Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition · How do things work in my body? · My Life · vegan · vegetarian · wiaw

What Kat Ate: 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge Update

Hey my Gorgeous Readers!

Thanks so much for all of your comments on my last posts on my Green Smoothie Challenge Update and the Debate Post on whether Corn is Bad For You or Not. (There have been some really good discussions going on in that post, so if you want — go add your voice and let me know if you think corn is bad for you or not!)

I started my college classes this week, and you know what – I’m really loving it. This is only the introduction week, but there is still A LOT of stuff I have to complete by next week. (I went through my assignments and I listed an ENTIRE PAGE long of things to do. I get some done, and then the list expands because of newly announced assignment and due dates arriving. I’m getting it done, but it just takes a while because of the amount.) I’m still really loving what I’m learning. I’m taking 3 courses online this semester (to get a feel for classes and being in college) before I head up for my official semesters. The 3 courses I’m taking are American Foundations, Environmental Science, and a Real-Life Math study class (1.0 credit as opposed to 3.0 credits, as it’s a study course to go over the things I need to know to pass the test and not have to take the course). In my American Foundations class I’m learning about the Founding Fathers and those who gave their lives for this country; in my Environmental Science class I’m learning about the effect all individuals have on Mother Earth and learning how I personally can take better care of her; and in my Real-Life Math study course I’m reviewing financial management (how to create a reasonable budget, pay off loans, plan for the future, etc.), statistical things, and probability things. So far I’m having a good time getting to know the system and adjusting to the college-student mindset.

In addition to working on my online courses, I’ve also been keeping up with my 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge. Here’s an update on the past few days. (What I Ate of Green Smoothies this past weekend.)

Thanks for hosting this party, Jenn! 🙂

FRIDAY:

I sadly never got the chance to make a green smoothie, as I was pretty busy all day and was away from home a lot. And you know what? I actually felt it. After having one every day for the past 4 days, I actually could feel I didn’t have one. I didn’t have as much energy throughout the day as I had been having during the previous days and I didn’t get as much done as I could have otherwise. I know missing a day on a challenge isn’t the best thing to do, but I also feel that it was good for me. Because of it, I could see (even in that short amount of time) how much my body was enjoying the green smoothies and that it wasn’t so happy when I didn’t have one.

SATURDAY:

By Saturday morning, I KNEW I had to have a green smoothie. I was craving one SO badly that instead of waiting for lunch (when I normally have the time to whip one up), I made the time that morning to make one.


Strawberry Hemp Protein Green Smoothie

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (but I’d recommend using the sweetened version or using vanilla soy milk in its place)
  • 4 leaves collard greens, washed and stems removed
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 3 tbs hemp protein high-fiber powder (I suggest emitting and using something else in its place, like a vanilla version of hemp protein powder)
  • dash of cinnamon
  • liquid stevia to taste

This one wasn’t my favorite, but I think if I had made the modifications I suggested above in the brackets it would have turned out better in the end. I think it was the hemp protein high-fiber powder that made me not like it. I have found I like the hemp protein high-fiber powder mixed with just vanilla soymilk as a drink – that is delicious, but in green smoothies it just takes over all of the other flavors. To have it take over the smoothie instead of add a nice flavor was pretty disheartening to me, but with the modifications I suggested above I’m sure it would be a DEE-LI-CIOUS smoothie in the end.

Later on that day I was feeling like having another go at the smoothie making. So I whipped up this lovely for lunch.

Plum-tastic Lemony Apple Green Smoothie

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 4 large leaves of collard greens, washed with stems removed
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 plum, core removed and sliced
  • 1 apple, cored and chopped
  • optional: liquid stevia to taste

This green smoothie is by far one of my favorite green smoothies yet! It is FANTASTIC!! It was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS, and I loved the brightness the lemon juice added to the flavors of the apple and plum. It made it quite addicting in my view. Haha. 😉 As a note, if you do use the lemon juice — you may want to add a little liquid stevia if you need it (depending on the level of sweetness you enjoy). I found that a little bit of stevia goes a long way, so add it until you like the level of sweetness.

SUNDAY:

After I got home from church, I made a smoothie to enjoy alongside with some other snacky-things we were having for lunch.


Double Green Orange Pear Smoothie

  • 1 ¼ cup vanilla soy milk
  • 4 oz frozen spinach (½ of a 10oz box, or ¼ of a 16oz bag)
  • 2 leaves of collard greens
  • 1 small pear, cored and sliced
  • 1 small orange, peeled and cut into wedges

(This one made about 3 cups worth.) I liked the combination of the pear and orange in this smoothie. My favorite fruits to add to smoothies are bananas and apples, but I’ve found in this challenge that I like pears and oranges too, as they also do a good job at mellowing the flavor of the greens. And I also liked combining the two different greens in this smoothie – adds more variety and makes it a little more fun. 😉

MONDAY:

Monday morning – the first official day of my online classes. And the last “official” day on the Green Smoothie Challenge. So I decided to celebrate by “taking a trip” to the tropics. 😉


