baking · chocolate · My Life · vegan

Recipe Inspired: Great Harvest Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread!

Hey My Luscious Pumpkin Chocolate Chips! 😀

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post about how I have to get more blood tests and for all of your tips on what to do before/after. I had blood work done Friday morning and they took five vials worth! FIVE OF THEM! I was expecting maybe two or three at most… At least he used a baby/butterfly needle on me; I didn’t feel any pain (there’s never really any pain), and the guys who do it always tell me I have good veins, but I was just tensing up and stressing myself out just over the situation. The guy who did it had me talk the entire time, which helped it go by faster. Yeah, I still cried, but I was fine; I actually even went to the gym afterwards. Ha-ha, I know, I’m crazy, but I listened to my body and didn’t do anymore than I felt like; some laps around the track, plie jumps between laps, and some core work at the end was all I did. I did feel a little weird running around with the “bandage” on my arm. In fact, I don’t know if it’s from getting my blood pumping or leaving the bandage on for over one and a half or two hours, but I never got much of a bruise at all, (which I’m not in the least displeased by). So now I just get to wait and see what the tests say.

My family loves Great Harvest Bread. We always get the latest samples whenever we go. I usually either get the Honey Whole Wheat, the Pumpkin, or the Pumpkin Chocolate Chip.

But now, I don’t have to go all the way there to have some: I can make some in my own kitchen. 🙂

What kind do I make?


My Great Harvest Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread!


Mix flours, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt together in a large bowl.


Set aside.


Mix pumpkin, oil, tofu, and water together in a bowl. (I used a whisk.)


Make sure to get the tofu really smooth so as not to have big pieces in the bread. (It won’t change the flavor at all, but it will look nicer.)


Add the dry ingredients to the wet


And mix them together until the flour is all incorporated. Don’t overmix.


Add chocolate chips


And fold them in.


Pour/spoon batter into a lightly greased 9×5 loaf pan.


Bake at 350 degrees F for 60-70 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean and the center of the bread is firm and bounces back. Let it cool in the pan for 20-30 minutes,


And then transfer it to a wire rack. Cut when fully cooled and serve!


Great Harvest Inspired Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground ginger
  • ¼ tsp ground nutmeg
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 cup (8oz) canned pumpkin purée
  • ½ cup oil (either canola or coconut)
  • ½ cup silken tofu
  • 1/3 cup water
  • ½ cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips (dairy-free ones preferred, but regular ones work just as well!)

Directions

Mix flours, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt together in a large bowl; set aside.

Mix pumpkin, oil, tofu, and water together in a bowl. (I used a whisk.) Make sure to get the tofu really smooth so as not to have big pieces in the bread. (It won’t change the flavor at all, but it will look nicer.) Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix them together until the flour is all incorporated. Don’t overmix. Fold in the chocolate chips. Pour/spoon batter into a lightly greased 9×5 loaf pan.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 60-70 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean and the center of the bread is firm and bounces back. Let it cool in the pan for 20-30 minutes, and then transfer it to a wire rack. Cut when fully cooled and serve!

Notes:

  1. If you don’t have tofu, you can also use ½ cup more of pumpkin purée or applesauce, 2 tbsp of flax/chia plus 6 tbsp water, or even two eggs if desired.
  2. To make gluten-free, you can use 1 ¾ cup of Bob’s Red Mills GF all purpose baking mix in place of the flour.
  3. If you want even sweeter bread, you can use no-sugar-added canned sweet potato purée in place of the pumpkin or even up the sugar a little bit if desired. I found the sweetness of this was perfect for my family.


Pumpkin + Chocolate = Heaven On Earth! 😀

………………………………………………………………………………….

Do you like Great Harvest’s Breads? My family adores them! But now I’m glad we can enjoy a Great Harvest Bread and not have to travel all the way to get it! (This version’s lighter on the wallet, too.)

