Balance With Self · college · My Life

A Day In The Life of Kat: College Edition

Hi my Absolutely Amazing Readers!

It’s 7pm up here in Idaho and I just got back from looking outside my door and admiring all the snow covering the ground outside. I still can’t believe that I am actually a real college student. Before I came up here I thought I would have a hard time, but it actually has been an easy transition. My whole thinking process has changed though. Throughout my high-school years my mom would be reminding me multiple times a week (if not every day) that I needed to start managing my time better.

I’ve had to keep myself from Pinterest to make sure my school work gets done. That’s why I’ve also kept from my blog for a few weeks. I wanted to adjust to my new life and get the hang of my classes before I added in my blog. I’ve been putting my schoolwork first in my life (after the Lord, reading my scriptures and praying of course) and making sure I get that done first before I allow myself to go do other things. My parents have paid so much for me to have the opportunity to come up here. I feel like the unprofitable servant, and I know that the only way I can pay them back is to put my full focus on my schooling. I have had to cut out certain things that could have been fun like going to parties, dances, and other activities, but my school is my full-time job. By keeping my grades up, I can earn scholarships and help pay for my schooling even if I’m not working during the semester. (I’ll most likely be doing that on my off-track.) Now that I’m here at college my schedule has changed from what it used to be at home.

Here’s a typical day for me: a Day in the Life of Kat – College edition.

Wakeup: 6:00am (Sometimes at 5:00am, depending on when my body decides to wake up me up).

6:00-6:20am – quietly get ready for the day. (All of my roommates don’t wake up until 8:30am, so I try not to wake them up as they stay up later than I do.)

6:20-6:40am – make breakfast


6:40-7:20am – read my scriptures/do homework (if I woke up earlier that morning I add that extra time here)

7:20-7:30am – pack up my backpack and head out the door

7:45-8:45am – Class

9:00-9:20am – eat a snack.


9:20am-12:00pm – rewrite notes, complete assignments, do reading for class(es)

12:00-12:20pm – make lunch


12:20-12:30pm – pack up my backpack and head out the door

12:45-1:45pm – Class

2:00-2:35pm – rewrite notes, gather stuff for my next class

2:35-2:55pm – eat a snack


3:15-4:15pm – Class

4:30-5:30pm – go to the gym

5:40-6:00pm – get cleaned up

6:00-6:20pm – make dinner


6:20-7:20pm – assignments, writing essay(s)

7:20-8:00pm— practice piano

8:00-9:20pm – schoolwork, reading for the next day

9:20-9:40pm – get ready for bed

9:40-10:00pm – read scriptures

Bedtime: 10:00pm

…………………………………………………………………….

This is a tentative schedule, but it’s pretty much what my days are here. I’ve been trying my best to go to bed at 10:00 every night (and have been actually doing a better job at it than I ever did at home). My body just seems to want to get up early (I don’t know if it has to do with the knowledge that I have stuff to do or schoolwork worries, etc.), so I’ve been endeavoring to get to bed at a decent hour so I get enough sleep at night. I’ve also been doing a lot of crock pot cooking on the weekends (making meals for the rest of the week and putting them in Rubbermaid containers for convenience). I play the piano at church now, so I’m making sure I practice the piano 3-4x a week for about 30-45 minutes each, except on Sundays where I can do about 1 ½ hours (half before and half after church).

I’ve been taking advantage of the gym on campus. My Health and Fitness class requires me to workout at least 180 minutes a week, at least 3 times a week, and each workout has to be at least 30 minutes long. It’s worth a quarter of my grade this semester and it’s an all or nothing assignment. Either I complete it each week, or the highest I can get is a C-grade in the class. And that is the last thing I want. I’ve continued heavy lifting (I do it about 2 times a week), but now that I have access to the gym I take advantage of the elliptical machines, Precor machines, and Zumba classes. 🙂

My eating habits have changed just a little. Instead of 3-4 meals, I’m eating 5 smaller meals a day (sometimes 6, depending on the day). I’m eating an almost vegan diet (I’ll go in more detail about what I eat, how I prepare things, and how I stay in a budget while eating nutrient dense in another post). And you now what? I actually really like it. I’m only eating meat sparingly, and I know my body and my budget are thanking me for it.

……………………………………………………………….

Btw, I just HAD to tell you before I go – I am going on an American Studies Tour in August!!!! It’s being provided by my school and I’ll get to go to the Statue of Liberty, Plymouth colony sites, Revolutionary war sites, see Wicked on Broadway, Philadelphia, Gettysburg, Niagara Falls, Abraham Lincoln plus SO MUCH MORE, in addition to church history sites all across the central to north-east!!! I AM SO EXCITED!!!! I have wanted to go see these places for the LONGEST time, and now I almost can’t believe that I will actually get to see them! Definitely expect pictures when that time comes. 😉

……………………………………………………………….

