Goodies · My Life · nut butter · vegan · vegetarian

Week 1 + Homemade SoyNut Butter

Hey My Yummilicious Nut Butters! 😀

I finished up my first week of ThisFitChick’s program, and let me say: I could feel it. The first couple days my legs hurt, but I could tell it was a good kind of pain though (not like a stretched muscle, but muscle strengthening and rebuilding). One thing that I’m now doing that I have never done in my entire life is goblin squats. Let’s just say I now know that I have muscles in my legs that I never knew I had before. Haha. 😉 This week I did all of my weight workouts, but I did an extended stationary bike ride (nothing arduous – pretty steady) in place of the interval workout. My legs had been killing me from days previously, and I wanted to go a little easier on them. I still felt it after the workout – it hurt to sit for a few days. Haha. Another thing I’ve noticed is that my arms are already becoming more defined – I’ve done weights for a long time, but hadn’t really gotten out of my comfort zone with them. But this program has shown me the power of upping my weights (and actually making it a challenge instead of routine) and what it can do. As this next week starts I’m upping my weights and loving every second. I especially love that I don’t even need a gym membership to do these workouts – I’m doing every single one of my workouts at home and I’m getting just as much benefit from the program as I would at a gym. YAY! 😀

……………………………………………………….

I’ve always wanted to make soy-nut butter. But one thing I’ve never been able to find is a definite recipe for it, or the recipe isn’t the healthiest for you. So I determined to come up with my own.

I succeeded, and I’m here to share that success with you. 🙂


My Homemade SoyNut Butter!!!


Soak your soynuts in water for 7-10 minutes (just to let the nuts soften a little).


Add the soaked, dry-roasted soynuts into a food processor or blender (you don’t need anything powerful – just something to break the nuts down).


Pulse until the nuts are broken up.


Add a little coconut oil, salt (if nuts are un-salted), a little agave or stevia, and 1/4 – 1/3 cup water.


Process the mixture until it starts binding and smoothing out.


Once it’s all smooth, transfer nut butter into a glass jar with a lid and store in the fridge. (Or just go grab a spoon.) 😉


Homemade Soy-Nut Butter

High-Protein, High-Fiber, Gluten-Free, Nut Butter

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry-roasted soy nuts (dry-roasted edamame works too), soaked
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4-1/3 cup water (depending on the texture you want)
  • 1 tsp agave or stevia to taste
  • Optional: salt (depending on if or how your soy-nuts are salted)

Directions

Soak your soynuts in water for 7-10 minutes (just to let the nuts soften a little). Add the soaked, dry-roasted soynuts into a food processor or blender (you don’t need anything powerful – just something to break the nuts down). Pulse until the nuts are broken up.

Add a little coconut oil, salt (if nuts are un-salted), a little agave or stevia, and 1/4 – 1/3 cup water. Process the mixture until it starts binding and smoothing out. Once it’s all smooth, transfer nut butter into a glass jar with a lid and store in the fridge. (Or just go grab a spoon.) 😉 Makes about 1 cup.

Note: Each tablespoon is 40 calories, 3.5 grams protein, 2 grams fiber, and only 2 grams fat.

(Aka, you can eat 1/3 cup of this for the same calories as 2 tbsp regular nut butter, but with over double the protein and fiber and half the fat.)

Print This!


Yes, I have a chocolate version coming soon. Hehe. 😀

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

How have you been working out this week?

Weights, some quick plyometrics,

Have you ever made SoyNut Butter before?

I practically ate the entire jar by spoon. None of it got onto a banana or sandwich because I ate it all before I could try it! 😉

Vanilla or Chocolate?

Chocolate. Unless it’s late at night, then I go for Carob.

With lots of hugs,

14 thoughts on “Week 1 + Homemade SoyNut Butter

  1. I have been walking a lot since coming to college, so that has been my “exercise” persay.

    I’ve made soynut butter once and really liked it. If nuts and fat didn’t bother my stomach, you could guarantee that I’d be ALL OVER THIS! Looks awesome.

    Oh. Definitely carob!

  2. I made some soy nut butter a while back – I made it with maple syrup. YUM! i also got a programme from Carrie to start once I head back to the gym post-pregnancy. Can’t wait to get started on it!

  3. I love new workouts and how they have the ability to make you realize just how comfortable we get in our normal day to day workout routines! Good for you!!! You’re so right, the pain is a good pain, like your muscles and joints are learning!

    I absolutely adore soy nut butter…Chocolate soy nut butter is my favorite though 😉 But then again chocolate anything is my favorite!

    1. That’s exactly what I’ve been finding. Mixing up my workouts does make it a whole lot more fun (and effective too!)!

      Haha. I totally agree with you, Katie. Chocolate ANYTHING is always my favorite. 😉

Comments

