baking · chocolate · Goodies · My Life · nut butter · vegan · vegetarian

Grain-Free Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Hey My Cute Cookie Dough Bites! 🙂

Thanks for all of your support throughout the past weeks. I’m really getting into the swing of things for my classes, enjoying life, and making the best of things. I haven’t had much time to journal (which is one of those things I really enjoy doing and feel is important for me), but I will sit down when I get the impression and just write down my thoughts, talk about what’s been going on, and write down my goals and dreams. One of those goals was to read the entire Bible this year. I’ve completed the New Testament, and I’m in Job now in the Old Testament (soon to be in Psalms), so I’m really glad I’ve been able to keep up and get it done. I always feel amazing after I read my scriptures. 🙂 One dream I have is to get letters behind my name. Haha, I know – that sounds so silly, but I really want to go into Health and study it and learn about it in more detail – dive into it and learn as much as I can. I NEVER get tired of it, and I want to use that knowledge I obtain to help and serve others. That’s why I want to go into Health Science (with a Public Health emphasis) and minor in Nutrition and Professional Training – so I’ll be able to help others and inspire them to become their best selves. 🙂 That’s my focus right now, so I’m getting really excited, since I’ve recently started some of my courses and have been LOVING it. Life is busy, but it is good. Life is good. 🙂

I know I’ve been talking about these for a while, but they’re finally here:

My Grain-Free Cookies! 😀


Drain and rinse a can of chickpeas (or other white bean), and pour the beans into a food processor or powerful blender.


Add the almond butter, honey, and vanilla extract.


Process the ingredients to break down the beans and incorporate together the nut butter, honey, and beans. (You can also just process the chickpeas, and the mix it with the other ingredients by hand.)


Add the cinnamon and baking powder, and either process or stir them in.


It will form a grain-free cookie dough. 😀


Spoon the dough into a bowl with a rubber spatula (metal ones will scratch the insides of the machine as it scrapes).


Add the chocolate chips and stir them in. (Mini chocolate chips are also very cute!)

Grab a spoon and dig in! 😀


Grain Free Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1-15oz can (1 ¾ cup) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2/3 cup almond butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (dark or semi-sweet)

Directions

Drain and rinse a can of chickpeas (or other white bean), and pour the beans into a food processor or powerful blender. Add the almond butter, honey, and vanilla extract. Process the ingredients to break down the beans and incorporate together the nut butter, honey, and beans. (You can also just process the chickpeas, and the mix it with the other ingredients by hand.) Add the cinnamon and baking powder, and either process or stir them in. It will form a grain-free cookie dough.

Spoon the dough into a bowl with a rubber spatula (metal ones will scratch the insides of the machine as it scrapes). Add the chocolate chips and stir them in. (Mini chocolate chips are also very cute!)

Grab a spoon and dig in! 😀

Print This!


If you want to make them into cookies, scoop them by the teaspoon (or use a small cookie scoop) onto a baking sheet lined with either wax or parchment paper. Bake at 350*F (175*C) for 8-10 minutes, until they are golden brown around the edges.


I prefer it as cookie dough, but my family prefers them as cookies. So I make both ways.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

What is your favorite cookie add-in?

I love chocolate chips, apples, flaxseeds, and nuts.

Do you have any food intollerances? Food allergies? Things you feel better if you stay away from?

I know by avoiding milk in any form helps my body feel better. It reacts to the smallest amount of it 😦 so I have to be careful with what I eat. It’s not fun, but it’s worth it.

With lots of hugs,

12 thoughts on “Grain-Free Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

    1. Thanks, Ally! 🙂 I love the addition of the chickpeas in these too. My sister actually doesn’t like chickpeas, but she’ll eat these! She doesn’t even know they’re in there…. Heheh. I love being sneaky like that. 😉

  1. I have a question Kat…For your almond butter, do you remove the skin of the almonds before you blend them? I tried making it, and it is too grainy and bitter because of the walnuts (followed your recepie for the walnut and almond butter).

    1. Hey Paru! 🙂 I don’t usually remove the skins before I blend the almonds into almond butter. I’ve never found that part to ever be bitter, but I have found walnuts to be a little bitter sometimes though. I probably wouldn’t use the walnut/almond butter for making this — I love it spread onto things, but it doesn’t always work in baking (as the walnuts can be bitter, like you said). I’d most likely use either almond butter, sun butter, pecan butter, or peanut butter instead of the walnut butter when making this cookie dough.

  2. Wow, those cookies look fantastic!! I love that they are made with such simple and wholesome ingredients:) Though I haven’t been “officially” diagnosed with any food intolerance/allergies, I generally feel better when I avoid dairy products and gluten–both of them tend to bother my stomach when eaten in large quantities. Some of my favorite cookie add-ins are chocolate chips, raisins, and bananas:)

    1. I haven’t ever been tested for my dairy allergy either, but I’ve also heard that those tests aren’t always reliable. So I guess listening to your body and seeing how it feels is the best way to figure out what works best for you. 🙂

    1. Hey Kathryn! 🙂 These would be wonderful frozen and mixed into ice cream. After making the dough, I’d cookie scoop it onto a baking sheet lined with either parchment or wax paper (so they don’t stick), and then freeze them until they’re solid. You can then cut them into quarters and mix them into ice cream ( banana soft-serve would work well for this too) — making a delicious cookie dough ice cream. 🙂

      Thanks for the question, Kathryn! I hope it turns out fabulous! 🙂

Comments

