Health And Nutrition · My Life · RDN

What led me to where I am now?

Little did I know that one decision would change my entire life.

As a new freshman, barely entering college, I felt impressed to take a nutrition class with a particular teacher. I did so, and that started a lifelong friendship. I began working with her the next year as her teacher assistant, and throughout the past few years I have taught with her, reached out to and helped empower the students to find success in their study and application of nutrition, and have worked as a team with other in-class teacher assistants for the other sections of nutrition taught and have helped troubleshoot the challenges we encounter.

Through my experiences working with the professors in the on-campus Nutrition department, I have witnessed their love for their families as well as for their students. They care for the one and take the time to help them succeed. I also came to understand what I want to do with my career. Through my studies, I have had the privilege to help develop class worksheets and teaching materials to help students apply principles to help others through nutrition. Throughout my classes this past year, I have recognized a love for learning. Nutritional biochemistry has been one of my favorite classes so far. Human physiology fascinates me! I also survived my first Organic Chemistry class and fell in love with the principles. The Lord is helping me recognize that I can do hard things, including starting a family. I hope to continue to deepen my understanding and help others understand it as well.

My first priority is to be a mother. I want to make my home a safe haven for my husband and our future children, and I want to support them in reaching their full potential. Everything I am learning here in the university can help me as a full-time mother to my children as well as serve in the community. God is the best Public Health professional. He works with us individually, knows what we need and how we will respond best to it. I pray for the gift of discernment to understand the needs of my spouse and our future children so I can be a blessing to them.

Secondly, I want to apply what I am learning to help others gain greater health and wellness. My goal is to help individuals get off of unnecessary medication through lifestyle changes.

I would love to work with the Hispanic population, as well as individuals with Type 2 Diabetes and obesity. While serving a full-time mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, I grew to love the Hispanic culture, and now I want to expand my Spanish and learn the medical vocabulary to expand my communications.

What is coming up next?

With my internship starting up this next week, I am excited to see how it is to be a  registered dietitian nutritionist (RDN) working in the field (as I have seen how it is to be a RDN and teach at the college level, which I love to do) and certified diabetic educator, as that is another certification I have considered. I would love to be a professor or teacher someday.

I am looking into masters programs for public health and registered dietitian nutritionist, and I am completing the prerequisite classes for those programs. I have also considered becoming a Certified Medical Interpreter to help me learn the Spanish to communicate in the health field.

The Lord has played a huge role in my life. He has helped me recognize gifts I have been given to serve others, and I am humbled by the Lord’s hand guiding my path. I could not have come so far without the Lord’s help. I am grateful for His hand. My husband and I have been married for a month now, and we continue to learn more every day together. I’m learning how to cook for two people, and I have some fun to share here on this blog. Tune in soon for some challenges and recipes.

Comments

