Homemade Refried Beans

I am converted.

I can never go back. 

Canned refried beans, I’m sorry. 

We must break up forever.

Best refried beans ever! 

Simple ingredients.

High in protein and fiber.

Easy preparation.

No fancy equipment required. 

Here it is.

img_1193-1

Add onion, garlic, and oil to a skillet heated on medium heat. Saute until caramelized in color.

Add beans and liquid to the skillet. Begin mashing with a potato masher. (If you don’t have one, the back of a cooking ladle/spoon will work as well.)

Add salt, cumin, and paprika. Continue to mash.

Mash until all the beans are uniform. It usually takes me about 10-20 minutes (depending on how soft the beans are.)

The beans thicken up as they cool down (as the fiber in the beans will continue to soak up some of the liquid).

Serve with your favorite tacos, chips, rice, or guacamole!

Kat’s Homemade Refried Beans

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, crushed or minced
  • Oil to coat pan
  • 6 cups cooked pinto beans
  • 2 cups liquid*
  • 1-2 tsp of salt (to taste)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp paprika or chili powder

Makes about 7 cups total. 

Directions

Prepare pinto beans. (I will do another post on how I prepare beans up here at college.)

Saute onion with garlic in a pan with a little oil (about 1-2 tbsp.). I like to use either coconut oil or canola oil.

Add beans, liquid, salt, cumin, and paprika. Mash with a potato masher over medium-low heat until smooth and uniform. (If you don’t have one, the back of a cooking ladle/spoon will work as well.) It usually takes me about 10-20 minutes, depending on how soft the beans are. I like mine a little chunky.

Serve with your favorite tacos, chips, rice, or guacamole!

Notes

*I use the liquid from the beans cooking. You can also use broth, water, or even the liquid from the cans if using canned beans.

**I started with 2 cups dried and cooked them in my crock-pot. If you are short on time, you can use three to four 15-oz cans of prepared beans.

***If you have a powerful blender, you can even blend up the beans instead of mashing them to save time.

Print This Recipe

You can easily make a half of a batch. I like to cook a big bath of beans and freeze the extras to have on hand when I want to make another batch; it helps cut down on time in the kitchen (which is a blessing as a college student). 

img_1193-1

What is your favorite dish with refried beans?

One thought on “Homemade Refried Beans

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

