Balance With Self · Health And Nutrition · How do things work in my body? · My Life

Week 4 + Is Getting Enough Sleep Really Important?

Hey My Morning Sunshines! 🙂

This week will be quite a busy one for me, with my online classes, scripture studying, scripture class, church activities, etc. Right now I’m learning about the Constitution (went over its creation, establishment, the inspired document itself, and applications of it in our everyday life — and loving every minute of it!) and learning about the positives and negatives about wind energy (went over population growth, sustainability, water preservation and hydroelectricity, and our individual footprints — I’ll be calculating my carbon footprint this week!). I love the classes I am taking — they have really sparked my interest and I’m grateful for the chance I have to increase my knowledge and continue my education. It’s a lot of fun! 🙂

I just finished up my fourth week of ThisFitChick’s workout plan and I’m super pumped for the next phases. This week I upped the weights on a few exercises (like pressing 20.5 lbs per arm, and deadlifting 17.5 lb.), and I REALLY felt it in my legs this week. (I started feeling it on Thursday, and then I STILL felt it during my session on Friday, which led to Saturday with feeling it.) I felt it enough that I took it easy this weekend to let my muscles rebuild, strengthen, and get ready for the game play to go up to the next level (the next 4 weeks). This first four weeks was focusing on building a good muscle foundation, and then the second week expands on that and builds your stamina while increasing the muscle strength. I’m ready for that change – I know I’ll have to get into the groove with the moves, but I know that by next week I’ll be rockin’ it. (Will most likely feel it, but it’ll be a good feeling.)

……………………………………………………………………………………

Talking about health and life, here’s an interesting infograph I thought you guys would enjoy! I’ve been trying to get myself to go to bed earlier, and this infograph was the thing that motivated me to do it! I’d love to hear your thoughts about what it says in the comments below! 🙂

sleep

Source: http://frugaldad.com

……………………………………………………..

What are your thoughts on the Infograph? Anything come to mind?

I know that caffeine really affects me (and if I want chocolate or cocoa powder I have to do it earlier in the day or it’ll keep me up REALLY late. Some of the things it brought up that stood out to me were that sleep deprivation induces stress on the body. It decreases the body’s ability to heal. It reduces an individual’s ability to remember things. (I know I always hate forgetting things.) 

Do you workout at home or go to the gym?

I used to go to the gym (and I’ll be taking advantage of that gym up at college in a couple months), but now I just workout at home. I don’t have access to all of the different machines, but I have enough weights and DVDs and equipment to handle it. You really don’t need much to get a good workout – working out using your own body weight can be some of the most effective workouts anyways! 🙂

With lots of hugs,


24 thoughts on “Week 4 + Is Getting Enough Sleep Really Important?

  1. I know that caffeine definately affects me, as well as sleeplessness it also makes me really anxious!
    Sounds like you are loving your workout routine 🙂 I have a gym membership but have been making all kinds of excuses not to go lately! Now that it’s gearing up for summer here I’ve been starting to run outside again and generally try to do some weights if I’m watching tv etc.

  2. That infograph is really cool! I didn’t know a lot of that stuff. Sleep has been on my mind lately, so this was perfect timing. I’ve been trying to set a bedtime for myself so that my sleep is more consistent, but haven’t had too much luck yet.

    1. Hey Miranda! 🙂 What time have you set? My goal has always been 10pm (maybe even 9pm if I’m getting up early), but I’ve been staying up till 12 lately. I’ve got to change that — I always feel it the next morning.

      1. My “get into bed” time is 11pm and then I read until 12pm. I really can’t go to bed any earlier than that because I’m in my last semester of college and I just have TONS of homework. Luckily, most days I don’t have to wake up for class until 10:30am, so a midnight bedtime isn’t too bad (although I’m having a lot of trouble sticking to it!). Once I graduate this December, I hope to get back to normal and go to bed even earlier.

  3. Thats really interesting! The one that stuck with me the most was that staying awake for 24 hours is the same as being legally drunk. I’m not often awake that long, but from what I remember I can see it!

    1. Hey Liz! 🙂 Really??? I’ve never stayed up for that long before (I did in a dream once, and I totally FREAKED out — not in a good way). I guess many individuals don’t know that, so I can see why people would keep driving in spite of it. Even though it’s not alcohol, the response from your body is similar.

  4. If I don’t get sleep I am MISS CRANKY PANTS, that’s for sure!! It’s about as bad as when I am hungry, and that’s bad! LOL! All of my friends KNOW that I like to go to sleep around 10 or 11, and they’re okay with that which rocks! 🙂

    1. Hey Gigi! 🙂 I’m so glad that your friends are okay with you going to bed at 10. I know I always sleep better and LONGER when I go to bed at a decent time. I can’t sleep past 7am (8am if I push it), so getting to bed at a good hour is always better for me (as it keeps my immune system up, keeps me happy as I can get pretty emotional with the lack of sleep, and it keeps my family happy because they live with me!). 🙂

      ________________________________

  5. Sleep is something Ive never really gotten much of, not because I stay up too late, but simply because I cant fall asleep. Ive spent countless nights tossing and turning and staring at the ceiling. We bought a Sleep Number bed which has helped, but there are still some nights that I really struggle. Most of the time I wake up in the night and cant fall back asleep, which sometimes I think is even worse!

    1. Hey Kat! 🙂 I know exactly what you mean. For me, that happens when it’s hot and humid (or even slightly in my room). I toss and turn all night and barely get any shut-eye. I’m glad the Sleep-Number bed is helping! My parents got a bed like that and they love it! Maybe when I have a home of my own I can get one too. 🙂

  6. Yes yes! Sleep is so important! I definitely get at least 7 every night and shoot for 8 as much as possible. I get up at 5:45am for work so getting 8 hours of sleep can be difficult. But I sure try for it! 🙂 Since I don’t drink caffeine I can’t rely on it to wake me up which means that if I want to be alert, I need to be sure I get enough sleep!

    1. Hey Rach! 🙂 I don’t drink caffeine either, but because I’m so caffeine sensitive I have to keep even chocolate to a limit in the evening or it keeps me up. Not good for doing college classes… Sleep is something I can’t afford to lose.

  7. I’ve done a caffeine cut-off for years now. I’m still a night owl, but I’m convinced keeping caffeine in check is still a good thing!

    Thanks for sharing!

    1. Hey, Joanna! 🙂 You are so welcome. I’m glad it could be of help. I know that when I keep my caffeine (chocolate) intake in check in the evening really helps me! (Or I stay up pretty late…. like 3am in the morning…. not good.)

Comments