Do you find it easy to give blood/have blood taken? I react the same way when I ice skate as when I get blood taken. It’s all in if I just stay relaxed and breathe normally; if I don’t, then I can feel faintish; if I do, then I’ve come off conqueror.

Have any plans for President’s Day? Tomorrow is actually one of my bff’s birthdays, so I’m going to give her a call! 🙂

xoxox,


46 thoughts on “Recipe Inspired: Great Harvest Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread!

  1. Pumpkin bread is my absolute favorite! This looks amaaaazing. Great Harvest breads are so delicious but I’m sure homemade is even better. (:
    I can’t wait to try this recipe!

    I’m glad that your blood test went well! When I had blood drawn a few weeks ago they took 7 vials! I actually got really light-headed and almost passed out (no fun!) but I think it was all in my head. Once they got to the 5th vial I started freaking out about losing so much blood. haha. I’m looking forward to hearing the results when you get them back!

    1. Yeah, I find that I do MUCH better when I am properly hydrated (even just a little over, as in more water than I would normally drink in the morning kind of thing). I’m so glad that it doesn’t bother you any more!

  2. yum, this looks so good! I used to live near a great harvest, but then we moved and there’s none around, I miss their bread so much!

  3. We used to have great harvest around our house, but then it went out of business 😦 The food there was really good. I missed it a lot, but after a while, I forgot about it. This brought back a lot of memories 🙂 How do you think it would taste/turn out if I used one cup of plain fat free greek yogurt for the oil and tofu and stevia instead of sugar?

  4. Wow, that looks good! Years ago we had a great harvest, but it went out of business. At first I missed it, but then I forgot about it. This brought back a lot of really early childhood memories 🙂 How do you think I t would turn out using 1 cup of plain, fat free Greek yogurt for the oil and tofu, and stevia for the sugar?

    1. I’m sure the greek yogurt would work in place of the oil and tofu; as for the stevia, it would depend on the kind. Would it be the powder form? the measure-like-sugar kind? or the liquid form?

        1. I’m sure it would turn out fine. You may or may not need the addition of the water (don’t add it at first, and only add it if the batter feels like it needs it). I would also use the sweet potato in place of the pumpkin, but of course you don’t have to. Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  5. I can’t eat wheat, but my family loves the pumpkin great harvest bread that’s sold at Costco! I made chocolate chip pumpkin bread from a recipe in king arthur flour for my friend once and she loved it. Have a great day off school! 🙂

  6. Mmmm LOVE pumpkin chocolate chip bread!! So good!! We don’t get great harvest bread a lot because it’s a bit of a drive out there, but it’s definitely delicious!!

  7. Oh I love Great Harvest bread, especially the pumpkin chocolate chip one! My personal favorite is probably cinnamon raisin or this sunflower seed one! ha
    I can’t wait to try this out!!! Sounds cheaper and healthier! 🙂 Thanks for sharing Kat!

  8. I’m such a big baby when it comes to needles. I remember a couple years ago I had to take blood for some test and… I was screaming the whole time while the little kid in the seat next to me gave me strange looks. And then a couple months ago, I cut my finger pretty badly and had to go to the hospital to get it stitched up, and the only way I would calm down was if my mom promised to take me to buy croissants afterwards…

    You’re pretty brave is all I can say. I hope everything goes well!

    This harvest bread looks delicious, especially with all those dark chocolate chips studding the bread.

  9. I enjoy great harvest bread and am looking forward to trying this recipe. I’m curious, as I have extremely little experience with tofu, what does it contribute to the recipe?

    1. Hey Kaeti! 🙂 The tofu is just being used in place of eggs, since it has a more similar nutrient composition than fruit purees and other replacements. You don’t need to use the tofu if you’d rather use a flax egg replacement (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water for every 1/4 cup tofu) or regular eggs (1 for every 1/4 cup tofu).

      I hope that helps! If you have any other questions don’t hesitate to ask! 🙂

      1. Thanks Kathleen. I didn’t have any tofu, when I tried the bread and just added more pumpkin. Everyone enjoyed.

Comments