Is Corn Bad For You?

This is a question that has been up in the air around the internet for a long time.

Below is an infograph (complied by LearnStuff.com) titled “BIG BAD CORN,” talking about if corn is bad for us or not. Read over it. And let me know in the comments what your thoughts are on the subject

Big Bad Corn

Created by: www.LearnStuff.com

I now approach YOU with the question. 

Based on the information above (and/or information you have gathered, read about, studied, or researched), what are your thoughts???

………………………………………………………………………………..

Do you think corn is bad for you?

I’m open to both sides of the question.

Do you view corn as a vegetable?

I know I did view corn as a vegetable when I was a young child (I was quite a picky eater during that time, especially when it came to vegetables), but I don’t now. I do feel that if it’s organic and in its whole food form, it can be really beneficial in moderation (as it still has some vitamins and minerals in it), but I view it as more of a grain or complex carbohydrate source than a “vegetable.”

with lot of hugs,

12 thoughts on “Is Corn Bad For You?

  1. Well, I certainly don’t think all corn products are good for you, but fresh, local corn on the cob? That’s not going to make you “dumb” 🙂

    • You sure? Buzzwords like “fresh, local” really don’t overturn the nature of corn. Would fresh, local rat poison be good for you? Corn is not a native plant, it has been modified by humans and it is a sugary grain that has never been part of any natural beings diet. Corn prevalence in the food supply is one of the major causes of the obesity epidemic.

  2. If you buy fresh USDA organic sweet corn, it will be a healthy vegetable to eat. Sweet corn is loaded with lutein and zeaxanthin, two phytochemicals that promote healthy vision. A midsize ear also offers a helpful 3-gram dose of dietary fiber.

    • Corn is a grain and not a vegetable. It’s a sweet poison. Like all grains, it takes a tole on any being who eats it. By the way, grains are loaded with anti-nutrients that actually leech nutrients out of your body. It is time to throw away the status-quo of false information and recognize that there is a reason why there is an obesity epidemic, because people are not eating their native diets and their food is being poisoned with corn and chemicals.

  3. Coming from a farming community, this infograph is a little disheartening. Corn is a major source of income for farmers, but I do agree that HFCS is not okay. I haven’t eaten anything with HFCS in at least 6 months and I think everyone is capable of doing the same.

    On the otherhand, I view corn as a vegetable. In its pure form it is nutritious and can be part of a balanced diet. I also think it goes without saying that corn in chili is one thing (a healthy addition) but corn on the cob drowned in butter and salt is not the way it was meant to be eaten.

    Thanks for this interesting information!

  4. I do find the infographic really interesting, but being in Australia and having minimal exposure to HFCS I do find that there is a myriad of factors contributing to the obesity and health problems in Western society. We don’t really have HFCS to blame it all on over here, though we do of course have other corn byproducts in many, many processed foods that the masses consume.
    I do however really enjoy corn on the cob, popping my own organic corn kernels and anything else to do with fresh, organic, wholefood corn! In it’s natural state it’s a fantastic grain crop – it’s all the wacky stuff that’s been done with GM agriculture and post-production that messes us up.

  5. I agree that high fructose corn syrup, refined corn products, deep-fried tortilla chips, corn oil, etc…are NOT the healthiest products to be consuming on a daily basis. I don’t think that corn in its “purest” form (on the cob) is necessarily bad for you, but I do think that there is WAY too much corn (or corn extracts) added to different products: soda, cereal, crackers, etc…I do think that air-popped popcorn (not the packaged kind) can be a very healthy treat–it is a good source of fiber and protein. I don’t really view corn as a vegetable; I treat it more as a grain. It seems that corn has been twisted, genetically modified, and highly processed into many unhealthy forms; when you do that to ANY food, it can become detrimental to your health. Personally, I find that some corn products are difficult for me to digest–mainly tortilla chips, but even corn on the cob sometimes. And it drives me crazy that corn is added to so many dog food brands–corn is NOT part of a dog’s natural diet!! Thanks for posting this interesting infograph; I enjoyed reading it:)

  6. Pingback: What Kat Ate: 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge Update « Kat's Health Corner

  7. Interesting article, but a little disheartening as one of my children has Celiac Disease and corn is one of the few grains his body can tolerate. As a family we have all eaten gluten free as much as possible, which means more corn than the average family, right down to corn flour.–

    • Hey Tami! 🙂 Yeah, it is quite interesting — that’s why I love hearing all different views on this subject. I definitely feel corn is beneficial, especially for individuals and families that can’t tolerate gluten. I guess it just comes down to balance. It’s one thing I’ve been learning about in my Nutrition 150 class: Eating natural things in unnatural amounts can be harmful. I’m so glad that you’ve found what works for your family. Every family is different, that the stats on this infograph just need to be weighed with the other pros and cons to corn. Corn can do a lot of good.

    • Hello, I once weighed over 460lbs and was told I’d never walk agani. I’ve overturned both of those problems with nutrition. It took years of researching nutrition like it was my full time job to learn what I have learned so I hope you take this advice seriously: Switch your son to organic grass fed beef (not grain fed) and organic vegetables and his health problems will be over for life. The chronic diseases that plague out society is a result of intentional disinformation about food. The government and medical industrial complex are both intentionally spreading disinformation about food and diet. Doctors advise people to eat sugar (the most addictive drug known to man)! Corn is a grain, and all grains are poisonous for human consumption. Our ancestors didn’t eat grains, or cook their food, or poison the animals with grains before they ate them. I hope this helps

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

