college · Health And Nutrition · My Life

Because of You, I Didn’t Give Up.

Yesterday morning I finished my last test. I am now officially done with my first semester of college.

So much has happened throughout these past 14 weeks. I’ve transitioned from living at home to living in a dorm, becoming independent and more responsible with money and time. Stress and hardships have turned me to the Lord and I feel even closer to Him from the fervent prayers and scripture studies I’ve engaged in. I’ve established a note-taking system and study-habit routine that helps me remember what I learn and apply it. I’ve discovered more about myself and can see that I’m capable of things I never thought I could do.

I know that this point was only possible through the Lord. His constant strength, guidance, support, and comfort have helped me get everything done and done well.

This next semester a lot of new things are ahead of me. I have the opportunity to volunteer at the Wellness Center, where I’ll manage two of their online-tracking fitness challenges (a 9-Week Challenge and a Lazy Man Iron Man) and work an hour a week in the Wellness Center itself, learning new skills and getting to know the directors and other managers. As for my classes, I’ll be taking Anatomy and Physiology and Nutrition in the Life Cycle, plus Biostastics, Developing World, and Religion. Since I’m getting my Bachelors in Health Promotions (and want to get my RD on top of that later on), I hope I can apply the things I’ve learned this semester and expound upon them for greater understanding.

I have absolutely ADORED my Nutrition class(es) this semester. I am so grateful for the knowledge I have acquired and for the opportunity to get to know and work with my Nutrition instructor, who has been a RD for 35 years and is about to finish her PhD. Her comments and acknowledgements mean the world to me, and my dream from the beginning of this semester has been to be able to work with her.

Because I have done really well in her class, I approached her a couple of weeks ago about possibly being a TA (teacher assistant) for her. When I asked her about it, she told me she had actually been hoping she could train me and would love to work with me; but, she had a TA coming back this next semester and could only hire so many. She told me she would see what she could do and let me know. 🙂

Last week I had the opportunity to go to a Dietetic Society Meeting where my Nutrition instructor spoke about getting into programs and what to expect. Afterwards I went up to her and asked her some questions I had on my mind. While we talked, I started crying – not sad tears though. I told her about my struggles in the past with orthrexia but I would never ask for that trial to have been taken away. It was hard, but I’m the person I am today because of it. I have learned so much about myself because of it. It has turned me to the Lord and made me rely more on Him, and truly, anything that turns us to the Lord is a blessing. She listened intently and told me she could tell that I had a love for Nutrition and that I had the discipline and persistence to get things done. She told me that she loved grading my work and tests and that I had a way with describing things that really get to the meat of the concept. (The happy tears started again.)
While talking with her, I KNEW I wanted to work with her.

This Tuesday she told me she found a way for me to TA for her this next semester.

I CAN’T STOP JUMPING FOR JOY! I AM SO EXCITED!!!!

I am so grateful for the chance I have to work with her this next semester, obtain nutritional skills, and receive on-the-job type experience and training from her.


I am so grateful for everything I have gone through to get to this point. It’s been a hard journey up, but now that I’m closer to the top than I was when I started I can see the potential and views starting to appear. Hopefully I can help others reach this point too.

I now have the next week and a half off. I’m cleaning my kitchen right now for out white-glove clean checks (I took a little break… but breaks can be refreshing and make the work go easier, and talking with you guys is always fun). So, after we finish clean checks and I get situated with my extended family for the weekend I’ll come back and share some fun, adventures, and deliciousness. ❤

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

10 thoughts on “Because of You, I Didn’t Give Up.

  1. Congratulations on being done with your first semester of college!! I am sure you were a fantastic student, and it sounds like you learned a lot of fascinating information. That is SO wonderful about being a TA next semester!! I am so happy for you; you definitely deserve this opportunity. Your nutrition instructor will be lucky to have such a hardworking, intelligent, and wonderful person as yourself assisting her. I am so glad you have enjoyed all your classes; so many people in college dislike it, and have trouble finding ANY classes they enjoy. But it sounds as though you are truly making the best of your time, and that all your hard work is paying off. Congratulations again, and I hope you have a lovely weekend!

    1. Oh my gosh, Kendra — your comment made me cry with gratitude. Thanks so much for always being there for me — your kind and caring words really made my day today. I’m really grateful for the chance I have to work with my Nutrition instructor. I feel so honored that she would want me and would go so out of her way to do that for me. I hope you are doing well. You are always so vibrant and happy wherever you go — it’s quite contagious. 🙂

      ________________________________

    1. Thanks, Sandy! I’m really excited for the chance I have to work with her. My life will probably be even busier this next semester, but I’ll have a lot of fun along the way. 🙂

      ________________________________

Comments

