THE BIGGEST SURPRISE IN MY ENTIRE LIFE + Brown Rice Pudding

I still can’t believe that I’m an adult. Turning 18 is a huge age change – I’ve gone from childhood to an official adult. I felt like an adult before, but for some reason today I feel even more like one. I celebrated this weekend with some fun:

I saw PianoGuys LIVE at their concert at my college!





I went to the thrift store and got some new clothes! A pair of jeans, 3 shirts/blouses, 3 skirts, a dress, a pair of pajama pants, 4 plates, and a bowl for less than $40! 😀

I bought 9lbs of strawberries Saturday night.


And I’ve already finished them. It’s been quite a delicious weekend. 😉

(Because I ate my strawberries so quickly before I got a picture of them, I’m borrowing this picture from GoogleThey looked just like these though – absolutely red and gorgeous.)

Monday I went and got my hair done. They trimmed it and added more layers (since I love layers – they really bring out the curl in my hair when I scrunch it instead of blow-drying it).

Today I also got to talk with my beloved Nutrition Instructor about life and how I’m doing in college. I am so grateful to have someone I feel comfortable going to and can talk with. Yes I cried (I always seem to do that…), but it really helped me today. I needed it. (Do you feel that same way sometimes?)

AND, I JUST GOT THE BIGGEST SURPRISE IN MY LIFE! MY ROOMMATES AND FRIENDS GOT TOGETHER AND MADE ME AN EDIBLE ARRANGEMENT CAKE!!!!!


IT ABSOLUTELY MADE MY DAY!!!!! ❤

Today I also wanted to share with you a new favorite recipe.


My Brown Rice Pudding!


Combine the rice,


cornstarch, cinnamon, and stevia


in the bottom of the crock-pot.


Add the soymilk and vanilla.


Cook on high heat for 2-3 hours.


Top with desired toppings and dig in! 😀


Brown Rice Pudding

Great for breakfast or dessert. Makes 2 cups worth (4 servings with add-ins)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups milk of choice (I used fortified vanilla soymilk)
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice (or quinoa if you have it on hand)
  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Stevia to taste (I use 2-3 packets)

Plus add-ins/toppings of choice – see below

Directions

Combine the rice, cornstarch, cinnamon, and stevia in the bottom of the crock-pot. Add the soymilk and vanilla. Cook on low heat for 2-3 hours. Serve warm or cold.

Print This!


Add-in ideas:

  • Chocolate chips + cherries + vanilla extract
  • Bananas + walnuts +cinnamon
  • Raisins + apples + dash of nutmeg
  • Coconut flakes + sliced almonds + chocolate chips
  • Strawberries + vanilla extract + “cream” (I used vanilla soymilk)

There are a lot more than this, but these are just a few on the top of my head. If you try any other flavor experimentations I’d love to hear about them!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! ❤

With lots of hugs,

Kathleen

Btw, Reese’s PB Cups are the BEST!

23 thoughts on “THE BIGGEST SURPRISE IN MY ENTIRE LIFE + Brown Rice Pudding

  1. How could you not read this entire post from just that title? 😉

    First off, that concert sounds like so much fun! Great music. And I just adore thrift shops. That’s basically where most of my closet is from. I’m a sucker for good deals. I think when you cry during your talks with your Nutrition Instructor it just shows how much you love the topic and how passionate you are about Nutrition!

    Homemade edible arrangement cake! So cute!! And perfect for you… I’m going to remember that next year. I jokingly said that I’d take a bowl of fruit salad with some candles for my birthday, but no one liked that idea. Haha. So I just went cakeless 😦 Oh well… Back to your cake! I love the cupcake top! 🙂

    Great rice pudding recipe. I love recipes that can be made ahead and make more than one serving. The PB cup sounds like a wonderful addition.

    Have a great day Kathleen!

    • I LOVE THRIFT STORES!!! I love how I can get multiple (ADORABLE) outfits for the same price as I would a nice blouse at a department store. This last week I got two new skirts and a dress, all of which I absolutely LOVE! I usually have to go through a lot before finding some prize items, but after going through them I feel like I scored! And it was “Customer Appreciation Day,” so everything was an additional 50% off! Spent less than $10 for some very quality pieces. 🙂 I also like the sales at Target — many of my shirts are from there.

