baking · chocolate · Goodies

Milk And Cookies

“How did it get so late so soon?

It’s night before it’s afternoon.

December is here before it’s June.

My goodness how the time has flewn.

How did it get so late so soon?”

(Dr. Seuss)

Wow, this year has flown by so quickly! It seems as though this year has just begun, but in fact, it is about to end and begin anew.

Are you ready for New Year’s? It always seems to me that once I get comfortable writing the year when I write the date (example: 12/26/10), it changes, and then I mess up all over again, and then once I finally get that year down, it changes yet again. Do you find that happens with you? Do you adjust quickly? Or does it take a while to finally get the year right?

Thinking of the new year coming up, I decided to bake some old-time favorites, like Almond Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies. Milk and Cookies — who could wish for more? 😀

Almond Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

printer-friendly version

Notes: These are my mom’s favorite; she has to be careful with what she eats (because of her diabetes), but she can eat these without guilt. I used mini chocolate chips, but you can also use carob chips– they go perfectly with these!  *You can also use tofu in place of the flax + water and **cranberries in place of the raisins.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax + 6 Tbsp water*
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 1/3  cup sliced almonds, or other favorite nut
  • 1/3 cup  semi-sweet, dark chocolate, or carob chips
  • 1/3 cup raisins**

Directions

Combine the flour, flax, oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl…

…add the cinnamon…

In a large bowl, add the banana, ground flax + water, and applesauce…..and mash together until all incorporated; then add the vanilla and stir in.

Add the dry mixture to the wet in parts, and…….mix in each part.

Add in the lovelies! Fold in the almonds, raisins, and chocolate chips…

…until all mixed in.

Transfer batter to a sprayed baking sheet (I use a small cookie scoop; otherwise, by rounded Tbsp) two inches apart, and flatten gently with your index fingers.

Bake in a preheated 325*F oven for about 6-7 mins (or until lightly golden brown), turning the baking sheet 180 degrees halfway during the baking period. Let cool.

Delicious!

I like to store my cookies in a zipblock baggie and keep them in either the fridge or the freezer. 🙂

Dig in!

Thanks for reading!

Question: Have you ever dipped cookies in hot chocolate? If you have, do you think it is better than cookies-dipped-in-milk?

42 thoughts on “Milk And Cookies

  1. I do love these cookies. I get the flavor of chocolate-chip cookies–only I have mine with carob. Being a diabetic, I need to have my calories with nutritious food. These cookies allow me the nutrition–while feeling like I’m splurging a little.

  2. These look delicious! I cannot wait for the New Year! This year FLEW by, I agree, but I’m always ready for what the next year brings 😀

  3. these look yummy!! i don’t adjust to the new year very well- the year totally messes me up. and i’ve never dipped my cookies into hot chocolate..only milk- goats milk. 🙂

  4. These look tasty! Love the added applesauce and naners 🙂 I think I like hot chocolate dippin’ in the winter and milk dippin’ in the summer or dipped into frozen yogurt!

Comments