Shopping List Friday: College Edition

Hey My Blossoming Spring Flowers!

I just got out of an interview to work at the Wellness Center this next semester as a volunteer! They said they would definitely be getting back with me and can’t wait to work with me. I’M SO EXCITED! They mentioned I might be able to work with their Biggest Winner program as a Wellness coach and work with the participants on a one-on-one basis along with the personal trainers (I’d handle the nutrition area) to help them in the process of commencing towards an improved quality of life; I may also be able to run the 9-week Fitness Challenge program this next semester too. They’ll be contacting me this coming Monday and let me know! I really want to get involved at the Wellness Center as a Wellness Coach as that’s one of the things I want to be when I graduate – to be able to work with individuals on a one-on-one basis. I’ll keep you updated on what happens! 🙂

And since it’s Thursday (I love Thursdays, especially since the next day is Friday ;)), I thought I’d have a little fun and join Miranda at Biting Life in her Shopping List Fridays!


I always find it interesting to see what people buy when they’re in college, so here’s just a peek at what I bought my last trip!


Eight pounds of apples, 8lbs of oranges, 10lbs of bananas (which I like to freeze), 5 lbs carrots (which I cut up into baby-carrot sizes and store in quart-sized zipbloc baggies), and 2 huge cantaloupes.


Eighteen 16-oz bags of frozen vegetables (French sliced green beans, broccoli/cauliflower mix, stir fry, and spinach). And yes, I said 18. 🙂


Two bags leafy salad greens, 4 green bell peppers (I want to make vegetarian stuffed bell peppers in my slow cooker), a container So Delicious Raspberry Coconut Yogurt, and a head cabbage.


Two cartons of Silk Soymilk. (I simply love it – period.)


Ten cans of Progresso soup; 2 cans pineapple chunks; and (Not pictured) cocoa powder, corn starch (I want to make some rice pudding!), baking soda, and vanilla extract.

I didn’t buy any dried beans or grains because I still have plenty of those in my “food storage” area under my bed.

And, since I like peanut butter so much…


I was SUPER excited when I received a box of these in the mail last week! My parents sent me a box of organic peanut butter from Amazon, and it actually turned out cheaper for them to do that than for me to buy them individually – all natural peanut butter is $4.50 at Albertsons per bottle, while it cost about $3.00 per jar on Amazon (including shipping). It’s a very delicious addition to a Reese’s inspired Chocolate Breakfast treat I like to make every morning. 🙂

……………………………………………………………………………………………

Any thoughts on living a lower-gluten diet?

I’ve heard that some individuals with problems with dairy can sometimes also have issues with gluten. I know I’m not allergic to gluten, but I think I may have some issues with it. I’m going to stay away from it for a little while to see how I feel and move forward from there. I kind of hope I don’t have problems with it, since being intolerant to dairy is already tedious as it is… Do you think it could be the stress my body is experiencing here at college that might give me problems with it? As in it doesn’t want to deal with it right now?

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

15 thoughts on “Shopping List Friday: College Edition

  1. I love all of your fresh foods! Also I congratulate you on having one of the best fruits ever… pineapple!! I love it ❤

  2. I love seeing what other people buy!!!!!
    Hmmmmm I would suggest focusing on rice and potatoes if you’re trying to avoid gluten. Seems there is plenty of options then 🙂
    Good luck with the Wellness Center – sounds like it would be a fun job to have 🙂

    • Thanks, Sandy! 🙂 There are definitely TONS of potatoes up here in Idaho, and they’re quite inexpensive. After having to go through a dozen LARGE ones (which I could only eat half at a time) on my own,I think I’m a little tired of potatoes right now…. But I’ll definitely make sure to incorporate variety in my diet. It’s a part of that balance I am striving for. 🙂

      ________________________________

  3. Congratulations on your interview; it sounds as though it went very well! Good luck with everything; I hope you are able to work with the participants and help them with nutritional advice. Wow, 18 bags of frozen veggies? That sounds fantastic! And you can never have too much peanut butter, in my opinion;) As for a lower-gluten diet, that is something I have been trying to experiment with for the last couple years or so. Though I absolutely LOVE bread, pasta, crackers, etc…, my stomach simply doesn’t seem to handle it very well. I still eat gluten occasionally, but try not to consume it too often–or my stomach will pay the price. It could possibly be the stress, but it’s hard to say for sure. If you do decide to lower your gluten consumption, just make sure you are getting enough carbohydrates in other ways: potatoes, rice, quinoa, oats, etc…Because I have found that if I don’t get enough carbohydrates during the day, I tend to get mad cravings for them in the evening. I know some people theorize that gluten intolerance is rising because the wheat we are growing now is either genetically modified or highly processed, and is of a completely different strain from the wheat that we consumed maybe 100 years ago. But it is difficult to know for sure! Luckily, there are many gluten-free products out there now–though some are more healthier than others. I know you can buy gluten-free flour blends, quinoa or rice-based pasta, and gluten-free crackers. Or you could always make your own as well. I hope that helps at least a little; I know it can be frustrating when your stomach doesn’t react well to a certain type of food that you love to eat.

    • Hey Kendra! 🙂 Thanks so much for your support and encouragement. It really means a lot to me. 🙂 I agree with how the processing and genetic modifications might be a reason more individuals are having issues with wheat and gluten. It’s just that I’ve been eating ALL whole grains (organic if possible, like the organic sprouted grain bread I have pictured in the fridge up above).I don’t get stomach aches, but my face has started breaking out again. I think I’ve connected it with eating higher amounts of gluten. I’m not sure yet, but that’s why I’m abstaining from it for a while just to see what happens. I want to see if I can handle a small amount and be okay, or if my body doesn’t like it. I know even natural things in unnatural amounts can be harmful. I KNOW it hasn’t been from milk — I check EVERYTHING for milk and I know that’s not the issue.I’m definitely not cutting out carbohydrates — since I’m eating a more vegetarian/vegan diet, my diet focuses on vegetables, fruits, whole grains, legumes and beans (including fortified soy-milk), and nuts — I just have to make sure I get sufficient amounts of protein (which isn’t very hard). It’s just the gluten that I’ve been having issues with. I have a lot of old-fashioned rolled oats, steel-cut oats, quinoa, and brown rice, so I’ve been relying on those instead of the wheat. I know I’m not perfect, but I’ve been working on listening to my body more and trying to discern its messages. I want to take care of it and nourish it the best I can, especially if it’s telling me something.

      ________________________________

  4. Great grocery selection! Apparently, cow’s milk intolerance often does go with gluten sensitivity…it certainly does with me. I’ve now also found that I can’t handle oats. Sigh. What’s next?

  5. I am trying to eat less grains, mostly because I find whenever I eat mixed grain products (aka more than one grain so like cereal and granola especially), I get a really upset stomach. However, I can eat whole wheat bread and not have a bad reaction to it, i can eat oatmeal. I don’t know what it is, but it seems to be whenever there is a mix of grains (i’ve tried figuring out which one, but I haven’t been able to).

    • That’s really interesting — Do you think you could buy a package of each grain and try them each separately for a little while and see if it’s an individual grain or a particular combination of them that bother you? I hope you can figure out what’s going on.

  6. These sorts of posts are so fun 🙂 It’s funny because I’ve just realized that I naturally eat a low gluten/ gluten free diet, but whenever being gluten free comes up in conversations I’m always like “woah, there’s no way I could ever do that!” Go figure..

    • Hahah, I agree. 🙂 I’ve found that I eat a lower-gluten diet when I make sure to eat a variety of grains anyways, so by doing what I should be doing anyways I can take care of myself. 🙂

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

