baking · Balance With Self · college · My Life

The Lord is my Strength + Baked Potatoes

Hey my Delightfully Delicious Chocolate Chips! 😀

Thanks for all of your comment on my last post. I really love it up here in college. Yes, my life is crazy hectic, but I always find those days to be the best. It’s those days where I feel like I won’t ever be able to finish everything I need to before the deadline that I am praying to my Father in Heaven constantly, whether on my knees or in my heart. Wednesday was the beginning of one of those days. I was pretty overwhelmed. Uncertainty was entering my heart and I just felt weak. But then I called my mom and she helped me refocus and get back to my work. Throughout the day, I realized that my time was short, as I had to finish my scripture reading block, write a paper, study for my test in my scripture study class the next day, get ready for my Chemistry lab the next morning, and study 4 chapters for my Personal Health and Fitness test right after my Lab. And it was already starting to get dark outside and I knew I needed to get a good night’s rest to focus in Lab and on my tests the next day. So I said a prayer. I asked my Heavenly Father to help me focus on my schoolwork. I asked Him for strength and persistence. I asked for His Spirit to be with me and help me understand what I was learning, had learned, and was studying.

That night, I got to bed at 10:00pm. I had finished my paper, read part of my reading block, and studied 2 of the 4 chapters for my Personal Health and Fitness (which included my notes from lecture, my notes from the text, and the text itself). I had gotten more than I thought I would have given the time I had. I said a prayer thanking my Father in Heaven for all His help throughout the day.

That next morning, I woke up at 6:00am. I slept a complete 8 hours without once tossing through the night. I said a prayer. Somehow I found the time before Lab to study another chapter. And somehow, my lab partner and I were able to finish the lab early and I was able to use that time to study my last chapter for my P H&F class. After I finished my studying, it was time for class. I said a prayer before I took my test, and went for it Afterwards, I actually found the time to both finish my scripture block and study for my test on the last week’s material. To my astonishment I did amazing on the tests. In retrospect, I can’t believe how easily I understood the questions and how I knew the answers. I know it must have been the Lord guiding me and teaching me through His Spirit.

Earlier this week my scripture study took me to KJV Philippians 4:13. “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.” I know it was because of Him that I was able to get through this crazy time in my life. I know He will be able to help me, but first I have to do my part. I can’t just procrastinate and do only insignificant things. I have to pay the tuition of effort. Then He will help me with the rest. I know that a lot of craziness still lies ahead of me, but I know that if I rely on the Lord he will help me come off conqueror. I know that He is my strength.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

As a part of my experience here up at college, I want to start incorporating recipes that I make up here at college. I use my crock-pot lot, but I also use the oven once in a while.

One thing I like to do to save time and money is to make big batches of something, then split it up into smaller portions so I can grab and go throughout the week. A few weeks ago I made some baked potatoes, and after they finished baking and cooling I stored them in my fridge and have been able to use them throughout the week.

Here’s how I did it. 🙂


Pick the potatoes you want to bake and wash them in cool/warm water. (I scrubbed them with my hands instead of a fancy brush.)


After you wash them, take a fork and stab them about 12-16 times, depending on the size of the potato. (I do half on one side and half on the other.) – You can count this as a triceps workout btw! 😉


All my lovely potatoes.


Tear a piece of aluminum foil long enough and wide enough to surround the potato.


Roll it up (shiny-side out).


Then fold in the sides.


Lay them out on a baking sheet. (You can also just place them straight on the oven rack.


Place the potatoes in the oven and bake in a 400*F (200*C) preheated oven for 60-90 minutes, depending on the size and number of potatoes.

Let them cool completely, then store them in the fridge – leaving one out for eats now.

Top with desired toppings and dig in! 😀


Baked Potatoes (in Aluminum foil)

Materials:

  • Potatoes
  • aluminum foil
  • fork
  • optional: dry baking sheet

Directions:

Pick the potatoes you want to bake and wash them in cool/warm water. (I scrubbed them with my hands instead of a fancy brush.) After you wash them, take a fork and stab them about 12-16 times, depending on the size of the potato. (I do half on one side and half on the other.) – You can count this as a triceps workout btw!

Tear a piece of aluminum foil long enough and wide enough to surround the potato. Roll it up (shiny-side out). Then fold in the sides. Lay them out on a baking sheet. (You can also just place them straight on the oven rack.

Place the potatoes in the oven and bake in a 400*F (200*C) preheated oven for 60-90 minutes, depending on the size and number of potatoes. Let them cool completely, then store them in the fridge – leaving one out for eats now.

Top with desired toppings and dig in! 😀

Print This!

……………………………………………………………………..

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! 😀

with lots of hugs,

Kathleen

P.S. I am just waiting on the response from Tropical Traditions and then I’ll do my review/giveaway on coconut oil. Stay tuned! 😀

8 thoughts on “The Lord is my Strength + Baked Potatoes

  1. I love the ease of making a lot of something and eating it throughout the week. And with something like baked potatoes, it will never get boring or old because there is so much you can do with them!

    1. Hey Liz! 🙂 I love the ease with it too — making a large batch of something on the weekends saves me so much time and effort — and then I can use it throughout the week when life gets super busy. 🙂 I actually love it plain (when baked in aluminum foil like this), but I have tried chili on it before and that was pretty good. Are there any other combinations I should try with them? I still have a ton.  

      ________________________________

    1. Hey Sandy! 🙂 I’m so glad you like them this way too! 🙂 We do have a microwave in my dorm, but I much prefer baked potatoes to be baked in the oven. There are just things that are better if done in the oven as compared to a microwave.   

      ________________________________

  2. Kathleen…love your new picture. I am so glad you are doing well at school. I received your letter…thank you! Sounds like you are doing well and getting adjusted quickly. I bet your family misses you much! Keep posting away and keep us updated.
    Sister C

    1. Hi Sister Cavenary! 🙂 Thanks so much. 🙂 I am having fun at college — it was a huge change but one I was ready for. At least I have Skype so I can talk with my family (and my cat 😉 ).

Comments

