Pumpkin Spice Muffins!

Hey My Pumpkin Pies! 🙂

Thanks for all of your comments on my last post. I’m on my second jar of the mixed nut butter I made. I still have a bruise on my stomach, but it’s going away (the color is fading and the size is getting smaller; it doesn’t hurt as much either). And if you want, I will definitely give you a tour of my home gym!

I have a soft spot for muffins.

I love to bake cookies and cakes, but I think muffins are the cutest. 😀

I especially love how healthy muffins can be and how delicious, too!

What is one of my favorites?


My Pumpkin Spice Muffins!

My sister tried these and ate three more right after the first. If something’s healthy and my sister likes it, then I know it’s a winner! 😀


Combine the non-dairy milk and the distilled vinegar. Let it sit for a few minutes; set aside.


In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, and cloves; set aside.


Add the pumpkin, agave, and oil to the milk mixture.


And mix them all together.


Make a “well” in the center of the flour mixture.


And pour the pumpkin mixture into the center of it.


Fold it all in.


But don’t overmix; the batter should be slightly thick.


Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners (or lightly spray with cooking spray) and spoon the batter into the cups. I used my two cookie scoops to spread the batter among them evenly. (It measures out to about ¼ cup batter per muffin tin.)


Bake at 400 degrees F (204 degrees C) for 18-20 minutes, or until muffins are springy to the touch and lightly browned. Let cool, and enjoy!

I love these with a little Smart Balance Lite Buttery Spread!


Pumpkin Spice Muffins!

Vegan, Lower-sugar, Gluten-free option*, Soy-free, Based on an old Vegetarian Time’s recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 ¾ cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • ½ tsp. ground ginger
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves
  • ¼ tsp. ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup canned pure pumpkin purée
  • ¾ cup non-dairy milk
  • 2 tsp. distilled vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. canola oil
  • 1/3 cup agave nectar or honey

Directions

Combine the non-dairy milk and the distilled vinegar. Let it sit for a few minutes; set aside. In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, and cloves; set aside.

Add the pumpkin, agave, and oil to the milk mixture. Mix them all together. Make a “well” in the center of the flour mixture, pour the pumpkin mixture into the center, and fold it all in. Don’t overmix; the batter should be slightly thick.

Line 12 muffin cups with paper liners (or lightly spray with cooking spray) and spoon the batter into the cups. I used my two cookie scoops to spread the batter among them evenly (it measures out to about ¼ cup batter per muffin tin). Bake at 400 degrees F (204 degrees C) for 18-20 minutes, or until muffins are springy to the touch and lightly browned.

*To make gluten-free, use 1 ¾ cup of an all-purpose flour baking mix in place of the whole-wheat flour. (Bob’s Red Mills has a nice one.)

Print This Recipe


These are subtly sweet, lovingly spiced muffins. Definitely my kind of eat! 😀

…………………………………………………….

Do you like muffins? Do you have a favorite? My favorites are THESE, my chocolate date muffins, and my moist molasses bran muffins.

Do you prefer breads or muffins? I like how muffins are the perfect size to take with you. Just wrap them up in some plastic wrap, keep them in the fridge (if desired), and they’re perfect for a grab-and-go breakfast if you don’t have much time (I would pair them with some nuts, too – and those are just as easy to grab!), or as a snack!

What do you think about with what’s been coming out about Paula Dean’s diabetes? I think it’s kind of sad in a way, since she probably doesn’t take care of herself as well as she could. I do think foods like the ones she makes can fit in a healthy lifestyle, but I don’t think it should be the only thing a person eats. For example, I like to bake and make desserts, but I don’t eat those exclusively. I do enjoy them as a part of my diet, though. Maybe if she included some light dishes in her diet along with her others it would help her balance things out…

xoxox,

18 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Muffins!

  1. I love a good healthy muffin recipe! Can’t wait to try these ones out, they look delicious!!!
    I too find it sad about Paula Dean’s diabetes. She is such an amazing cook, she should try to use her talents more for health. But hopefully this will be a wake up call for her and she will be able to find that balance, at least for her healths sake!

  2. Ooooh, this muffins sound FABULOUS! Muffins are basically the best snacks ever, period. 😀

    As for Paula Deen, I’ve read a few articles and they’ve said that diabetes does run in her family and she does try to eat a relatively healthy diet when she’s not filming, but I still believe that some of the food she does eat must have been an attributing factor. Either way, I think it’s a little blown out of proportion because she is known for her butter/sugar-laden recipes. If it was Giada or Rachel Ray there wouldn’t be as much talk.

  3. I LOVE muffins. More than cookies and cakes and all that jazz. They’re just so delicious.
    I actually have a pumpkin muffin recipe that’s really similar to this one. It’s one of my favorite! But zucchini nut muffins and apple cinnamon muffins are probably my favorites. ❤

  4. Pingback: My Home Gym + Blogroll! « KatsHealthCorner

Leave Me A Comment -- I Love Hearing From You! :)

