Coolest Shaved Ice Truck EVER! + Wisdom Teeth

This past week you could catch me:

Baking cupcakes, cookies, and bread.


I made these into the shape of a wedding dress.


And mini rainbow-colored cupcakes. They were so adorable!


I also made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars, along with my sister’s request of “Pink Cookies.”


But my favorite one has been my Great-Harvest-Inspired Honey Whole Wheat Bread. And yes, it tastes just like it but costs a lot less. Perfect for this money-pinching time in society. Don’t worry, I’m working on the post right now. 😉


Seeing cool shaved ice trucks! Earlier this week my sister heard Jamaican music outside, ran to the window and spied this shaved ice truck driving around our neighborhood!


Excited, she hurriedly called me from upstairs to come and see the new truck in our neighborhood. When I got downstairs, I couldn’t believe my eyes! It was a paradise on wheels, playing Jamaican jamborees and serving colorful ices! It was legit! Simply the coolest shaved truck EVER! 😀

Painting notebooks.


Shopping at thrift stores. I got 14 new skirts and 1 blouse for only $70!!! Gosh I love thrift stores. ❤


And I found the Keira Knightley version of Pride and Prejudice at Target for only $5.

I HAD to get it. I ❤ Darcy. 

And getting stuff done that has to happen whether I want to or not… I went to the oral surgery center at the military AFB Monday morning for a wisdom teeth evaluation. They took me right in, got some x-rays, explained the process, and scheduled me to have all my wisdom teeth removed on the 28th, this coming Monday!


We went to the grocery store yesterday and picked up a couple of things for next week after my surgery. Right now I have organic soy-milk, almond milk, green smoothies, water, broth, soy yogurt, butternut squash soup, and applesauce. I’m guessing I’ll be living on a lot of liquids next week, with more creamy stuff later in the week or the week after. I’ll see how I feel after the procedure next week.

Any tips for when I have my wisdom teeth removed? Anything I should know before the procedure Monday morning?

I could use with all the help I could get… I don’t do well with needles or surgical stuff… And they’ll be giving me an I.V. and a pill to make me less aware of what is going on… Mine are all still underneath my gums and haven’t erupted at all, so I don’t know how long the surgeon will take doing it. I know I can’t use straws and have to use a lot of mouth wash since I can’t brush my teeth until the gums heal. I don’t know a lot other than that.

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

21 thoughts on “Coolest Shaved Ice Truck EVER! + Wisdom Teeth

  1. Good luck on Monday. son had his out couple of years ago and did great. Only pain med was prior to bedtime first night. I think he was 20ish. Maybe soph in college. Can’t wait for bread and all other looks delish as always. Just chill this weekend and focus on healing in the next week or so

  2. Stress less hun, You’ll be just fine in no time! I had mine out a few years ago no dramas, just take the painkillers as you need them and anti inflammatory drugs and rest up. My stitches fell out so quickly I was worried something was wrong but apparently I just healed in a day or so, fingers crossed you’re the same. I had miso soup while I was recovering, didn’t really have an appetite for much and pretty much slept it off- I highly recommend it 🙂
    I know it’s hard but try to relax. oh and check your face before you leave the hospital, no one thought to tell me I had the remainder of a blood nose on mine haha!

    • Thanks, Claire. 🙂 I just get anxious when it comes to needles and scapulae — one reason I didn’t become a doctor. Thankfully one of the ladies sat by me and help my hand, rubbing my arm and calming me down, keeping me from breathing too quickly. It really helped to have her there. After the I.V. was in I don’t really remember much of it, which to me is a blessing. I just remember them finishing it up really. I’ve been having pureed split pea soup, banana soft serve (thawed a little first), green smoothies, and I may try some soy yogurt and butternut squash soup later depending on how I feel. I didn’t have much of an appetite yesterday, but today I seem to be feeling better and in less pain when I swallow. And I can feel my chin, which I couldn’t yesterday after the procedure. It started feeling tingling yesterday afternoon and evening, and now I have full feeling of it. (Probably why my jaw hurts a little more today.)

      Thanks again, Claire. 🙂

  3. Those cupcakes are beautiful!

    Also, I had a *great* experience getting my wisdom teeth out. The drugs they give you are *strong* and I didn’t feel anything. I ate vegan milkshakes on the couch the rest of the day, and was back to normal the day after! Good luck!

  4. I love those cupcakes in the shape of a wedding dress! What a creative idea! I also love Pride and Prejudice! i grew up on the BBC version, but I like them both. 🙂 And good luck with the wisdom teeth! I had a terrible experience, but hopefully yours will be MUCH better! I had several friends who had a easy time with the wisdom teeth removal so hopefully you will too!

