Nutty Apple Spice Cookies

How are you today my Apple Strudels?! 😀

I’m so glad that you enjoyed Part 1 of the exclusive look into my life! 🙂 It was so much fun to do, and I’ll be posting Part 2 soon. 🙂 Thank you for all of your heart-felt comments! Reading them and conversing with you are some of my favorite parts of the day!!  🙂

Do you like Cookies?

I love cookies! My mom has been wanting me to make some of these, but since my bananas aren’t freckled yet, I can’t. But that doesn’t bother me. (Bananas. Yes, you on the counter. Hear me RIGHT now. You’d better turn yellow SOON, or else. I’m watching you (*finger to eye motion*).)

When you make cookies, does it matter to you if they are healthy or not??

When I make cookies, I strive to make them as healthy as possible — with WHOLE foods, low sugar (if any), healthy fats, wholes grains, and such.

A lot of cookies are chocked FULL of sugar, butter, and oil.

But these aren’t.

No Added Sugar and No Oil in these babes! 😀

Not only are these sugar and oil free, they are Vegan and Gluten Free TOO!!!

BEST PART: you can’t even tell that these are “healthy!” 😉

They are too good! 🙂

Nutty Apple Spice Cookies

printer friendly version

Notes: You can use pecans in place of the walnuts and almonds, or any other type of nut. In place of the dates, you can also use stevia. The amount of dates is really your choice. For me, these cookies are very sweet; but then, my taste buds are pretty sensitive. 🙂 In place of the applesauce, you could also use melted banana. 🙂 These are Vegan, No Sugar Added, Oil-Free, Soy-Free, and Gluten Free!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cups sliced almonds
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3-1/2 cup dates
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • a dash of nutmeg, cloves, and allspice
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

Add walnuts, almonds, dates, and rolled oats into your blender (or food processor). I used my faithful Blend Tec. 🙂

Pulse until a fine meal forms, about 25 times.

Transfer nut mixture to a bowl and add the baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and allspice.

Add the applesauce and vanilla extract to the dry.

Combine with a large spoon.

Check out that texture! 😀

Haha, this picture gave me HUGE cravings for some ooy-gooy oats! or some Cracked Wheat. Either will work. 🙂 Mrs. B just gave me this HUGE container of homemade cracked wheat, and I just had some this morning with some apple and cinnamon for breakfast — SO GOOD! 😀

Scoop (I use a cookie-scooper)  little heaps, about 1-2 tablespoons, of batter onto sprayed baking/cookie sheets, spacing them about 1 1/2 inches apart. Flatten the batter slightly to the form of a cookie.

Bake for about 9-11 minutes (depending on the size and amount of cookies on your sheet at a time) at 350°F, until the bottoms are just browned. Allow them to rest on cookie sheet for a couple of minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack. Store them in an airtight container (I like Zip-block baggies) in the fridge.

EAT

THEM

UP!!!

The nuttiness of the nuts and the sweetness of the apples and dates Oh.My.NutButter. Absolutely INCREDIBLE!!!

It was LOVE AT FIRST BITE. 🙂

When you make cookies, are you concerned if they are healthy or not?

Have you ever experienced LOVE AT FIRST BITE? I did when I tasted these! 😀

xoxox

48 thoughts on “Nutty Apple Spice Cookies

  1. All the cookies I make have to be healthy and sugar-free for me 🙂 And YAY! for sugar-free, gluten-free cookies!!! I gots to go make me some applesauce for this cookie recipe 🙂 Nummy NUM!

  2. I love my Blentec too! The step-by-step photos are great on this recipe. I am definitely going to have to try a version of this with peanuts (since that’s the only nut by body will tolerate at the moment). They look absolutely delicious! I also like to make my cookies healthy. I feel like the natural flavors of fruit, nuts and grains can be so tasty, why cover them up with white sugar? I have felt love at first bite many times. Recently, it was when I made vegan vanilla bean ice cream. 🙂

  3. WOW these look amazing….I ussually make one baked good a week to make for snacks and such and I actually just ran out….so I think these will be on the list for my next batch! Can’t wait! I love apples and nuts…so together would be fantastic!

  4. Those sound delicious, inlove all things apple! Normally I don’t care if my cookies are healthy, they’re a guilty pleasure for me, but I’m def not adverse to having a good tasting and healthy cookie!

  5. Those Nutty Apple Spice Cookies look delicious! I love using applesauce in cookies – the texture makes them so chewy! Yum! 😀

  6. I like to make healthier baked goods so I can incorporate them into my meals. Nothing beats a cookie for breakfast! Bookmarking these (just like every other recipe of yours, haha)

  7. Kathleen these look so great! Applesauce + dates + nuts, they must be so amazing all together in a cookie!

    I usually try to make my baked goods as healthy as possible, but sometimes I just do the “real deal”.!

  8. Pingback: 28 Day DETOX Challenge + Bootylicious Blog Award « katshealthcorner

  9. Pingback: The Exclusive Insider’s Look Into My Life! Part #2 « katshealthcorner

  10. Pingback: Nutty Apple Spice Muffies | Blissful Baking

  11. Pingback: The Exclusive Insider’s Look Into My Life! Part #1 « KatsHealthCorner

  12. Pingback: Guest post : Kat’s healthy dessert recipes! « kerrycooks

  13. Pingback: Recipe Link-Up #1 « Healthy 'n Hungry

  14. Pingback: Guest post : Kat's healthy dessert recipes!*% Kerry Cooks

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

