My Life

Easy Vegetarian Chili

Hey My Spicy Chili Peppers!

This past semester, I experienced multiple days where I would get home after a long day on campus with no desire to cook. This recipe saved me more than once. In just a few minutes in the morning before I left for the day of classes, TA-ing, and tutoring, I could throw together this chili, have it simmer on low throughout the day, and come home to the amazing smell and taste of a home cooked meal. Its comforting aroma and flavor remind me of the Sunday dinners I would have with my family.

Here’s the recipe!

Easy Vegetarian Chili

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 red bell peppers, de-seeded, cleaned and chopped
  • 2 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 (15-oz) cans beans (kidney, pinto, black, chickpea), drained and rinsed
  • 2 (14.5-oz) cans diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • Salt to taste

Directions

Sauté chopped onion, red bell peppers, and garlic in a large saucepan until caramelized. Add to crockpot, followed by beans, diced tomatoes, ground cumin, chili powder, and salt to taste. Cook on high for 3-4 hours, or on low for 6-8 hours, or until flavors merge. Serves 6-8.

Notes: Use a little coconut oil to sauté onion, peppers, and garlic if desired. Add ½ – 1 cup water if you like more sauce with your chili. If using dry beans, soak 2 cups worth of dried beans in hot water two nights in advance. Prepare beans in crock-pot or on the stove-top until soft the following day. Drain, rinse, and store for use later.

Print This!

This is a super easy recipe resulting in a super delicious meal, especially as leftovers. 🙂

…………………………………………………………………………

What are your favorite kinds of beans? Garbanzo beans (chick peas) are my personal favorite, especially made into hummus.

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

3 thoughts on “Easy Vegetarian Chili

  1. Your vegetarian chili recipe sounds interesting. Might try this at home. It’s good to know that you use healthy and easy to find ingredients. I love black beans, my favorite.

Comments

