favorites pairs.

DINNER:


Another salad. I had a salad with both lunch and dinner while I was up there (yep – I took advantage of the wonderful selection). This salad creation involved mixed greens, sliced baby carrots, sliced cucumbers, sunflower seeds, sliced hard boiled eggs, pineapple tidbits, sliced celery, and diced avocado. Alongside a bowl of broccoli.

DESSERT:


[Another reused picture, as I didn’t ever have my camera around when I drank this at camp.] This usually involved almond milk and/or watermelon. Once I even had some chocolate chip zucchini bread my friend brought with her (which was quite good – one of Angela from Oh She Glow’s recipes in fact). Both were very cold and very delicious.

Overall, my week was delicious (and a WHOLE lot of fun).

………………………………………………………………………………..

Favorite Food Pictured? I’m a sucker for breakfast foods (always have been and always will), so I’ll go with the oatmeal. The salads were really good too though, so it’s a close one. 😉

What are some of your favorite foods to bring on a campout? I love bringing things like hummus, almond butter, precut veggies, fruits, sandwiches, etc.

Excited about the new school year starting? I’m excited to start my first college classes in a couple weeks. Summer has been a lot of fun, but I’m really looking forward to the structure that comes with the school year.

xoxox,


16 thoughts on “What Kat Ate #16: Family Camp Edition!

  1. sounds like you had an amazing time at family camp!! i have to say breakfast is definitely my favorite meal so the oatmeal looked the best! 🙂 i wish i got to eat breakfast out more often, because i love it so much – but then i have to remind myself that i’d probably be happier with what i can cook at home anyway! 🙂

  2. Love the hummus and carrot combo, I’d bring that camping any day! Also, peanut butter is a must for bringing on any trip I take. If not PB, at least raw or dry roasted nuts. Looks like you had a great time last week, hope school starts off right for you!

  3. The food at family camp all looks delicious! I’m glad you had fun 🙂 and YES I am so excited for school to start back up again!! College is amazing 😀

  4. It seems like you had an amazing time at camp; all those activities sound so fun! An oatmeal bar?? That would DEFINITELY be a “dream come true” for me as well:D My favorite food pictured is probably the oatmeal as well–breakfast is my favorite meal of the day! I am definitely glad that the school year has started; I am taking 4 classes at the local community college this year (Anatomy/Physiology, Spanish, Speech, and a career development course). Only the anatomy class has started so far; the others don’t start until mid-September. Though I love the summer, I am more than happy to get back to my hectic, fun, and exciting schedule of ballet classes (both teaching and taking), college courses, cooking in my spare time, reading as many books as possible (I just finished Shakespeare’s Macbeth and Anna Karenina, and am now starting Don Quixote), and many other things…

  5. It sounds like you had so much fun! When I was younger I went to a church camp and while I wasn’t really one for team sports, playing capture the flag was my favorite. Your food also looks way better than the food I had at camp when I was younger, I love your salads.

  6. Family camp that sounds super fun. It looks like you ate super healthy. I’m impressed. Also I love that you focused on just enjoying the food. Sometimes I forget that when I’m too busy focusing on how I’m going to catch the light on some food picture lol

  7. aww I am so glad to hear that you had an awesome time camping with the family!! I like that you posted real foods too because when I think of camping I automatically think of those freeze dried meals haha

  8. I’ve never been camping before but would love to go with my family sometime. I think it would be a lot of fun. 🙂
    I’m so glad you had a great time! I love that you ate healthy even when out camping. My favorite picture in this post is your breakfast. What a great way to start the day!

Comments

