My Life

Wisdom Teeth Update

Thank you so much for all of your sweet comments full of support and love these past week. My wisdom teeth procedure went very well, considering my phobia of needles… It’s been a long week for me. The healing process has taken all the energy out of my, but at least I don’t have much pain anymore and the swelling in my jaw has reduced substantially – I can barely notice it now unless I look for it. I had my first non-pureed meal yesterday (the little victories in life), but it will be a while before I can eat comfortably with the left side of my mouth. I can’t open my mouth all the way yet, but hopefully the lavender essential oil I’ve been using (with jojoba oil as a carrier oil) will help. Sleep has worked wonders as well – each morning after a good night’s rest the swelling reduces even more and I have more energy.

So, what are some of the things I ate this week? With the inability to chew anything (because of the swelling and pain), I had to get creative with my meal this week, since I was limited in the things I could eat. Here are a few of the things I came up with!


Peanut Butter and Jelly In a Bowl – 1 serving cream of wheat cooked with organic vanilla soymilk and dash of cinnamon, topped with peanut butter and my homemade strawberry jam. This is deadly. It tastes just like a peanut butter sandwich but better! ❤


Single Serving Pumpkin Pie Filling (Ingredients: 1/2 can pure pumpkin purée, dash of cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg, splash of vanilla soy milk, and sweetener to taste; mixed together and heated for 60 seconds in the microwave.)


Green Smoothies (organic vanilla soymilk, apple, kale, spinach, cinnamon).


Strawberry Cream of Wheat (recipe soon to come)


Homemade Split Pea Soup (this is one of my absolute favorites, and it’s SUPER easy! Recipe soon to come also!)

I am so grateful to my Father in Heaven for helping me this week. It was not a pleasant experience at all, but I am so grateful for the Lord’s loving and caring grace before, during, and after the procedure, helping me, holding me, comforting me, and reassuring me that everything would work out. To me this has been a miracle in my life. I am so grateful for the tender mercies of the Lord – for His love for each of His children, how He is aware of each of our individual needs and will help us get through the trials in our lives, no matter how big or small they seem.

And, as promised, I’ll be sharing my homemade Great Harvest Honey Whole Wheat Bread recipe next!

Thank you guys so much! And thank you to my friends and family who have been there for me and helped me get through this. You are a blessing in my life. ❤

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

8 thoughts on “Wisdom Teeth Update

  1. I’m loving your peanut butter and jelly in the bowl. That sounds amazing! Cream of wheat was a favorite breakfast of mine growing up 🙂

    That makes me happy to hear that your mouth is feeling better.

    You just whipped out the posts today, didn’t you? 😉 Going to check out the bread recipe now!

  2. I’m so glad to hear sleep worked well for you too! 🙂
    I knew you’d be ok finding things to eat, the pumpkin pie filling sounds great, I’ll be sure to give it a go next time I get pumpkin.
    Hope you’re feeling all brand new in no time xxx

  3. I remember my wisdom teeth experience and it isn’t pleasant! Glad you are starting to feel better and eating solid food! At least they are gone now, and you will never go through that again. Take care of yourself! The foods you ate actually look very good! I ate jello and pudding, oh, and mashed potatoes.

  4. Glad to hear you are feeling better. I remember having all four of my impacted wisdom removed when I was younger. I was so swollen my face was a perfect circle! I am looking for “healthy” Christmas cookie recipes to do with my two children (5y and 3y). Nothing too complicated. Something fun and not too full of butter and sugar. Thanks Dorene

    1. Mine was so weird — only one side of my face got really swollen, so I looked lopsided. Ha-ha. 😉 What kind of cookies are you looking for? Cookies to decorate with your kids? Cookies just by themselves? Cupcakes to decorate?

Comments

