baking · chocolate · college · Goodies · My Life · vegan

(Vegan) Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread Muffins

Hey My Scrumptious Chocolate Chips!

I can’t believe that my classes start in 3 days!!!! I’m really excited to meet my new instructors and to work with my Nutrition instructor. I’ve enjoyed the rest I’ve had this last week, but I think having nothing to do is starting to get to me… I compiled a list of things I wanted to do before this next week, and once I completed them I’ve just been trying to fill my time with things that uplift and are beneficial. I’m really excited that my new roommates are here and that I can start getting to know them this weekend.

One thing I’ve realized while I’ve been here at college is that I don’t have a lot of time for baking. My roommates bake ALL of the time, but I don’t have the ingredients to bake. I’m starting to collect some, but not enough yet… Because of that, here’s a recipe I love that I made back at home before I left!


My (Vegan) Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread Muffins!


In a large bowl, measure out the flour, flax, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.


Combine until homogeneous.


Combine the tofu, oil, sugar, and vanilla (either in the blender or a large bowl).


I like to use my BlendTec to make it perfectly smooth, but you can also use a whisk or hand mixer — breaking down the tofu is the main concern. (Gosh I miss my BlendTec…)


Shred the zucchini. (Leave the peel on – it adds lots of nutrients, fiber, and gives a nice color.)


Make a “well” in the center of the flour-mixture and pour the wet mixture into it. (You can also just add the dry to the wet, as the picture above shows, but I prefer adding the wet to the dry.)

Stir it all in until all the flour is incorporated (don’t overmix).


Add the chocolate chips and zucchini to the batter…


…and fold them in gently. (Again, being careful to not overmix.)


Scoop the batter into lined muffin trays, and bake at 325*F for about 20-30 minutes, or until the center is firm and bounces back when lightly pressed or if a toothpick inserted comes out clean.


Let them cool for a few minutes in the trays, and then transfer them to a wire rack. Peel off the wrapper and dig-in!


(Vegan) Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cup silken soft tofu
  • ¼ cup oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 ¾ cup whole-wheat flour
  • ¼ cup ground flax
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 ½ cup shredded or grated zucchini (about 2 medium)
  • 1 cup mini dairy-free chocolate chips

Directions

In a large bowl, stir together the flour, flax, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Combine the tofu, oil, sugar, and vanilla (either in the blender or a large bowl). I like to use my BlendTec to make it perfectly smooth, but you can also use a whisk or hand mixer — breaking down the tofu is the main concern.

Shred the zucchini. (Leave the peel on – it adds lots of nutrients, fiber, and gives a nice color.)

Make a “well” in the center of the flour-mixture and pour the wet mixture into it. (You can also just add the dry to the wet, as the picture above shows, but I prefer adding the wet to the dry.) Stir it all in until all the flour is incorporated (don’t overmix). Add the chocolate chips and zucchini to the batter and fold them in gently. (Again, being careful to not overmix.)

Scoop the batter into lined muffin trays, and bake at 325*F for about 20-30 minutes, or until the center is firm and bounces back when lightly pressed or if a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let them cool for a few minutes in the trays, and then transfer them to a wire rack. Peel off the wrapper and dig-in!

Print This!


These freeze really well too – I love making a batch, keeping a couple out, and then freezing the rest. I can then pull out how many I need and keep the rest for deliciousness later!

P.S. Here’s a sneak peak at some recipes coming soon: Slow Cooker Vegetarian Stuffed Bell Peppers, Brown Rice Pudding, Carob Chip Banana Oatmeal Muffins, Lentil Veggie Burgers, and Copy-Cat Great Harvest Honey Wheat Bread.

………………………………………………………………………………

One of my roommates invited me to go out to dinner with them, so I got to go! I hope you have a wonderful Friday! 😀

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

20 thoughts on “(Vegan) Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread Muffins

    1. Hey Sami! 🙂 You can use eggs, applesauce, or other fruit puree in place of the tofu. The recipe is super adaptable. 🙂

      ________________________________

    1. Thanks, Rach! 🙂 One thing I love about tofu is that I can sneak it into baked goods and my family doesn’t even know! ;)

      ________________________________

  1. Hey there Kat! How have you been?! I was just over visiting Sunnie and saw you had commented so I thought I’d pop on over! You look great sweetie! I love the pic you’ve got up…you always did have a beautiful smile! 😀

    Love the look of these muffins! I’ve always wanted to try baking with tofu! What a great way to boost the protein…and I bet it makes them really good and moi- um, not dry? 😉 Lol

    Good luck in your coming classes! I gotta say, I give your roommates mad props for baking…I NEVER had the time to do such things when I was in college! Ugh…that’s what I get for working full time!

    1. Hey Heather! Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond. I’ve been doing alright; my semester sped up and my life got very busy. Ha-ha, yes, the tofu works beautifully in these muffins. You can’t even notice it in them, which is my favorite part. I love being a sneaky chef. 😉 I didn’t have a lot of time to bake during the semester either. Near the end I got a little time, which was very nice. I had missed it.

      You are always so kind to me. Thanks so much for your gorgeous smile — it always makes my day brighter. 🙂

      You still making pancakes on Sundays? 😉

      1. Aww, you are TOO sweet! Thank you! Sadly, I’m on a bit of a pancake hiatus right now…I think I burnt myself out on them earlier in the year since I was popping out new recipes each and every week…which basically equates to me eating pancakes like every.single.day…ugh. Haha! Hopefully, I’ll find my pancake love again one day but for now, I have to say yogurt bowls and oats are still tasting pretty good! 😉

        1. He-he, I totally understand. 🙂 Oats and Yogurt bowls are definitely delicious options too. Oats especially — they’re a regular morning greeter for me most days, with peanut buttah all melted on top and cinnamon and vanilla creamed throughout it. <3

          ________________________________

  2. I made this recipe with my daughter. She and my other daughter loved it! Super moist and just sweet enough. Thank you!!!

Comments

