Balance With Self · college · Health And Nutrition · My Life

FREE VIEWING “Hungry For Change” Documentary!

Hey my Lovely Shamrocks! 😀

Hungry for Change is having another free viewing event! It’s running the 21st-31st of April, 2013 – you can sign up here to reserve your spot and get the link to watch it! 😀

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Going along with this, I have absolutely LOVED my Nutrition and Personal Health and Fitness classes this semester. I’m sad they’ll be ending in a couple weeks, but I’m looking forward to studying Anatomy and Physiology and Nutrition in the Life Cycle. Here are a few things I’ve been learning in my Nutrition and Personal Health and Fitness Classes:

6 Types of Health That Make Up Who We Are

Health and Wellness are two different things. You may not be physically sick but be spiritually sick instead. Physical Health isn’t just working out on a consistent basis – it is also eating foods that fuel your body and giving your body the rest it needs every night. (That is one thing I have been trying to work on for a long time. I find it really hard for me, so that is why it’s a constant battle and constant goal. It’s something I have to face every day, but that also helps me address it.). Physical health is only a small portion of wellness. The way you view yourself, the conditions of your environment, your ability to handle your emotions, etc. are all a part of wellness.

If the benefits of physical activity were packaged into a pill, it would be the most prescribed medication in the world. 

There are no such things as “good” foods and “bad” foods. There are only foods with a higher nutrient density than others.

Variety, Balance, Moderation, and Adequacy are all a part of a healthful diet.

Even natural things if taken in unnatural amounts can be harmful. (Like my beta-carotene experience.)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………..

In addition, here are some fitness inspirations and motivations from Tribesports I really liked. 


http://tribesports.com/challenges/fitness-with-a-friend?utm_source=Kats Health Corner&utm_medium=Blogger&utm_campaign=FitnessWithAFriend


http://goo.gl/wPuo5


http://tribesports.com/tribes/stretching-recovery?utm_source=Kats_Health_Corner&utm_medium=Blogger&utm_campaign=WarmUpCoolDown%C2%A0


http://tribesports.com/challenges/100-crunches-a-day-for-2-weeks/guides/6-types-of-crunches?utm_source=Kats Health Corner&utm_medium=Blogger&utm_campaign=6TypesOfCrunches

…………………………………………………………………………………………

Make sure to eat something green today! 😀

Have a wonderful St. Patty’s Day!

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

8 thoughts on “FREE VIEWING “Hungry For Change” Documentary!

    1. I agree! 🙂 I love how this documentary underscores how eating a plant based diet with lots of fruits and vegetables can really make an impact on our health — in an amazing way! 🙂

      ________________________________

  1. Hey I’m Quincy. I’m also a freshman majoring in Health Sciences! I took a class that focused on the same sort of things (that you mentioned above) this year. I’m really glad you differentiated between health and wellness because many people don’t know the difference. I’m glad I found your blog!

    1. Hey Quincy! 🙂 I am so glad that you found me — we have so much alike! I absolutely love your blog btw! 🙂 Thanks for your kind and caring words — it really means the world to me. I’m so glad to meet someone else majoring in Health Science! I’m actually just getting ready to head to my Personal Health and Fitness Class — I always love going to that class and applying the things I learn that are being built upon the knowledge I have. I’m actually working with my mom through Skype, email, and text helping her find balance with nutrition, fitness, and etc. She has type 2 diabetes and had been struggling a little, but now she tells me that since she’s incorporated the wellness plan I set up for her she has more energy, less pain in her back and legs, sleeps better at night, and just feels amazing. I’m so glad that I am able to apply the things I am learning to benefit others and implement them in my life.

      What do you want to do with your degree? What is your dream goal? career? job? 🙂

      1. I absolutely loved my health class last semester too! I feel really grateful that I can take classes (like that one) that I’m genuinely interested in. That’s so awesome that you’re helping your mom! I get so excited to see people’s reactions when they realize how great they can feel with a few simple health-related changes.

        Right now I’m planning on going to medical school because I’m interested in psychiatry (maybe holistic?) but I also want to incorporate nutrition somehow. I get overwhelmed sometimes because I just feel like there are so many options!
        What about you; what are your plans for the future?

        1. What exactly is psychiatry? I agree — I definitely want to incorporate nutrition somehow. Right now I’m going towards a degree in Health Science: Health Promotions, and later on I may get an RD on top of that. I want to help people, but I also want the knowledge and certification to do so. (If that makes sense….) I can also use the knowledge I learn to help my own family one day and teach my kids how fun eating healthfully and staying active can be. 🙂

          ________________________________

          1. That makes total sense! Psychiatry is basically therapy where patients are medically treated.
            I hope to do the same thing for my family one day- teach them about a healthy lifestyle! I really hope you’ll be able to fulfill this passion. Good luck!

Comments

