Balance With Self · Goodies · Health And Nutrition

FAQ!

You guys are so thoughtful with your questions!! I have had so much fun answering each and every one of them. 🙂 You guys are AMAZING!

Alrighty, here we go! 🙂

…………………………………………………………………..

What is your favorite healthy food?

I would have to say Pizzerts! Especially Almond Joy and Reese’s ones! 😀

What’s your philosophy on eating? (like are you okay with eating meat, what is your opinion on restrictions, etc)

I feel that you should feed your body the best foods you can. The more unprocessed, organic, and REAL, the better.

I am not against using animal products, but I try to use plant substitutes whenever possible. Since I am lactose intolerant, I do not use dairy products. Therefore, much (if not all) of what I bake/make is vegan/vegetarian.

I try to avoid processed sugar. I use fruits to sweeten my baked goods whenever possible, if not, I use agave/honey/stevia sparingly. 🙂

I focus on  Vegetables and Fruits, healthy fats, good carbs, complete proteins, and WHOLE grains.

You are so cute! do you like to workout? if so, what’s your workout schedule like?

Yes, I love to workout! Usually, I workout 4-5 times at the gym (cardio and weights). I also do abs every other day, with stretches after all my workouts. 🙂 I like the Precors, Ellipticals, and Treadmills for my cardio, and I either do the weight machines at the gym or dumb bells at home. 🙂 I also really enjoy workout videos and PILATES!!! They truly work the core! 😀

What inspired you to start blogging?

When I see my friends making not so great choices about their health/body, becoming obsessed, not loving themselves, it really depresses me. We all have so much potential. I wanted to share my love of nutrition, my journey towards balance, my passion for all things health, my love of baking, and join the many health bloggers out here! 😀

Are you a 3 meal person or do you eat frequently throughout the day?

I’m more of a frequent meal person. My typical day includes a snack in the morning (before my workout), breakfast, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, and a snack in the evening. 🙂 So I guess I eat 5-6  times a day, but it varies since I strive to listen to my body. If it says I’m hungry, I feed it. If I’m not, then I don’t. I strive to be in-tune with my body’s hunger cues. 🙂

Have your parents ever objected to your way of eating/nourishing your body? Have they ever thought it was “not normal” or “weird”?

I wouldn’t say that they have ever objected. They may think that I am really weird to eat 100% Bakers Chocolate, avocado on toast, etc., but I wouldn’t say that they object. I am so grateful for my family. I am so grateful for all of their support. They are always there for me, and I know that I can go to them with anything, and they’ll be there for me. 🙂

I am so grateful for my mom. She is the first person I go to when I have a problem. For example, she was who I turned to when I realized I was becoming restricting. We talk about everything. She helped me get back to balance. 🙂

I am so grateful for my dad. If I need to talk and have someone hear me out, I go to my dad. He always listens.

I am so grateful to my sister. 😀 She always reminds me to have fun! Especially with my food! Hehe, she is always trying new things!

How did you get comfortable with your body image- its SO HARD for me.. i hate the way i look even though I know im at a healthy weight?

One thing that has helped me is to replace negative thoughts with positive ones. If I find myself criticizing my thighs, for example, I replace those thoughts with three positive ones like “Oh my gosh, Gorgeous! Your eyes are beautiful!”

When I look in the mirror, instead of looking for the things I don’t like as much, I try to compliment myself. I feel instead of hating mirrors and starting my day off disgruntled about myself, I feel why not have fun!

You know, I still sometimes look in the mirror and not like what I see. But, I have made a truce with the mirror. You might even catch me saying mirrors are sexy! 😉

What’s your favorite past time outside of cooking/baking/nutrition? What do you like to do outside of food/nutrition?

Some of my favorite things to do include doing counted cross-stitch, playing the piano, and reading. I haven’t had much time lately to do a lot reading, but I really love it. 😀 I also love blogging, shopping, and hanging out with my friends!

