baking · Balance With Self · chocolate · Goodies · vegan · vegetarian

Baby It’s SNOW Outside + SF VEGAN Cake!

I wanted to thank you guys for you comments on my post on the importance of water. I enjoyed reading each of your comments, and I feel blessed to have so many wonderful readers like you guys. Thank you! 🙂

This morning, I was in the kitchen baking up something spectacular — SNOW-SPECKLED Sugar-Free Vegan Chocolate Date Cake!

I was inspired by what I found right on my own front door step this morning. SNOW!!!

OHMYGOSH! It is real SNOW!!!!!

I know that there is a TON of snow up north, but I was still pleased. There hasn’t been snow here for the last 10 YEARS!!!!

Hehe, the rooftop is speckled with snow! 😉 

As I gazed outside, I was stunned. The last time I have seen snow was when I was a little girl. All of the memories I had as a little girl in the snow flashed before me — riding in a sled with one of my childhood friends, giggling as little girls do as they fill up with excitement; making snow angels in the soft snow; building a snowman with my little sister :); caroling with my fellow Girl Scouts, delivering cookies/treats and singing songs all the way; starting snow ball fights with the other kids in the neighborhood; and sipping hot chocolate together as a family. My eyes are brought to tears by these memories of my childhood.

This reminiscent snow inspired me to make some “SNOW-SPECKLED” treats. How about a Sugar-Free Vegan Chocolate Date Cake? 🙂

The weather outside is frightful…

…But THIS cake is SO delightful. 🙂

And since we’ve no place to go….

Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! 🙂

Snow-Speckled Chocolate Date Cake

printer-friendly version

adapted from this recipe

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 large very ripe bananas (lots of freckles)
  • ½ cup dates, pitted and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • about 1/4 cup finely shredded unsweetened coconut (for the SNOW)

Note: You can also add 1/2 cup of soft tofu and blend it together with the rest of the wet ingredients. It’s and easy way to add more protein! 🙂

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk together cocoa, flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.

Whisk thoroughly to eliminate any lumps. Set aside.

Chop up your bananas (if frozen) and dates.

Add bananas, dates, almond milk, coconut oil or almond milk, and vanilla to a blender.

Blend until dates are chopped very small and the mixture is thick and smooth (about 1  minute or more).

Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. Pour in the banana mixture. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until just combined, taking care not to overwork the batter.

Pour the batter into a sprayed 8×8 pan and smooth the top evenly with a spatula.

Sprinkle coconut on top. Cover with tin foil and bake at 375 degrees F until the top is firm and a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean, about 30-35 minutes.

Let the cake cool in the baking pan on a cooling rack for 5 minutes, then remove cake from the pan and cool completely. Cut the cake into squares for serving. Wrap any remaining cake tightly and store at room temperature or in the refrigerator.

LET IT SNOW! LET IT SNOW! LET IT SNOW!!!

Is it snowing where you are?

What is your favorite childhood memory of snow?

Would you rather start a snowball fight, or end one?

Were your school classes canceled today?

xoxox

Dates- تمر on FoodistaDates- تمر

94 thoughts on “Baby It’s SNOW Outside + SF VEGAN Cake!

  1. You are so funny- I would totally be the same way if I saw snow! It’s never snowed here. If it did, I’m pretty sure that means the apocalypse is coming 🙂 Your cake looks tasty! I love the ‘snow’ on top!

    1. I know that I am a little ridiculous to go crazy at the sight of snow, but I haven’t seen it up close and personal in so long! I just went a little estactic. 🙂 Yeah, the freeways (temporarily) and the schools were closed today because of the snow. 🙂 We don’t see it much here.

  2. Woah baby, chocolate AND coconut, my two loves! We get a lot of snow in the winter so sometimes it is actually a pain in the butt! My favorite memories are building giant snow piles with my best friend and jumPing from high areas into the pile. We would get stuck so far down in the snow it was kinda scary but we were crazy kids!

    1. Hehe, wow. That actually sounds fun! 😉 My mom does not like the snow AT ALL. She lived in Utah and quickly got tired of it. I’m sure that if I experienced it more, I would get tired of it too. 🙂

  3. Wow…I haven’t seen snow since moving to Florida. Thankfully, I am going up north next week to get some snow action! Then again, I could just make this delightful cake 🙂 I am loving that it is sugar-free!!! YAYAYAYAY!!!

    1. My thoughts exactly. As I was outside with my camera this morning, my hands froze! It was SO cold out there (didn’t help that humidity is high here). Yeah, I don’t do well in the cold, but at least I had on a WARM winter coat. 🙂

      Awh, you are so sweet girl!!! 😀

  4. Oh wow, Yum!! When I first saw your cake I thought it was something not super healthy but then I saw the ingredients and…what do you know? It’s SUPER healthy!! I need to get bakin’ some yummy cake or something…I got the urge! Ah! Ok, how does molten fudge cakes sound!? haha sorry, I’m sorta babblin’, I just got so inspired by your post!

  5. I got hit with the snow, too…I didn’t mind too much because I got out of school Tuesday and Wednesday! But I am definitely ready for some refreshing spring weather…hopefully it’s right around the corner. *fingers crossed*

    PLEASE come make that cake for me!!!!

  6. the vegan cake looks delicious! I’m trying to eat more organic and healthy foods…i think I’m going to try it. thanks for the recipe!

