I’m Back!

Hi everyone!

How have you been? A lot has happened these past two years. I am grateful for the families I met, served, and loved for 18 months while on my mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Serving 24/7 changed me for the better. I learned a lot about myself, and also learned Spanish. (Es cierto. Español es el idioma de los cielos. Me encanta hablarlo.)

I returned home the end of February, and a few weeks afterwards went up to school to continue my studies. Life is so different than what it was two years ago. This last semester (accompanied with lots of prayer), I decided that I didn’t want to be a physician assistant. I don’t want to give more medications to individuals — I want to help them live happier and healthier through good nutrition, exercise, sleep, and stress management. And while taking my biology class, I felt a huge love for all of it. I want to be a dietitian and gain a further science foundation to then be able to teach others. (Maybe even someday be a nutrition professor.)

These past few weeks I’ve been spending my school break with my family. I’ve been doing a lot of baking. I made homemade bread with my mom. (Homemade bread is to die for!) We use our homemade jam on top.

img_1155

I also made rolls using my homemade bread recipe, just rolling them into golf-ball size balls of dough, letting hem ride until doubled, and baking them for about 20 minutes at 350F. Those went quick!

img_1157

While serving among the Latin culture, I learned to make homemade beans, tortillas, guacamole, salsa verde, etc! These will be recipes soon to come.

I go back up to school in a couple of weeks. I’m excited to take Nutritional Biochemistry, Program Planning, and Intro to Dietetics this semester. I will continue working as a class mentor and teacher assistant in the Nutrition Department. (I love learning from and working with my nutrition professors.) I will also be working at the Wellness Center and helping out with the Nutrition consultations.

image

I’m now a senior and will earn my bachelor degree in Health Promotions this next year. I’m planning to take the CHES exam this next October and then go on to graduate school and study dietetics. I’m excited for the journey that lies ahead: the inside life of a health promotion student.

2 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. Glad you’re back. What you did while you were gone is amazing to me. Thank you and have a great senior year. Looking forward to hear how senior year is going. Bless you

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