Tropical Paradise Green Smoothie

  • 1 ½ cup unsweetened coconut milk (from the carton)
  • 6 leaves kale, washed and stems removed (or as much or as little as you want)
  • 1 ½ cup mixed frozen fruits (I used a mixture of mangos, strawberries, and papaya – pineapple would also be delicious)
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Liquid stevia to taste

It was like a trip to the Bahamas or to Hawaii. The jar I used really made the smoothie look not so big, but it actually made about 2 ½ cups worth, just THAT much more than would fit in one of my smaller jars (so I opted for the larger one). I have really started to have fun with the smoothies I’ve been making. I also challenged myself at the beginning to have a different green smoothie every day, which has really pushed me and gotten me to mix things up. (Especially important for me as food ruts can be so delicious to fall into sometimes…)

AND TUESDAY (just for fun):

Ever since the middle of this green smoothie challenge, I have been reminded of how delicious green smoothies can be and what a great addition they are to my everyday diet. They’re a quick way to get some greens in while enjoying a delicious fruit-tasting smoothie. And you can add lots of different things to them and have a different one each and every day. 🙂 This afternoon I was wanting another smoothie (I always tend to want them in the afternoon as opposed to the morning – wonder why….).


Apple Mango Green Smoothie

  • 1 ½ cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 9 leaves kale, washed and stems removed (or as much or as little as you want)
  • 1 medium apple
  • ½ cup frozen mango
  • 2 tbs ground flaxseed
  • liquid stevia to taste

Quite a big one (this one made about 3 ½ -4 cups worth), but I loved every bite. And yes, I do like to eat my smoothies with a spoon, until I reach the end where I drink it. 😉 I took a nap this morning (about 1 ½ hours) as my head was feeling heavy (up late last night reading over my classes), and I felt SO much better afterwards. And then after my smoothie this afternoon it felt quite easy to focus on my assignments and get them done.

Verdict of my 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge:

They will definitely be staying as a daily addition to my diet. I have really been loving how I feel after having one and know I just don’t feel the same without them. I am grateful for this opportunity I’ve had to participate in this challenge and can’t wait to continue this habit past the challenge. 🙂

………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Did you participate in the 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge? How was your experience?

I would love to hear how your body felt/reacted doing it! 🙂

Have you started your classes? Are you enjoying them?

I’ve really been having fun interacting with the other students taking the classes I’m taking through the discussion boards and continuing my education through this college experience.

What are some of your favorite additions to add to a green smoothie?

I’ve always loved chia seeds, berries, and cocoa powder.

with lots of hugs,


11 thoughts on “What Kat Ate: 7-Day Green Smoothie Challenge Update

  1. My all time favourite green smoothie consists of banana, mango, spinach, hemp protein, lemon juice + zest, maca and almond milk. in love with this combo. I am also quite fond of mixed berries in green smoothies but it makes the green smoothie turn blue or brown and not so pretty anymore 😉

  2. Those green smoothies all look so delicious! I have also started my college class at the local community college; I am taking 4 classes this semester: Spanish, speech, anatomy/physiology, and a career development course. I have only started the anatomy and Spanish classes so far, though my speech class starts today…I am not exactly looking forward to it, but I will do my best not to humiliate myself:P Public speaking isn’t exactly my “forte.” Thanks to my AP credits, I am not required to take any English or history, though I may anyway at some point…Some of my favorite additions to green smoothies are cocoa powder, cinnamon, coconut butter, and pumpkin:)

  3. VERY nice green smoothies!!! Did I tell you that Cuz LeRoy was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes? Once his doctor found out what I do, she scratched off the instructions for him to attend the standard nutrition class and handouts and told him instead: “You don’t need any of this information, you just need to listen to your wife!” I almost fainted with joy. He’s been drinking (even making) green smoothies for two weeks now. He is eating at least 80% alkaline foods and drinking 6-7 litres of alkaline water a day. His blood sugar has dropped from 148 two weeks ago when he was diagnosed to 106-108 consistently. He has also been going to the gym with me in the mornings at 6 a.m. before work, during Seminary. I’m so proud of him! I’m going to share some of your recipes with him.

  4. Extra note: Be careful with bananas, oranges and grapes. They, sadly, are the three highest sugar content fruits and your body handles them like a candy bar. Microscopically, they cause a great deal of damage to the red blood cells and can cause the white blood cells to cease movement and sit round (not amoebic-like) quivering for up to five hours after high sugar foods are consumed. I don’t examine the blood until 3-4 hours after solid food intake so when I see the white blood cells dormant and quivering, I am pretty accurate at guessing what a person more than likely consumed to cause that disruption. Best fruits are lemons, limes, grapefruits, avocados & tomatoes. Their ash after consumption is still +. Beyond those try the berries (particularly blueberries), then your apples, then pears, etc. Proper water consumption / hydration is key between meals as well.

  5. All those smoothies sound so good. I, too, need to get back on the smoothie plan. I can’t commit to one everyday, but I should drink them more. Until it gets colder, that is.
    And gluck with your first go at college classes. It is a ton of work, but once you get into a rhythm it gets a lot easier. I’m a senior, so I speak from experience.

Comments