  5. All those treats look delicious! I am looking forward to the recipe for the Great Harvest-inspired bread; I love all the delicious food from Great Harvest, but I was disappointed when I learned that many of their products (at least at the store near us) use high-fructose corn syrup–why must they do that?? But I am sure your version uses a better sweetener:) Thrift stores certainly are fantastic; even though I dislike shopping for clothes, I usually choose to look for clothes at thrift stores, since at least they are much cheaper! I have never watched Pride and Prejudice, but I did read the book. It wasn’t my favorite novel, since I found it rather boring and dull, but that is just my opinion. As for your wisdom teeth, I got two of mine removed last year, and the entire recovery process went fairly smoothly. I was put under for the procedure, so I don’t remember any of it, but when I woke up, my mouth was puffy and numb. I had to eat just soft food for several days afterward, and was instructed not to do much physical activity (which I HATED!!). There were a few times when I would wake up in the middle of the night with terrible pain in my mouth, but it was generally bearable during the day with the help of Ibuprofen and cold packs. I didn’t get any dry sockets, which was a plus, and I didn’t say anything weird while under the influence of the anesthesia;) I am sure you will be just fine, as long as you follow your oral surgeon’s instructions. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    • Yeah, quite a few of their breads have high fructose corn syrup in them. Others have milk, which limit the ones I can try. But this one doesn’t have any of those discrete ingredients in it — just 5 simple, whole ingredients which equal one delicious treat. I’ve also made a version of their Pumpkin Chocolate Chip bread if you’d like to try it out. 🙂 I LOVE thrift stores! Almost my entire wardrobe is from there, with a few exceptions from Target and Ross. I love all the treasures I can find there. REALLY nicely made clothing (even tailored with the price tags on them!) that doesn’t cost me my whole wallet. (So I can get more for less.) Good for the environment too. You do have to look through a lot of things, but you can find those really nice pieces that have amazing quality. 🙂 Ugh, I’m not looking forward to not being able to workout either… I hope I heal quickly or I won’t be able to stand sitting around all day — I get antsy pretty quickly! But I’ll obey my surgeon whether I want to or not. I don’t want to have the healing process to take even longer because I decided to workout when he told me not to… Thanks for the encouragement, Kendra. 🙂

  6. Your wisdom teeth surgery is tomorrow! Eep. Best of luck 🙂 I had mine taken out during high school over the summer which was nice so I didn’t have to miss school, but not so much fun to start off summer break. I’m sure it will go great though! My teeth hadn’t broken the gums yet either and they came out just fine.

    I actually had a pretty easy time compared to most I think. That afternoon after my surgery I went grocery shopping with my mom. I’m pretty sure not taking the Vicodin allowed me to do that 😉 Alternating between ice and heat every 15/20 minutes was also really helpful with the bruising of my face, although it still turned a quite ugly shade and I had a block head for two weeks.

    I think my main food was banana ice cream and cauliflower “mashed potatoes” during the days after my surgery. Oatmeal was also consumed in large amounts when I was able. Haha. My favorite snack during that time was yogurt mixed with peanut butter. Great for protein and with a little sweetener or protein powder added it was quite delicious and filling!

    Oh my-baking! Cupcakes galore. I remember when I made your bread awhile back. It was so delicious! Do you still make it in the tomato puree cans? That was so fun!

    Thrift store shopping is the best! I spent about 60 dollars this fall on 20 or 30 “new” things. It’s so satisfying!

    Once again, good luck on your surgery! I’m looking forward to your new posts 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Madison. 🙂 What do you mean by a block-head? As in the swelling? My parents said I’m doing alright since I started talking a good amount that evening. I didn’t go grocery shopping right afterwards, but I was painting and having a lot of fun on Pinterest. 😉 I have some stiffness and a little swelling that developed last night, but other than that a little little pain in my jaw and when I swallow I’m doing okay.

      Yes, I still make bread in the cans — that’s usually how I do it, but since this is a different recipe for bread I wanted to bake it in a different way to distinguish them. Both are delicious though. Many MANY thumbs up from my family. 🙂 Hmmm, I’ve actually never tried peanut butter on yogurt — where have I been?! I made some banana soft serve last night and a green smoothie this morning — the chilliness of them seem to help numb the pain a little, which is nice, especially since they taste good too. 🙂

      Ooohhh, fun! I love shopping at thrift stores! I actually find that they have better quality I can find for a cheaper price — it just can’t be beat at other stores. Definitely where I like going for new school clothes.

      Thanks for your encouraging words, Madison — they’ve really helped me this week. 🙂

      • Yes! That’s what I meant 😀 My head was so swollen it looked like a block. Gorgeous to imagine, right? 😉

        I feel the same way with thrift store shopping. My closet is filled with so many higher quality brands that I would never have been able to afford if it weren’t for buying them used. Some of my friends bawk at thrifty shopping… I *thrive* on it 🙂

        It’s good to hear that your surgery went alright and that you are feeling okay! I hope to see a new blog post from you soon (maybe for that bread recipe?? 🙂 ) or just an update on your wisdom teeth!

        Happy daylight savings time!! Haha.

        • Ha-ha, yes, quite gorgeous. 😉 I’m glad it’s over and I don’t have to worry about them anymore. 🙂

          Thanks so much for all of your encouragement, Madison. It’s really helped me get through this and keep a smile on my face! 🙂

    • Thanks, Sandy. 🙂 I’m doing alright right now. The surgery went smoothly yesterday other than a sore throat, some stiffness, and a little pain I’m doing okay. Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

