college · My Life · vegan · vegetarian

Easy-Peasy Split Pea Soup

While up in Idaho, I had the chance to play around with my crock-pot. (Adding amounts of ingredients by the smell of the dish, I felt just like Ratatouille! ;))

I like recipes that taste fantastic with simple ingredient lists.

This is that kind of recipe.

What is it?


My Easy-Peasy Split Pea Soup!


Chop the onion and slice the carrots into coin medallions.


Clean and sort the split peas, and add them to the crock-pot followed by the chopped onion and sliced carrots.


Add the chili powder, salt, and pepper.


Followed by the water and broth.


Place on the lid and cook on high for 5-6 hours, or until the split peas are soft and smooth.


Just as a note, after the 5-6 hours the peas will have sank to the bottom, but all you need to do it stir is up…


And it will look as gorgeous as ever. 🙂


Let it cool slightly, ladle yourself out a bowl and dig in!


Easy-Peasy Split Pea Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 large carrots, sliced into coin medallions
  • ½ cup chopped onion
  • 2 (16 oz.) bags dry split peas
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste*
  • 8 cups water
  • 2 (15 oz.) cans low sodium broth, vegetable or chicken

Directions

  1. Chop the onion and slice the carrots into coin medallions. Clean and sort the split peas, and add them to the crock-pot followed by the chopped onion and sliced carrots. Add the chili powder, salt, and pepper, followed by the water and broth.
  2. Place on the lid and cook on high for 5-6 hours, or until the split peas are soft and smooth. (Just as a note, after the 5-6 hours the peas will have sank to the bottom, but all you need to do it stir is up and it will look as gorgeous as ever.)
  3. Let it cool slightly, ladle yourself out a bowl and dig in! This makes about 3 quarts (12 cups) of yummiliciousness!

Note: *Add more or less salt and pepper as you desire. For reference, I usually use 2 tbsp. salt and ¼ tsp ground black pepper, but start with less and add little increments until you reach your desired taste.

Print This Recipe! 

This is deadly. Everyone I have shared this with have BEGGED for more. My roommates last semester LOVED it. My family adores it. And I love how it made my week after wisdom teeth much more pleasant and delicious. ❤ As with most soups, I always feel it tastes even better the day after. I hope you enjoy this as much as I do!

with lots of hugs,

Kathleen

8 thoughts on “Easy-Peasy Split Pea Soup

    1. Thanks, Rach. 🙂 Slow cookers are one of my favorite kitchen appliances. She saves me so much time, especially up at college. That, and my BlendTec. I can’t forget him. 😉

Comments