What was your favorite city to live in and which one had the best local food?

I loved the Watermelon in Adana, Turkey (Adana is in the southern part of Turkey). Those melons were HUGE!

…………………………………………………………………….

Do you have similar views as I do?

xoxox,

74 thoughts on “FAQ!

  1. Kathleeeeeeeen 🙂 You are so much fun! I love this page 🙂 I especially love your views on the “body image”….lately I have been getting real bogged down on myself…Such great ideas 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. such a great post! i love learning more about bloggers from FAQ posts! that headband you were wearing in that one pic is so cute. I pretty much have the same eating style as you (5-6 times a day, whole foods, etc.)….i just listen to when I am hungry and it usually ends up being sort of the same times everyday!

  3. I love posts like these! It’s so great to learn more about you. You have a such great, positive views on body image too. I completely agree with what you said. 🙂

  4. WOW Kat. This helped me so much. Honestly. You have such a beautiful view of yourself and your body that most girls do not ever have. That is so awesome! You make me want to feel that way too! I’m about to get up and go to the bathroom! I’m gonna look in the mirror and say “WOW! That’s a pretty girl right there!! 😉 ) For real Kat, you are so sincere and shine from the inside-out. I love you so so much! Have a beautiful week!

  5. Kat! Thanks so much for all the sweet comments you’ve been leaving on my blog! They always brighten my day!

    Those pizzerts look amazing! I’ve always wanted to make one!

    My eats are pretty much the same as yours: as many whole, natural foods as possible. It can get really difficult for me though because I’m the only healthy eater in my family. I eat a lot of fruits and veggies. 🙂

    Megan

  6. Avocado on toast is totally normal! My mom even eats that and she’s not one to eat ‘weird’ foods unless they’re actually really good! I’m a diehard chocoholic but 100% chocolate is just a bittt too much for me!

  7. I definitely have similar views! Though I struggle with letting myself eat when “it’s not time to eat” I try to listen to my body. Everything you said above is so important, so I hope people read this and take away something (if they don’t understand it already).

    I want to hear about turkey! I’m sooo intrigued by foreign cultures.

  8. I love your views on body image! I think it’s something we all struggle with, but we need to just remember to be grateful for our health and the amazing abilities we are capable of!

    PS, I really need to make your Almond Joy Pizzert Babies! They look amazing!

  9. this was awesome!! you sound like you have such a great view on life and balance and happiness and everything! I am a frequent eater too- love it that way! and i love how supportive your parents are 😀

  10. I don’t understand people who only eat three meals a day, it’s definitely not for me! Love the FAQs, it’s nice to get to know more about you.

  11. Kathleen, you’re too cute!!!

    I completely agree with your food philosophy – the more natural, the better (which is why I completely switched from margarine to real butter)

    And I’ve definitely gotten some strange looks when I eat 100% Baker’s chocolate 😉 (even from my best friends) But that doesn’t stop me!! Hehe!

    Have a fantastical weekend, girl!

    1. Yep. Turkey was amazing! I had a friend there, and when we both moved, we had lost our hopes of seeing each other again. But, when my family went back to the States, we found each other. She actually lives in the same city we do! It is so cool. She is one of my bestiest friends! 😀

  12. This blog is darling! I love finding girls who share the same passion for food as I do! All of your food looks so delish, I’ll be following for sure.

  13. It’s really nice to hear that your family supports your nutrition choices. I think I sometimes STILL get flack from family about the way I choose to eat, even though they all love my blog. It’s weird.

  14. How old are you – so smart 🙂 Love the “replace negative thoughts”….

    I counteract my negative thoughts with MORE negative thinking “yeah, but realistically, that’s not possible either”…etc etc ….

    Blah. At some time you have to let it go.

  15. Well….eating 100% Bakers chocolate might be a little weird. 🙂 I love your food philosophy and agree with you. What kind of stevia do you use in baking…dried or liquid? I want to try that, thanks for the tip.

Comments