My Life · vegan · vegetarian

Kale and Mushroom Sauté

Hey my Gorgeous Snowflakes!

There is great discussion going on over at my post on if Barbie is an ideal role model or not. If you haven’t checked it out yet I’d highly recommend it. I love the different points of views people are sharing on the subject.

This Christmas season I’ve not only been wearing burgundy and a little green, but I’ve been trying to eat lots of reds and greens. With that in mind, here’s one of my favorite green recipes.


A Kale and Mushrooms Sauté. ❤


Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add kale, and drizzle with olive/coconut oil (or if you’re lazy like me, use a nonstick spray version of olive oil).


Slice mushrooms.


Add mushrooms, and sauté until mushrooms and kale are softened. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve immediately.


Kale and Mushroom Sauté

  • 4 cups fresh kale
  • 5-6 raw mushroom
  • Olive oil or coconut oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add kale, and drizzle with olive/coconut oil (or if you’re lazy like me, use a nonstick spray version of olive oil). Slice mushrooms, add them to the skillet, and sauté until both mushrooms and kale are softened. Serve immediately. Serves one hungry Kat.

Print This Recipe

What’s your favorite Christmas song?

I like the Carol of the Bells. I also love the Grinch’s theme song from “How the Grinch Stole Christmas.” I had a thing for villains when I was a child. 😉 (Don’t worry, since then I’ve converted to the good side. For the most part. When it comes to chocolate, it’s still the dark side all the way.)

With lots of stars,

Kathleen

9 thoughts on “Kale and Mushroom Sauté

  1. Yum! Coconut oil has been a godsend to my kitchen! I use it so much that I’m finding myself at Costco every couple of weeks to stock up on their super cheap gigantic jars! 🙂 Also, incase you haven’t noticed, I am LOVING your “modest fashion” pinterest board! Pretty soon, I think I’ll have pinned all of the outfits you have! haha.
    xo.

    1. Thanks, Madison. 🙂 Yeah, I agree – the Grinch is not a nice guy at ALL. He’s so mean and hardhearted. But his song is amazing. I love the descriptions they come up for him; very interesting to listen to and try to picture.

      I’ve been in a veggie-like mood lately. 😉 You’ve been having a ton of fun baking with allergy-free foods as well! I’m always impressed with the things you make. I’m hoping to get some coconut flour from Amazon within the next week. (Ha-ha, I always check Amazon before I buy anything in stores… “Amazon” has become a verb in my vocabulary. Let’s Amazon it! Just like “Google,” “Pin,” “Facebooked,” etc.) My parents signed up for Amazon Prime, so certain things only take 2 days to be shipped to my front door. It’s so nice. Life would be tough without Amazon.

        1. I’m the same way. I love baking things even if I can’t eat them.I love artsy-crafty kinds of things, and decorating cookies and cupcakes is one of my favorite forms of “crafts.” (I also love decorating notebooks, sketching, coloring, scrap-booking, etc.) I’ve never been a cake-kind-of-person though. Even if I make a cake and ice cream I can eat, I’ve always enjoyed having the “ice-cream” more. I can eat a huge bowl of the “ice cream” (I like homemade banana soft serve the best), but the cake — I just don’t like it as much. Maybe it’s the texture… Idk. I’ll eat it once in a while, but I’d rather eat something I enjoy. I know other people are different than me (like my sister), but that’s what I love about diversity — we all balance each other out! We make a great team. 😉

    2. Oh, and yes! I love coconut oil as well! I’ll have to look at Costco and see if I can find the big jar of coconut oil you are talking about. It would definitely save me a lot of money. 😉

  2. You’ve posted two great vegetable recipes in the past few days!

    While I’m not a huge fan of the Grinch (It’s such a good story and everything, but my heart just breaks when he’s SO mean in the beginning!) the theme song is amazing. It’s so catchy and it just makes me want to do a jazz dance 😉 Lol.

Comments

