Sweet-Potato Bars!

Hey my Fabulous Readers!

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post and all of your patience with me. This weekend has been non-stop, and I have just now gotten the opportunity to get on here. Graduation was amazing. Prom was INCREDIBLE. I did my best on my AP Physics test. My 17th birthday was quiet but very sweet. Now that I’ve finished my Physics test, I hope to get back to doing a post every 2-3 days instead of the recent 4-5 days. I’ve started writing about Graduation, Prom, and my Birthday, so I’ll share with you all the details of the amazing weekend. Soon. 🙂

But right now, I have a recipe to share with you.

This is the recipe my family was going NUTS over this weekend.

What would it be?


It’s My Sweet-Potato Bars!

I based it off of Paula Deen’s Pumpkin Bars (click here for recipe), but I made it all the more better for you and even more delicious. 🙂


Add the sweet-potato, oil, sugar, and tofu in a large bowl.


Using a hand-mixer,


Combine the ingredients until the tofu is thoroughly incorporated (in very small pieces)


And the batter becomes smooth. (You can also use a powerful-blender or food processor to do this step.)


In a separate medium-sized bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, pumpkin-spice mixture, and salt.


Add the contents of the medium-sized bowl to the large bowl


And using the hand-mixer once more, combine the sweet-potato mixture with the flour mixture


Until the batter is smooth and without many lumps (don’t overmix).


Spread the batter out into a sprayed 9×13-in glass baking pan and bake for about 30-32 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.


Allow to cool completely before cutting into bars. SERVE!


Sweet Potato Bars!

Makes about 24 bars

Ingredients

  • 1 ¾ cup mashed cooked sweet potato (or a 15oz-can pure sweet-potato purée)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ cup oil
  • 1 ½ cup soft or silken tofu
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or a combination of 1 tsp cinnamon, ½ tsp ginger, ¼ tsp cloves, and a pinch of nutmeg)
  • 1 tsp salt

Directions

Add the sweet-potato, oil, sugar, and tofu in a large bowl. Using a hand-mixer, combine the ingredients until the tofu is thoroughly incorporated (in very small pieces) and the batter becomes smooth. (You can also use a powerful-blender or food processor to do this step.)

In a separate medium-sized bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, pumpkin-spice mixture, and salt. Add the contents of the medium-sized bowl to the large bowl and using the hand-mixer once more, combine the sweet-potato mixture with the flour mixture until the batter is smooth and without many lumps (don’t overmix).

Spread the batter out into a sprayed 9×13-in glass baking pan and bake for about 30-32 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before cutting. SERVE! Makes about 24 bars.

Print This!


So good! They’ll last about a week if you leave them on the counter, but up to two-three if you store them in the fridge. But believe me, they’ll get eaten before it gets anywhere close to those times. 😉

……………………………………………………..

Can you tell a difference between sweet-potato pie and pumpkin pie? I can never tell….

Did you go to prom? Or, do you remember going to Prom when you were younger? I really had fun this year and I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

What is one of your favorite spices? I really love cinnamon (it’s the one I use the most often), but I also love the flavor nutmeg can bring to a recipe.

xoxox,

21 thoughts on “Sweet-Potato Bars!

    • Hey, Corrie Anne! 🙂 I actually can’t really tell a difference between sweet potato pie and pumpkin pie. You use a lot of the same ingredients, and since the color is the same it can sometimes we hard to know which one is which. I’m sure you would love it if you love pumpkin pie. 🙂

  1. Pingback: My 17th Birthday! + SlimKicker CrockPot GIVEAWAY! « KatsHealthCorner

  2. These look delicious — I love sweet potato! But it’s definitely one of those desserts I’ll have to bookmark for later — eating sweet potato in May would make me feel like autumn is somehow creeping up on me already (which is always a worry when you live in a cold place like Canada)! 😉

  3. HEY BEAUTIFUL GIRL!! I have missed you SO SO much! How are YOU?! HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope you had the most blessed day ever!! You are wonderful!

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

