Goodies · Health And Nutrition

A Larabar That ISN’T A Larabar!

Hello chickadees!

First off, I would like to say thank you to Gen for posting my guest post yesterday. And THANK YOU to everyone who read it! You guys are seriously amazing! (if you missed it, check it out here.) It was so much fun to write and I loved talking with you guys about that f-word.

I’m also glad that you guys are enjoying my printer-friendly links! I am so excited about them and could barely wait to share them with you! 😀

……………………………………….

Do you like Larabars?

Wait. Why am I even asking that?! I KNOW you do! 😉

One of the things I love about Larabars is all of the different flavors you can have. For example, Snickerdoodle, Peanut Butter Cookie, and Blueberry Pie.

HOWEVER, even more than ALL of the different flavor choices, and I love that their ingredient lists are so Healthy and SIMPLE. Essentially—- Fruit and Nuts. (aka, WHOLE foods!)

But, what if someone wants a Larabar,

that ISN’T a Larabar?

How about if they want PIE?! 🙂

Then I have the solution for you. 🙂

A Single Lady Banana Cream Pie

printer-friendly version

Notes: Optional: spread nuts on a dry baking sheet and roast in the oven @ 400* for a couple of minutes. Let cool. (Roasting your nuts is optional, but it really enhances the flavor!) Any kind of nut will work!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 of a frozen banana
  • a large handful of walnuts, pecans, or almonds! **see note

Mix-ins: Chocolate Chips, Carob Chips, Raisins, Blueberries, Sliced Strawberries, Peanuts, Walnuts, Pecans, Coconut, Sliced Almonds, Cherries, Cacao nibs, Peanut Butter, Walnut Almond Butter, Sprinkles! 🙂

Directions

Chop up the nuts. 

(You want about 1 – 1 1/2 Tb total minced nuts total.)

Place nuts into the bottom of a muffin-tin hole.

Slice and chop up the frozen banana.

Smoosh it with a spoon until it becomes likesoft-serve.” (You can also just skip the chopping part and blend up the banana in a blender until banana “soft-serve” is formed.)

Add whatever mix-ins you would like! Have some fun with it!

I used Mini Chocolate Chips this time!

Then layer the banana mixture on top of the nuts. (You can also just mix-in the nuts in with the banana mixture instead of having it at the bottom, but having it at the bottom will give it a more pie-like feeling. :))

Place muffin tin into the freezer for about 20 minutes (or until the filling has set).

Once your  pie has set, let it sit out for a minute or two.

Then, remove from the muffin tin,

grab a fork/spoon,

and DEVOUR! 😀

PERFECT for a Single Lady like me! 😀

Questions of the Day:

What mix-ins are you going to use when you make this?

Do you like Single Lady recipes?

xoxox,

107 thoughts on “A Larabar That ISN’T A Larabar!

  1. I love this!

    No-bake! 🙂

    I love single-serving stuff. I made a Single-Lady Choco-Chip Muffin before in the microwave and so quick. Y’know when you have an emergency attack 😉

  2. Genius! I love making healthy versions of familar favorites. Lets see, I think I will mix in raw cacao powder (chocolate) and peanut butter and put it on a roasted peanut crust. You can’t go wrong with chocolate, banana & peanutbutter! 🙂

    I love single serving recipes. No matter how healthy the treat, it *usually* shouldn’t be eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner – which tends to happen in my house if I make more than a single serving. 😉

  3. Oh this is fabulous 🙂 🙂 🙂 I can’t wait to make it! I just threw a banana in the fridge…waiting for it to freeze now!

  4. you never cease to amaze me with your creativity. This is so simple, but I would have NEVER thought of it! This is perfect for me when that late night snack calls!

  5. No bake and make it your own? Now that’s my kinda recipe. I would definitely use chocolate chips and top it with nut butter. Yum 😀

  6. Mmm, I’m totally making this this weekend.
    I don’t think I’m gonna add in any add ins, though if I did I would probably add in unsweetened shredded coconut and maybe some carob chips. Or raisins. Or carob-covered raisins. Actually, now I just want some carob-covered raisins. They’re so so good.
    Loooove single lady recipes!

  7. I love you. For reals. I use that turn-banana-into-soft-serve trick all the time. I can’t wait to make this! I just saw some dark chocolate-covered blueberries the other day and I’m going to go back, buy those and mix them in TODAY!

  8. Love this post! SO delicious looking yet so easy! Anything involving my favorite icecream (aka Banana Softserve!) has got to be good!

  9. Most dessert recipes are for 8 or more servings, and although I am in a relationship Im the only one who LOVES sweets. Me and the scale agree that single serving desserts are the way to go! thanks

  10. Sounds amazing. I think I need to get on the single lady servings… having too many leftover treats can sometimes be a problem for me. 😉

  11. Oh my geeeeee. This looks amazing!!! I would definitely mix in some vanilla pecan butter and chocolate chips!!! I CAN’T WAIT TO MAKE THESE!! xoxo

  12. Omg you are so creative! What a great healthy snack! This would be great for kids too! (not that I have any I just know that my kids WILL eat healthy straight out of the womb. Soooo I’ll save this recipe for when that happens, hopefully not too soon tho! haha)

  13. You could form it up in a cupcake wrapper paper or a small pie tin so you wouldn’t have to find room in the freezer for a whole muffin tray. It might take a little longer to set up, but it ought to work.

  14. This looks super tasty, on a healthy eating diet and been
    looking for something to satisfy my sweet tooth! thankyou 🙂
    x

    1. Hey Sarah! 🙂 Thanks so much! I always love making these when I’m wanting a sweet treat but don’t have a lot of ingredients on hand — they definitely do hit the spot and are super good for you too! 😀

Comments