It’s okay not to be perfect.









One thing I have learned from my experience with orthrexia – something that was hard for me to accept at first but have now found true – is that a little unbalance balances out the balance. Having a totally stress-free life isn’t ideal because it doesn’t challenge you and help you grow, but not dealing with stress appropriately and letting it take over can really wear you down too. A part of living healthfully is having the right perspective.

I won’t ever be perfect in this life. I can’t. Without my Savior and Redeemer, I am nothing. But to Him, I am everything. I know that He can work miracles in individuals – He’s done that in me. Without His loving guidance and strength, I don’t know where I would be right now. I know that He lives and that He is aware of each of our circumstances. He knows us each by name. He wants to bless us and He will as we turn to Him in faith and humility.

Living up at college has definitely not been stress-free, but I’ve loved every minute of it. Sometimes it’s hard, but my friends and family have really helped me through it. They were there for me when my friend left to serve a mission for our church to share his testimony of Jesus Christ (it was hard since I wouldn’t see him for over 2 years, but I knew the Lord would watch over him). They were there for me when I passed out a few weeks ago (that’s a story in itself). They were there for me on those days where I didn’t know how I would get everything done. They helped remind me that everything will be okay.

I love interacting with my Nutrition teachers and learning from them. My Nutrition instructor from this last semester has truly helped me realize my potential and helped me find the direction I want to go. I’m grateful to have someone I can go talk with whatever the circumstance. I love talking with her and learning from her more about the chemistry associated with nutrition – probably why I’m excited to take the Nutrient Metabolism class from her in the winter.

This weekend I am volunteering at the Wellness Center, Tutoring for Chemistry and Nutrition (I absolutely LOVE tutoring – it’s not “work” for me; I enjoy it, so it’s just a fun time I get to have sharing the things I’ve learn and helping other succeed in their studies), and a date this afternoon with a young man – I think we’re going to fly kites or do miniature golf. I’m not sure. This next week I have a muscle test; I’ve been doing okay with the cadavers – I say a prayer before I go in to ask the Lord to help me through it. They have given their bodies for science, so I’d better learn everything I can from them to appreciate what they’ve done. In my Nutrition class we just finished up nutrition in the toddler to young child age group. I’m working on my case study presentation right now and hope to organize and establish its foundational framework within the next couple days.

I have 3 more weeks of the semester, and then I’ll be back with some more fun and deliciousness! I have about 2 weeks in between the end of the semester and my trip across the east-coast (which will last about 2 ½ weeks – I don’t know if I’ll have access to the internet during that time), so I’ll be able to get back on, catch up with what’s been going on in your lives, and share with you some of my adventures and recent yumminess. I have Quinoa with Oats, GH-Inspired Honey Whole Wheat Bread (I kneaded it by hand and it turned out beautiful!), Carob Chip Banana Oatmeal Muffins, Oven Baked French Fries, Easy Lentil Soup, and a simple Split Pea Soup (I’ve made countless times now and my roommates ADORE it) to share with you, so expect some deliciousness coming your way soon.

with lots of hugs,

Kathleen

 

6 thoughts on “It’s okay not to be perfect.

  1. Reminding myself that “it’s OK not to be perfect” is something that I have needed to hear very badly these last couple of weeks. It was partially due to my perfectionism that led to me developing a case of orthorexia all those years ago, so I am still trying to overcome it day by day. I am so glad that you have been enjoying college so far, and have had such a wonderful experience with your Nutrition teachers. I am sure they feel lucky to have such an intelligent, kind, and hardworking student as yourself! I hope your date went well; both kite flying and miniature golf sound like a lot of fun. I have missed reading your posts, and am looking forward to all those delicious sounding recipes! Good luck with the rest of the semester!

    • The perfectionism in me was also the thing that led me to developing orthrexia. (I never reached the “exia” part of it thank goodness, but I was on the road towards it.) Remembering that it’s okay not to be “perfectly” healthy helps me stay focused on what matters most. And who says what I was viewing as “healthy” was “perfect”? Science is learning more and more each day and figuring out things in better detail. By just focusing on fueling my body with healthful nutrients most of the time (with a treat once in a while to balance it all out) I feel the best, my body functions at its best, and I feel more peace in my life. Finding balance with myself is a journey I’ll be embarking on for the rest of my life, but health and happiness can be part of it along the way. ❤

      ________________________________

  2. Great post! I just want to say I always love reading your blog and really admire what a positive attitude you have towards life – don’t ever lose that! P,S, I will be looking forward to your new recipes! 🙂

  3. I had no idea what orthrexia was. I had to go look it up. How interesting, I am surprised that it isnt more widely known. You sound like a strong and spiritual person. You are going to come out strong in this life. I think you have a lot to offer the world with everything you have been through. I’d be more interested to learn about the disorder. I’ve learned something new today. thank you

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

