Balance With Self · college · My Life

Favorite Posts from 2012

I am at my great uncle’s house right now about to read my scriptures and head to bed (even though it’s only 9pm here). I still can’t believe I’m actually heading up to the campus tomorrow morning. I got up at 4am yesterday morning to finish gathering my stuff, pack up the car, and head towards the airport and the next chapter in my life. We stayed with some family overnight and I actually got to talk with one of my cousins who is a dietitian and we got to “interview” each other — I asked her how she liked being a dietitian and she asked me about how I live with a milk allergy (which can be hard sometimes and even a little tedious, especially when I always have to ask what’s in something, like bread or soup or anything). 

We drove up this afternoon and the cold is really true. I’m used to 80 degree winters, but here up in Idaho I’ll be facing the single digits for most of the winter. Even though my face is already freezer-burned (one of my cousins took me on a little snowmobile ride, but I don’t think I had enough layers on…) and it’s really cold outside, I’ve really been having fun. I’m getting ready for my classes that start Monday morning and have been collecting the things I need for my dorm with my dad. Once I get it all set up I’ll give you a little tour. 😉 (I am SUPER excited about the trio-slow-cooker I got!)

This new year of 2013 is going to be filled with a lot of changes – but in a good way. I’ll be starting college. I’ll be turning 18. I’ll be getting my driver’s license. I will be becoming more independent. And I will be going towards my dreams of learning more in-depth of the things I love and get a deeper scientific background of nutrition, fitness, and health.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

Continuing with my roundup from this last year, these are some of my favorite posts:


Pigs for Vegetarians

Sometimes Blessings Come in Disguise


2012 Prom

Tears are Falling as I Type This


Things That Make Me Smile


7 Day Green Smoothie Challenge: Part 1 and Part 2


My Favorite Workout DVDs

My Favorite Music


Chocolate-Covered Pretzels Demonstration


Step-by-Step Guide to Making Homemade Whole Wheat Bread

……………………………………………………………………………………

Do you have a favorite post?

Are you starting school soon?

Any tips on staying warm in single digit weather?

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

P.S. I was featured over at This Fit Chick’s blog with my thoughts on her workout program(s). You can check it out here.

19 thoughts on “Favorite Posts from 2012

    1. Hey Ally! 🙂 It was a lot of fun. We had a wonderful conversation and she loved interviewing me about how I live with a dairy allergy. She said she’s studied it but never met someone with it. So it was a win-win situation. 🙂

      ________________________________

  1. I always get a little nostalgic when I hear people talk about leaving for college. You’re going to have such a blast!

  2. Wow.You used to have 80 degree winters? I’m so jealous!!

    Tips for staying warm: Obviously gloves and hats. I actually prefer headbands to hats though because they protect my ears better and don’t mess up my hair as much. If it gets extremely cold I’ve used something called turtle fur, which is basically a neck warmer.Also, microwaveable hand warmers are lifesavers. If you get the reusable kind, just heat them up before you leave, stick them in your pockets and your hands never get cold! 🙂

  3. praying for ya as you start school!! 🙂 i go back to LA tomorrow and my second quarter starts up on monday. i’m really excited to see my friends again and go back to my room and everything – it’s really starting to feel like home there!

    1. Hey Julianna! 🙂 Thanks for your prayers. My prayers are with you too! 🙂 I hope you’re doing well in your classes this quarter — I know the Lord is with you! 🙂 My apartment here on campus in Idaho is really starting to feel like home too.

      ________________________________

  4. Thinking of you Kat! I actaully don’t start school until the end of the month… My best tips for cold weather:
    Veiw scarves as a cute complement to outfits. If you want your neck warm, but a gator!
    Use a hat that ties under your chin.
    Don’t go out early in the morning if you don’t have to.

    1. Hey Karina!!! 🙂 Thanks so much for your tips! I definitely like scarves now. I never used them in Texas, but they’re my best friends here in Idaho! 🙂

      I hope your classes are going well! 🙂

Comments