      I’m just like you — I would love just a fruit bowl rather than a cake. So when they personally made one for me I almost cried. It was so sweet of them. And they used all of my favorite fruits! That sucker did not last the night. 😉 I’m sorry you went cake-less. But I guess you could start a new tradition. Who say’s you have to have a cake for your birthday?

      ________________________________

    • Thanks, Karina! One thing I’ve been finding is that as you grow up birthdays aren’t as “big” as they were when you were younger. I had a lot of fun at my classes and with my roommates though. And the edible arrangement made it simply amazing. 🙂

      ________________________________

  2. Congratulations on turning 18; that is an important birthday, and I hope you had a wonderful day!! That concert sounds like a blast as well; I am sure it was amazing. 9 pounds of strawberries sounds like a delicious treat–we bought some recently and I was surprised at how sweet they were. I am glad you got to talk with your nutrition professor, and I agree that sometimes crying is completely necessary for you–it sometimes makes me feel better as well. Admittedly, I rarely cry in FRONT of people, but it still helps. I think it’s wonderful that you have such a good relationship with your professor, and that you trust her to help you with your problems. That edible arrangement cake is quite creative–what a great surprise! And that brown rice pudding recipe looks delicious; you always make the most creative recipes. I hope you are having a wonderful week so far!

    • I seem to cry a lot in front of people — I don’t do it much when I’m alone, but it still happens. It does help me relieve the stress I feel in the situation, so I guess it’s my natural response to it. Being tired also doesn’t help me try to hold in the tears — they just come out. I definitely enjoyed the strawberries I got. Right now I have frozen strawberries here at home and enjoying every second of it. ❤

      ________________________________

  3. What an awesome way to celebrate! HAPPY BIRTHDAY! That fruit cake is so thoughtful of your roommates! 🙂 And I love the idea of brown rice pudding for breakfast! I can’t wait to try it!
    xo.

    • Thanks, Sami. 🙂 My mom loves rice pudding, so she was my inspiration for making it. My dad also makes beans every Sunday, so I love making that up at college — doing so makes me feel more at home when I’m away for a while. ❤

      ________________________________

  4. Hello!

    Happy very belated but awesome birthday!! Your birthday is right around my little sister’s.She loves edible arrangments so it wouldv’e been nice to make her a cake like yours!! Lucky you!:)
    Anyways,I’ve been coming to your blog for sometime.I started because I wanted to eat healthier-now that I’ve found out that I’m hypoglycemic I have no choice but to eat healthy! Thanks for including some sugar-free & high-protein recipes here!

    itsthehue.wordpress.com

  5. HAPPY LATE BIRTHDAY! I can’t tell you how excited I am that I’ve found someone that shares the same passions for health and nutrition as I do. Especially someone close to my age! It’s very inspirational. I love your blog and your whole message and how you believe in BALANCE and you LOVE THE LORD! Can we be best blogging friends? Because you’re amazing.

    • Hey Maggie! Thanks so much for your birthday wishes. You are so kind; I’m so glad to have found another lover of Balance, Health, and Nutrition, but I especially love meeting other women of the Lord. ❤ Are you going to college right now?

      And yes, I'd love to be blogging buddies. 🙂

  6. I came by to see how you’re doing and to be inspired by you, just like I always am! I can’t believe you’re 18. I feel like I’ve “virtually” known you for so long. And yes, I totally understand crying when talking to a nutritionist. We’re all emotionally tied to food, and I often express myself through food choices, for better or worse. So I understand the need to let it all out. I do the same thing when I dance, even now in my 30s. It’s a great way to just let it all go 🙂

    • Hey Nikki! It’s so nice to hear from you! Thanks so much for coming over and checking up on me. I’m very exacted to be 18 — I don’t feel very different, but I’m know a lot has happened through those 18 years and made me the person I am today. 🙂

      I hope your kitty cats are doing well and you are having fun coming up with all of your incredible creations! 🙂

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

