baking · Goodies · Health And Nutrition · peanut butter

Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter!

Hey my Cinnamon Raisin Swirls!

Thanks for all of your comments on my post about how Chip likes to help my make my bed. 🙂 He is so sweet and the kindest thing ever! And I loved reading all of your goals for August/this next half of the year. I was amazed by how many of you know Spanish! Oh, and I could always use help on practicing my Spanish. 🙂

What did I eat today?

Well, I had a LOT of Bananners with Nut Buttah.

Banana with Nut Buttah
And a lot of Oatmeal.
Oatmeal with Blueberries, Protein Powder (I think -- haha, I ate it today and totally forgot what else was in it -- I guess it was just too good!), Vanilla, Cinnamon, and Nut Buttah!
And even MORE Bananners with Nut Buttah. 🙂
A Bananner split into its natural thirds and topped with Nut Buttah.

I swear, I think I am turning into Carrie.

And what’s on top of all of these lovelies you may ask?

My Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter!! 😀

First, spread your walnuts out onto a dry baking sheet

and toast in the oven @ 400 degrees F for 8-10 minutes, or until the nuts become fragrant. (SKIP THIS STEP IF YOU WANT RAW NUT BUTTER.)

Add the toasted walnuts into a blender.

Blend!

Blend! (you may have to scrape the sides)

AND Blend until nice and creamy.

I find that this doesn’t take very long. Walnuts turn into buttah even faster than peanuts do! (walnuts must be cheetah-nuts or something ;))

Add cinnamon, salt, and raisins.

Pulse about 5-6 times, or until the it is well combined.

Pour into a glass container and store in the fridge. Or you can skip that part (which I HIGHLY suggest) and grab a spoon – the bigger, the better (because bigger spoons can hold MORE nut buttah — :))

and DEVOUR!

Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter

Ingredients

  • 3 cups walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup raisins

See notes and substitutions below.

Directions

Layout the walnuts onto a dry baking sheet and toast in the oven @ 400 degrees F for 8-10 minutes, or until fragrant. (SKIP THIS STEP IF YOU WANT RAW NUT BUTTER.)

Add the toasted walnuts into a blender. Blend! Blend! BLEND! until smooth. Add cinnamon, salt, and raisins. Pulse about 5-6 times until well combined. Or just fold it all in.

Pour into a glass container and store in the fridge. DEVOUR!

printer-friendly version

The Raisins tend to fall to the bottom of the jar, but you can easily fix that by either stirring it up with a spoon before spreading or blending the Raisins INTO the n’ butter until smooth and creamy when you add them to the buttah with the spices. This makes it taste EVEN better! 🙂 You could even make this with Peanuts for a Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Buttah.

Now go do yourself a favor and make this. You will never buy nut butter again.

I know I won’t.

Do you prefer Homemade Nut Butter or store bought? Homemade all the way!

Have you ever made your own Nut Buttah? Yes! I like it even more that the ones you can buy!

What is your favorite thing to eat with Nut Buttah? Bananas and Oatmeal for me. Oh, and Chocolate. 🙂

xoxox

63 thoughts on “Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Butter!

  1. Oh, my favorite blogger posting a recipe for my new favorite thing to eat? What a great start of this morning 🙂
    I prefer homemade nut butters, actually I prefer everything homemade! Much much better 🙂
    Oatmeal without nut butter is not a proper meal, I swear! 🙂

  2. Yum! I’ve never made my own nut butter… I’ve churned my own at Whole Foods, but I don’t know if that counts. I’ve recently acquired a good blender though, so I’ll defiantly have to start!

  3. Would you consider me a bad foodie if I admitted that I never made my own nut butter? I’ve kinda, sorta been planning on doing it forever, but I’ve just been too lazy. It’s like hummus… I always mean to make some, but end up walking past it when I’m in the store and just picking it up for convenience sake. Maaaaaybe one day that’ll change, though. In any case, I love me some nut butter, and I couldn’t agree more that bananas, oatmeal, and chocolate are the best things to enjoy it with 😀

  4. Walnut butter is my favorite of all the nut butters out there! I haven’t made my own in so long. The cinnamon raisin additions sound scrumptious!

  5. Yum! I’ve made my own peanut butter and it was divine! Your recipe looks AWESOME, I’ll have to try it! 😀 I like my nut butter on a spoon, straight out of the jar 😛

  6. I love making my own nut buttah, but I’ve never tried walnut before! I like it spread on a banana best, though today I had the most amazing creation. I had a tortilla with chocolate coconut butter, ricemellow creme (fluff) , and strawberry jam. It was soooo good!

  7. Hahaha, love how you are turning into Carrie 😀 Please, use your transforming-skills, and turn me into Jennifer Lopez 😉
    Love the sound of this butter! If only I had a hardcore blender.. I love Atisanas walnut butter! And when I visit my parents, I always make my own almond butter!

  8. All these foods with nut butter are really making me hungry!

    I’ve been enjoying a jar of cinnamon raision pb lately from PB&Co so the addition of walnuts in this homemade recipe seems so good in addition to it. I usually make regular plain pb at home but I need to start adding more mix’ins to it.

  9. you are the homemade nut butter queen!!! this one sounds like a winner to me, yummmmm. 😀

    I like to make my own…when i have the patience. it takes forever in my food processor!

  10. Looks yum 🙂
    I used to make my nut butters all the time, but they make this almond butter locally at my health food store and I just can’t beat the taste so lately I’ve just been going with that.

  11. I’ve been such a nut butter addict lately too! That type looks delish! Once I finish the 4 jars I have right not I am gonna make some of that for sure!

  12. I LOVE making my own nut butter! I will never go back to buying it when it’s SO EASY to make and so much yummier!!!

    I shall have to try this recipe as I am madly in love with cinnamon raisin anything!

    My favorite way to enjoy nut butters is on freshly baked (by moi) bread…Warm out of the oven with a touch of honey on top…AND if I’m really feeling crazy, I will cut up some banana on top of it all…

    Now my life has to calm down a bit so I can make bread again and enjoy this cinnamon raisin walnut buttah!

  13. Mmmmm… this looks so delicious! I really need to get creative and try making my own nut butter!

  14. I’ve never tried walnut butter, but I’m definitely into this idea… I also really want to try making macadamia nut butter but they are so darn expensive (and super hard to find!).

  15. Awww…. I NEED to get some walnuts so I can make this asap – cinnamon raisin is one of my favorite flavor combos!! 🙂 How do you come up with such amazing recipes?!

    Fave food with nut butter = oatmeal!! 😀

    I need to make homemade nut butter more often! I think I’ve only made it once. But homemade looks sooo good!! Especially YOURS!! 😀

    Have a great weekend girl!!

    ❤ ❤

  16. Hey Kat! Any idea how long this will last in the fridge? I’m making this and your vanilla spice almond butter to give as gifts in two weeks. Should I wait and make it 1-2 days before I give it? Or can I make it a week in advance? I guess the biggest problem will be if I make it early, there is a 99% chance I will eat the gifts!

    1. Haha, I actually haven’t had it more than 3 days in my fridge before Ihit thebottom of the jar. To spare yourself from having to restrain from eating it (since they are gifts), I’d probably suggest making it a couple days before you give it away. I’m sure it would last in the fridge, but there is nothing like a jar of fresh nut buttah!! To keep yourself from going insane, I’d make two batches — one for the gifts, and thenanother to eat. 🙂

  17. Hiya Kat! I made the almond butter and walnut butter yesterday and they are PHENOMENAL!!!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for the amazing recipes!!!!

Comments