Week 2 + Chocolate Soynut Butter!

Hey my Gorgeous Sugardoodles! πŸ™‚

Thanks for all of your comments on my Homemade Soy-Nut Butter. I’ve also been having some fun with quinoa. Expect some deliciousness next week too. πŸ™‚

Week 2 of the ThisFitChick Workout Plan! The first week I just focused on getting into the groove with the weight lifting moves, and after the first week I felt like I could step it up. By the way I felt after the exercises my first week I know I could give it more. So this week I started upping my weights. (For example, from 8-lbs each arm to 12.5-lbs each arm.) It’s also the beginning of the third week and I’m upped the weights again! The definition in my arms really shows it. I feel my legs getting stronger. I really like this program. It’s really nice having a written down workout plan and having a place where I can write down how many reps I do with what weight so I can have a goal next time – which helps me better reach my potential and find how strong I really am. By doing just the lighter weights and not pushing myself super hard, I couldn’t find out what I was made of. But upping the weights really makes a difference! And not, using heavy weights does NOT make you bulk up. Yes, it can increase muscle mass, but they are lean muscles! πŸ™‚

…………………………………………………………………………………..

Last week I came up with a regular version of homemade soy-nut butter.

But this week — I’m here to share with you a chocolate version.


My Chocolate Soynut Butter! πŸ˜€


Soak your soynuts in water for 7-10 minutes (just to let the nuts soften a little).


Add the soaked, dry-roasted soynuts into a food processor or blender (you don’t need anything powerful – just something to break the nuts down).


Pulse until the nuts are broken up.


Add the water …


… the coconut oil, cocoa powder, stevia (or alternative sweetener), a little agave or stevia, 1/3 cup water, and optional salt (if nuts are un-salted).


Process the mixture until it starts binding and smoothing out. Once it’s all smooth, transfer nut butter into a glass jar with a lid and store in the fridge. (Or just go grab a spoon.) πŸ˜‰ Makes about 1 cup.


Chocolate Soy-Nut Butter

High-Protein, High-Fiber, Gluten-Free, Nut Butter

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry-roasted soy nuts (dry-roasted edamame works too), soaked
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2-3 tbsp coconut oil (depending on taste)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • Stevia, agave, or honey — to taste
  • Optional: salt to taste (depending on if your soy-nuts are salted or not)

Directions

Soak your soynuts in water for 7-10 minutes (just to let the nuts soften a little). Add the soaked, dry-roasted soynuts into a food processor or blender (you don’t need anything powerful – just something to break the nuts down). Pulse until the nuts are broken up.

Add the coconut oil, cocoa powder, stevia (or alternative sweetener), a little agave or stevia, 1/3 cup water, and optional salt (if nuts are un-salted). Process the mixture until it starts binding and smoothing out. Once it’s all smooth, transfer nut butter into a glass jar with a lid and store in the fridge. (Or just go grab a spoon.) πŸ˜‰ Makes about 1 cup.

Print This!

Note: Each tablespoon is 50 calories, 3.6 grams protein, 2 grams fiber, and only 2.5 grams fat.

(Aka, you can eat 1/4 cup of this for the same calories as 2 tbsp regular nut butter, but with over double the protein and fiber and half the fat.)


Regular and Chocolate versions – nom nom nom.

…………………………………………………………………….

Do you like to do lighter weights with more reps, or heavier weights with fewer reps?

I used to do a lot of my workouts with lighter weights and more reps, but then I realized after upping my weights (and doing fewer reps as a result) that I am capable of even more than I thought I could.

Chocolate or Vanilla?

CHOCOLATE FOR ME!!!

With lots of hugs,


35 thoughts on “Week 2 + Chocolate Soynut Butter!

    • Hey Tayla! I really am enjoying the workouts, especially since my life is pretty busy with my classes and college and such. (I’m sure you know exactly what I mean.) It’s really helpful to have it all planned out and I can write done what I did so I can make goals for the next time I do it!

      If you give it a try I’d love to hear how it goes for you. I just need to get me some more soy-nuts so I can make some more of it. Haha. It’s quite a delicious post-workout snack (not that I would know… πŸ˜‰ ).

  1. The soynut butter recipes look awesome..I was wondering though, is it necessary to add oil? Could you possible sub with water or milk? Or would it then just be one crumbly mess? :p

    • Hey, Caitlin! I’m sure you could substitute water or milk for the oil. I can’t vouch for the results as I’ve never tried it without the oil, but I’m sure if you sweeten it to your liking and add the cocoa or carob, I’m sure it’d taste delicious. πŸ™‚

  2. SO glad to hear that you are loving This Fit Chick’s workouts! I really missed Carrie from her old Moves N Munchies day and am so glad that she’s back πŸ™‚

    And right now I’d say neither chocolate nor vanilla, but carob! I’m loving that stuff!

    • Hey Madison! πŸ™‚ I really missed Carrie too. But I’m glad she’s following her dreams. πŸ™‚

      I love carob too — it is SO good! I love having it in the evening if I want a snack, as I’m pretty caffeine-sensitive and it can keep me up late if I’m not careful.

  3. Pingback: These Ladies are Loving This Fit Chick’s Programs! | This Fit Chick

    • Hey Jess! I love mixing up my weights too. πŸ™‚ Some days I do just a more cardio-type workout where I use lighter weights throughout the exercises, and other days I do my heavier lifting (which are my personal favorite).

    • Hey Emily! The flavor of the soy-nuts is pretty well covered up. It depends on how much sweetener you add and the amount of chocolaty flavor you want (with how much cocoa you add). I find that the nutty flavor in the soy-nuts provide to the nut butter is addicting.

  4. Pingback: There is Sunshine in My Soul Today! « Kat's Health Corner

  5. Pingback: Holiday Nut Butters, Dips, Spreads, and Sauces: Twelve Days of Allergy-Free Christmas Recipes | Kat's Health Corner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