  7. Ooh yum! That cake looks so good! 🙂 It’s definitely not snowing here in Hawaii, but I did get my fair share of it over the Christmas break when I went back home to Montreal. My favorite child hood memory snow would probably be the first time I went skiing.

  8. Mmm, cake and snow – sounds like a good day to me! 🙂

    My favorite memory from snowy days is sledding. My brothers, friends, and I would spend hours sledding and then come home for hot chocolate. So much fun!

    Enjoy your winter wonderland.

  9. That cake looks outstanding! I love all of your sugar-free recipes! And anything with chocolate and coconut is a winner in my book!

    It’s been snowing off and on here in TN. Lately just cold and windy though…I don’t think it got over 40 degrees today! 😦 My favorite snow memories go back to all the winters when my dad would make us snow cream! Yum! Like soupy vanilla ice cream!

    I would rather watch a snowball fight…or better yet film/photograph it!

  10. KK. That looks and sounds ridiculously good. It needs to start snowing some of that cake over here! 😉
    I LOVE COCONUT!!!

    and no…its not snowing. Thanks goodness. ( hehe, I’m bout to pull out the flip-flops I’m so ready for summer! )

  11. Wow, that looks like a fabulous recipe! I love that it’s really sugar-free; many recipes claim to be sugarfree, when in reality they just use some other kind of sweetener. I see the original recipe uses oat floar – I get excited whenever I see a recipe like this, lol.

    I can’t believe you got to see snow after so many years! Right now it’s not snowing here (it hasn’t in about 10 days), but the snow is not gone yet. When I was a little girl, I LOVED snow. I think my favourite activity back then was making snowmen and igloos, as well as sledding and skiing. 🙂

    1. That’s one of my favorite parts — that it’s SUGAR FREE!!!

      Yeah, you can use either the part oat flour/whole wheat or all whole wheat flour — I opted for the all whole wheat flour. 🙂

  12. wow! congrats on your snow-hah!!.. i LOVE this date bread.. i bet its nice and sweet from the dates and bananas!!

  13. No, it’s not snowing. I live in Florida (but I’m from Chicago). Making a snowman with my dad is my favorite memory. I’d rather start a snowball fight! Schools weren’t cancelled.

  14. Girl, It’s always snowing where I am. It’s Colorado.
    But at least it’s not raining, I prefer fluffy Denver snow to east coast rain any day of the week.
    My classes were cancelled on Tuesday but that was due to freezing temps, not snow!

  15. all I have to say is YUM and that I’m glad I found your blog =) one day I’m going to have to test this recipe out for myself! If it tastes anything like it looks I will be one satisfied choc-aholic 🙂 keep up the good work girl!
    -Danielle

  16. LOVE THIS!! I can’t believe it’s sugar-free, I’m so EXCITED to try it!! THIS IS AMAZINGG! 🙂

    I haven’t woken up to snow since I was, like, 3. When we lived in CA, we went up to northern CA and saw the snow and went sledding, it was soo fun! That’s the only snow memory I have!

  17. Yum that cake looks so snowy and delicious! Certainly perfect for a snow day! This is going to sound super creepy but we actually live in a similiar place, at least I think because I know Kelsey (cleanteenkelsey)too! Sorry, I don’t mean to seem creepy but I get what you mean about being excited for the snow since we never get it! I hope I haven’t weirded you out too much. Just wondering, what kind of blender do you use? Is it a vita mix?

  18. You can have the snow we have here! After getting an inch and a half of ice, we got seven inches of snow today! Schools have been canceled here for the past four days! I am beyond ready for spring! 🙂 This cake looks so moist and delicious! I love that it is sugar free…I am definitely adding this to my must bake list! 🙂

  19. That cake looks so fluffy and delish, a perfect homage for the snowy day! I always loved sledding with my friends when I was a kid. Still do actually, I’m going tubing with a bunch of people next weekend and I’m SUPER excited!

  20. That cake looks delicious! I have to say, I just scrolled through your recipes and wanted to bookmark all of them, but my favorites is exploding, so I just bookmarked the entire page.

    There’s a lot of snow on the ground here, but now it’s just icky. I want it to melt! I wish snow was still exciting, but I don’t even like it when it cancels school because that usually means I can’t get out of the house either.

  21. This cake looks really tasty – sort of dense, but in a really good way. I’ve just recently moved to southern California from northern Ohio, so I can confidently say there is no snow here and I’m overjoyed about it!

  22. You know, I’m always very wary of vegan/sugar-free stuff. It usually means flavorless, oddly-textured and full of funny tasting sweetners. This recipe has none of those though and I love dates. So kudos to you Kat. I might actually give it a shot soon. Keep up the good work and the baking.

  23. Oh my goodness, this is AMAZING! I bet the bananas and oil make it super moist. I can’t wait to make it when I get home. 🙂 I think I will have a difficult time not eating the banana mixture right out of the blender, especially if it’s frozen like soft serve, haha. Anyway, I love it! Way to go. 🙂

    1. Hehe, you know, I practically licked my blender clean it was so good. 🙂 I just barely had enough patience to bake it. Otherwise, I probably would have just eaten it raw. 🙂 I licked the bowl clean too. 🙂

  24. All the healthy goodness with chocolate!Id love to try this soon.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this dates widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes with dates,Thanks!

  25. You are a teen who loves health, I am a baker girl! I think this is the perfect compromise 😀
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Brown Butter Mixed M&M Chewy Cookies

Comments