college · Goodies · Health And Nutrition · My Life · vegan

Vanilla Cinnamon Spice Crockpot Quinoa

Hey My Spicy Vanilla Swirls!

We had a snow storm this morning.

I had my first personal trainer appointment this morning too!

What do those two things add up to?

A crazy morning.

I woke up at around 7:00am (a sleep in for me), ate breakfast, and then worked on some school work for a couple hours until it was getting close to the time I needed to head out the door. When I looked outside, I saw the wind. I could feel the chill. I saw the storm.

I didn’t want to miss my appointment (10:00am) at the gym, so I bundled myself up and headed outside. My face stung. My hands froze. My eyes quenched. Nonetheless, I pressed forward against the wind. It took me a little longer than usual to reach the gym, but I through the affliction of the wind and snow whipping and scratching at my eyes and face. It hurt the entire trip (it felt like rocks incessantly hitting my face without mercy).

When I got inside my hair was a mess from the wind and my face was bright red from the cold. Thankfully the building is heated and my face recovered after a few minutes. I changed, grabbed my water bottle, and headed down to the main gym to meet up with my personal trainer.

The personal trainer I worked with is one of the guys I see when I walk to and from my classes – and he’s so much fun to hang out with. He told me I should try the personal trainers, and so I thought I’d give it a try. 🙂 He pushed me. It was not an easy workout, and because of that I really liked it. I didn’t want a wimpy workout – I wanted it to be a workout I would feel afterwards. And I did. And still do. The feeling I had afterwards was similar to the feeling I get after a home-workout with Jillian Michael’s or Bob Harper with their workout DVDs. It was a killer. He was also quite impressed with my knowledge of motor units in the muscles, circuit training, and names for exercises.

So, even though today seemed like a day of impossibilities, it turned out alright in the end. I still got to walk through knee-high snow few times, but for the most part I was able to stay warm and dry.

And in addition to all of this loveliness, here’s some deliciousness. As promised, here’s my recipe. It’s gluten-free, sugar-free, high-protein, vegan, and made easy with a crock pot. 🙂


My Vanilla Cinnamon Spice Crockpot Quinoa


Place quinoa in a bowl,


And cover with water.


Stir it around with your fingers until the water starts getting cloudy. (That cloudiness is the bitter flavor coming off of the quinoa – it’s a good thing.)


Once you’ve done that for a few minutes,


Drain and rinse the quinoa to get the rest of that cloudy water off.


Scoop the quinoa into a 1 ½ -2 ½ quart slow cooker.


Add the vanilla soymilk, vanilla extract, and cinnamon (and optional sweetener if desired).


Put the lid on and cook for about 1 1/2 – 2 hours. (Keep an eye on it; stir it and/or add more liquid if needed.)


Once it’s done the liquid should be all absorbed and the quinoa should be big and fluffy with their little tails sticking out like happy little dogs. 🙂


Take a fork and fluff it up, like you do for rice.


Serve yourself and bowl and store the rest in a large bowl with a lid in the fridge for the week.


Top with desired goodies, grab a spoon, and dig in! 😀


Vanilla Cinnamon Spice Crockpot Quinoa

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa, well-rinsed
  • 2 cups vanilla milk (I used organic vanilla soymilk)
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Optional: a few packets stevia or sweetener of choice (I don’t usually add this)
  • Toppings of choice: I really like blackberries and almonds

Directions

  1. Place quinoa in a bowl and cover with water. Stir it around with your fingers until the water starts getting cloudy. (That cloudiness is the bitter flavor coming off the quinoa – it’s a good thing.) Once you’ve done that for a few minutes, drain and rinse the quinoa to get the rest of that cloudy water off.
  2. Scoop the quinoa into a 1 ½ -2 ½ quart slow cooker. Add the vanilla soy-milk, vanilla extract, and cinnamon (and optional sweetener if desired). Put the lid on and cook for about 1 1/2 – 2 hours. (Keep an eye on it; stir it and/or add more liquid if needed.) Once it’s done the liquid should be all absorbed and the quinoa should be big and fluffy with their little tails sticking out like happy little dogs. 🙂
  3. Take a fork and fluff it up, like you do for rice. Serve yourself and bowl and store the rest in a large bowl with a lid in the fridge for the week. Top with desired goodies, grab a spoon, and dig in! 😀

Print This!


