What Kat Ate# 19 – TFC edition

Hey My Colorful Autumn Leaves!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. You’re support really means a lot to me and always brightens up my day. 🙂 I’ve been really enjoying the convenience slow cookers can bring into my life (and the deliciousness too!). It’s helped me start adapting to a college-thinking mindset and get into the groove of it.

As a part of ThisFitChick’s program, I’ve been following these guidelines, which are pretty adaptable for any kind of diet (from gluten-free to paleo to vegan to whatever!).

Thanks for hosting these WIAW parties, Jenn! They are always so much fun! 🙂

BREAKFAST:


This morning I found a bag of mushrooms that need to be used, so I sautéed them up in a little olive oil and had them with an egg w/ a few egg whites (seasoned with chili powder, garlic seasoning, and a mix of herbs), a big handful of almonds, and a large apple.

LUNCH:


A vegan burger with chickpeas, almonds, and homemade kale chips! I made the kale chips by rinsing the leaves, removing the stems, tearing the leaves into bite-size bites and laid them out on a dry baking sheet. (I use enough kale leaves to fill the sheet.) I sprayed them with oil olive and topped with ground pepper and a little garlic salt. I then baked them at 400*F for about 10 minutes until they crisp up. They don’t take long to prepare and are a delicious addition to any meal (or snack).

SNACK:


Bowl(s) of frozen strawberries.

(This picture is cropped from another picture because I always seem to eat my strawberries before I ever get the chance to take a picture.) My parents bought a HUGE 6lb bag of frozen strawberries from Costco a few days ago and I feel like I am in heaven! I am an absolute strawberry monstah! They are my favorite fruit EVER! I can seriously go through an entire 2-lb bucket of them all by myself (not that I would know… ;)). That’s why we buy frozen ones now — they take me longer to go through.

DINNER:


A big bowl of my Slow Cooker Quinoa with Black Beans topped with coconut oil and a little garlic salt alongside a 10oz package of frozen spinach cooked and topped with smart balance light buttery spread.

Note: There’s almost always some unsweetened vanilla almond milk in my day too cause I love it so much. Also, some mornings I have oatmeal, a smoothie, or pancakes, or what I have pictured above  — my meals just really depend on what I’m in the mood for and/or have the time for. 

……………………………………………………………………………………………..

Favorite food pictured?

I’m loving strawberries right now, so I’m going to go with them. ❤

Which recipe do you want next: Cake-Batter Almond Butter? Homemade Evaporated Milk? Or Copy-Cat Great Harvest Honey Whole Wheat Bread?

I always love nut butter, but that’s just me. 😉

With lots of hugs,


15 thoughts on “What Kat Ate# 19 – TFC edition

  1. I’m going to go with the kale chips. Last week my grocery store’s Kale was less than optimal, so i didn’t get to make any 😦 Hopefully this week though… Fingers crossed!

    You are doing great with that workout program! Can’t wait to hear your final results when it is all over.

    Almond butter definitely!

  2. That slow-cooker quinoa looks delicious, as do those kale chips! I love making kale chips with nutritional yeast; it adds a delicious “cheesy” flavor. And I would love for you to post the cake batter almond butter recipe next–it sounds simply heavenly!!:)

    • Hey Kendra! 🙂 Do you know if there is a difference between brewer’s yeast and nutritional yeast? like in flavor? I’ve heard that nutritional yeast can add an AMAZING flavor to vegan dishes. I’ll definitely have to post the almond butter recipe — I know you’re a lover of nut butters. 😉

    • Hi Olivia! 🙂 I love the bags of frozen strawberries my parents get — but I always feel EXTRA special if they get the bag of frozen mixed berries. They are SO good in a smoothie or thrown on top of oatmeal or eaten straight from the bag! (Though my fingers always turn purple. Hehe. ;))

    • Hey Kailey! 🙂 I LOVE chickpeas too! I go through cans and cans and CANS of them SO fast! It seems that even though I just got home from the grocery store I’m already out! I love them straight from the can. I’ve tried them roasted (which was really good), but straight from the can is my FAVORITE!   

    • Hey Rach! 🙂 I’m sure you’d love the frozen strawberries. I love frozen fruit SO much! Berries, papaya, mango, and grapes are my favorite. (Even in the winter I’m munchin’ on them even though I’m freezing! ;))

  3. i’d love to see the recipe for your cake batter almond butter! 🙂

    and i am a HUGE fan of frozen raspberries and frozen pineapple tidbits – i keep both in my freezer in my dorm room because they’re the perfect sweet snack. plus a lot cheaper than the fresh fruit!

  4. Pingback: Workouts, Shopping, Game Night, Expos, Exams, Papers = Crazy Fun Life. « Kat's Health Corner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