I have so much more to share with you, but I’ve got to go finish reading my scriptures for my religion class and Skype mi familia before I head to bed tonight.

I’m so excited to share my adventures with you!

with lots of hugs,

Kathleen

13 thoughts on “A Day In The Life of Kat: College Edition

    1. Hi Gigi. 🙂 I’m not completely vegan — I just don’t buy meat anymore. If I go somewhere and meat is provided I’ll have some. The chili I buy has meat in it (but I buy it only because I can’t find a good vegetarian option). Meat is just so expensive — especially when I can buy 4 bags of beans for the price of 1lb. Those beans will feed me a lot longer than that pound of meat will. I’ve also been finding that eggs make me sick in the morning if I eat them too early or by themselves, and since I’m getting up at 6am, I either have to eat eggs later in the day (which isn’t very likely) or not at all. And because I already try to avoid dairy at all costs I’m eating a primarily vegan diet. I’m definitely not going vegan right now, but I’m finding that eating a more-vegan diet is beneficial for me right now. I do like meat (give me a steakany day!), but right now it’s not feasible for me.

      ________________________________

  1. This is awesome Kat. You may have just inspired me to do my own day in the life post! I don’t know why I never thought of it before, but you did yours so well 🙂

    I totally understand what you mean by the vegan comment. I found it much easier to eat healthier and cheaper if I chose primarily vegan options the first semester. Now though, with my ongoing stomach problems, I have to bring food from home, so it’s a lot more meat heavy, which keeps me fuller throughout the day.

    I love that you have been keeping up with your scriptures. That is something that I have not done and really need to work on!

    That American Studies tour sounds like so much fun! I can’t wait to read all about it 🙂

    1. Hey Madison! 🙂 You are so sweet — thanks. 🙂 You really should do a day-in-the-life post yourself — I know you would have a lot of fun. 🙂 I’m definitely not going vegan (I do still eat meat, but it’s just not very often, especially when the canned chicken here smells like tuna…… :\ ), but right now it’s working best for me. I use mycrock-poton the weekend and whip up my meals for the week (Rubbermaidcontainers are the BEST!), and what I make ends up not including meat most of the time. The only meat I have in my house is the chicken in the few cans of Progresso 100% natural chicken with whole grain noodle soup (which I bought with some coupons), the meat in the few cans of chili I have, and the few eggs I have in the fridge (which I’m finding I don’t really care for much any more). That’s it. I just find it easier for me to budget. I like meat, but when I have it I like to have a lot at a time (like a whole can of chicken for instance), and that is just not practical. My family calls me a carnivore who can live vegan. I do like meat, but I think cutting back on it right now is the best option for me. I’ve been trying to only eat meat sparingly for a long time, so I think this will help me do that.

      I know that the reason I have been able to keep up with my classes and understand the things I am learning is because I am giving my time to the Lord first before I do my schoolwork. My mind is clearer and I’m better able to focus when I do that. I know you can do it too. Just a few minutes a day with the Lord on a daily basis can really make a difference. Truly, it’s by small and simple things like that that great things are brought to pass.

      I’m so glad. Thanks — I can’t wait to share my experience with you! 🙂

      ________________________________

  2. That sounds like a busy, but fun, schedule!! I think it’s wonderful that you are mature and responsible enough to focus on keeping your grades up and doing well in school BEFORE spending more time on “fun” activities. Not that school isn’t fun; I actually love learning:) And I am glad you are enjoying your almost-vegan diet; I eat a mostly vegan diet as well, and love how it makes me feel. That American Studies Tour sounds SO amazing!! Those attractions sound like they will be a lot of fun to visit:) Good luck with everything!

    1. Hey Kendra! 🙂 It can be hard sometimes going to bed at 10pm and not doing all of the socializing that my roommates and friends get to do because they don’t have to wake up early in the morning every day. But I find that I do better throughout the day when I get to bed at a decent hour, especially on those days that my body decides to wake up at 5am and not go back to sleep. I really find that if I get my schoolwork done before going out and having fun I can really enjoy that time off. If I get my stuff done throughout the week, I can really have a weekend where I can breathe and relax. It takes a lot of work, but I know it will be worth it in the end. I can’t really say there’s a class I don’t like right now — Chemistry is starting to pick up intensity, but that’s because we just finished the basics and arestarting to dig into the real meat of Chemistry.

      Thanks girl! 🙂

      ________________________________

Comments