…………………………………………………………..

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

P.S. Up next I’ll be sharing with you some of the things I’ve learned up here in college.

24 thoughts on “Vanilla Cinnamon Spice Crockpot Quinoa

  1. YUM YUM YUM!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE having quinoa for breakfast and to be able to use the slowcooker to make it is even better!
    Thanks for posting this – I will definitely be trying it this week 🙂

    1. Awwwwhhhhh! Thanks so much, Sandy! I’m so glad you want to try this — I’d love to hear how this turns out for you when you make it (or what toppings you’ve discovered are you favorite with this). It’s so much fun to try out different toppings with this! 🙂

      ________________________________

        1. Hey Sandy! 🙂 I’m so glad you got the chance to make this! 🙂 Ohhhh, apricots sounds really good right now! If I can find any up here in Idaho I’ll have to try it on top of a bowl of this! Thanks for sharing the yumminess! ❤

          ________________________________

  2. That is such a creative and wonderful breakfast! I have never tried quinoa for breakfast, but I would love to try this recipe:) I am glad your appointment with the personal trainer went well; it sounds like you had a wonderful time!

    1. Thanks, Kendra! You are always so kind and caring — it really means a lot to me! 🙂 I’m so glad that you are thinking of trying quinoa for breakfast — it is really quite delicious. It helps give my diet some variety instead of just having oatmeal with cocoa powder, cinnamon, and peanut butter for breakfast (or shredded wheat with cinnamon and soy milk if I’m in the mood for it). You can use quinoa most everywhere you can use rice, so it’s quite versatile! I would just emphasize to make sure to really rinse the quinoa before cooking it — it will take the bitter coating off the quinoa and make it divine. 🙂

      ________________________________

  3. Yum. This looks delicious! I am very jealous that you are allowed to have a crock pot up at school. That would make my life incredibly easier and I wouldn’t have to go home every weekend to cook up my food for the week! 🙂

    Sounds like you had a great experience with that personal trainer. Is that going to be a regular thing?

    1. Hey Madison! 🙂 Yeah, I absolutely LOVE mycrock-pot! It is such a life saver! We aren’t allowed to have hot-plates in the apartment, but I can have my trio-slow cooker, which I am grateful for.

      I think the personal trainer may become a regular thing. It’s a lot of fun, doesn’t cost me anything (unless I don’t show up, and then I get charged $7.50 to my account), and it adds some variety to my workout. I do Zumba, the Elliptical, the bike (sometimes), yoga, and weights differing days of the week, so this just makes working out that much more fun. 🙂

      ________________________________

  4. This looks delish…I don’t have a slow cooker but I think I could do it on the stove. Oh, and the bitter taste stuff is also slightly toxic…that’s why it’s so important to rinse and drain. I have a friend who didn’t do this and now has a quinoa sensitivity!

    1. Hey Jey! No, I haven’t tried this overnight, but I’m sure it would be fine on warm overnight. You might want to add a little extra liquid just in case.

      Let me know how it turns out!

      1. Hi!! So, I tried the over night thing. Eh… I used 3 cups of quinoa and 6 cups of almond milk. I set it on low for 30 minutes and then let it stay on keep warm over night. In the morning, it still need about an hour on high. So next time I think I’ll add a scant more liquid and let it cook through as the recipe states then keep warm over night. I’ll keep you posted! Thanks for the recipe though… it does smell divine here right now!!!
        ~Jey

        1. I think it does need to one hour on high before resting overnight. If you want to cook it over low high I’d do it for a few hours before letting it rest on warm. Thanks for sharing your experience making this with me, Jey. It really means a lot to me! 🙂

Comments